We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tralala Hotel Montreux
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. She gave us a recommendation of good Italian restaurant in Montreux. We had a nice dinner there. The location of this hotel is actually pretty near from the train station, but because we brought 2 large luggages and the way to the hotel needed you to climb up there, so we took a taxi to get to the hotel and it costed us around 15 swiss franc. This hotel has a clean room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wenzhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralalahotel, Guest Relations at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are very greatful to hear, that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We would be more than happy to be welcoming you again in the future,

Till then, the entire Team of the Tralala Hotel is sending you our kindest regards,

Gianna Trox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    210
    72
    20
    8
See reviews for
58
208
40
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed at Tralala hotel for 2 nights and we loved it! Hotel is clean & nice, staffs are affable, especially Gina (i hope i got her name right) she was extremely helpful, thank you G :)

To get to the hotel, take bus 206 from the Train station and it will stop right outside Tralala Hotel. The bus travels in a loop so not to worry. Journey is about 5 mins by bus. Do not attempt to walk to the hotel from the train station. It took us a good 20-30 mins walk + climbing up the slopes with our luggages. It was certainly very tiresome.

It is a boutique hotel of sort, loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarrrrra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralalahotel, Guest Relations at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
The entire Team of the Tralala Hotel loved having you as our Guest at the Tralala Hotel,
Thank you so very much for your kind words, we just as me personally, aprecciate those.

We would be more than pleased getting to welcome you again to our Hotel,
Till then I will just need to improve my chinese ;)

We stay with our kindest regards from Montreux,

Gianna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I usually stay at Tralala when coming on business to Montreux. Hotel is well located, 10 minutes walking from the lake. It is charming place, each room and lobby are decorated with photos of musicians from Montreux Jazz Festival. Service at hotel is very nice, polite and they try to assist you and solve any problem. The reception closes at 23 hours, but you can enter at backdoor with your room key. Interent is generally available, but signal is weak in many rooms. The other potential problem is parking, as hotel does not have it's own parking place and it is limited on 3 hours in nearby streets.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralalahotel, Guest Relations at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Mrs. Roller,

We thank you very much for your kind review,

It is our joy to be welcoming you to our Hotel and we hope, that we will be able to be welcoming you many upcoming times to our Hotel, :)

We stay with our kindest Regards from Montreux,

Gianna Trox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Tralala hotel is a hidden gem among the hotels in Montreux. We stayed there for one night in two rooms. Montreux was an intermediate stop for us to catch the Golden Pass Rail the next morning.

We arrived at Montreux train station. Looking for the bus station was slightly tricky. We took an elevator from the train platform to the street exit. When the door opened, it was a parking garage. We went back up and down again to different levels and finally realized that the lower parking garage level was the correct exit to the street level. You just had to walk from the garage and then down the ramp out to the street.

Once we were out of the train station, finding the bus stop was easy. Based on all the previous reviews, we didn't even try to walk the slope to the hotel and went for the bus. It was only a short bus ride to the hotel. Bus stopped right opposite to the hotel.

Upon arrival, we were greeted with welcome drinks (choice of wine, juice or cola) while we checked in. The rooms were very clean , modern and comfortable. Bathroom was a little bit small but sufficient. The ventilation fan in the bathroom was a little noisy and it could only be turned off by the internal timer quite a number of minutes after the light switch was turned off. Anyway, as long as bathroom door was closed, ventilation fan noise was not an issue.

Our rooms were facing the street but it was very quiet. Staff was helpful and courteous. We had a great stay there.

The next morning we took the same bus back to the train station. Bus was on time just like all Swiss public transportation. Note, bus stops on the same side of the road whether you arrive or leave the hotel because it is a circular route.

We didn't have breakfast there as it was not included in the room rate and we had to catch the first Golden Pass train in the morning.

Overall, Tralala hotel offers extraordinary value. The room rate is low, service is great, place is clean and nice. There is even free wifi. The short bus ride from the train station was a non-issue for us.

We'll definitely stay here again if we visit Montreux next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WayChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralalahotel, Guest Relations at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We would like to thank you from the bottom our hearts for your kind words, those mean a lot to us. The entire Team of the Tralala Hotel would love to be welcoming you again to our building and till thn we send you all our very best,

kindest regards from Montreux,

Gianna Trox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed 1 night in 2 rooms with family. Like most other reviewers have said, we too appreciate the clean simple rooms and consider the hotel great value. But the uphill climb from Montreux's main train station can be a killer. You can easily catch a bus (#6) outside the train station and get off at stop "Montreux, Les Planches". The hotel is directly across the street from this stop. Bus #6 runs in a loop, so to get back to the main train station, hop on the same bus from the same stop and the bus will eventually get you there. (about 10 mins?)

Be sure to check bus schedule on SBB website because the last bus #6 of the evening leaves the main train station around 8pm (at the time of our travel). After that you will have to figure a different way up to hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bnlgremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralalahotel, Guest Relations at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We thank you for your nice message just as for your remarques,

We are very happy to hear that you've liked our Hotel and you have felt comfortable here, which is very important to us,
In fact our Hotel is located in the old-town of Montreux, which is a very sportive way- up the Hill and we will not hide this.But if you know, the little trick in simply catching the Bus No. 206, which is leaving every 20 minutes and will drop you just in front of the Hotel, you are ok.. otherwise we do understand, that you have almost done your sportive activities for the rest of the year.. ;)

My grandmother always used to say, what does not kill you only makes you stronger and we always do lean from experiences. We deeply hope to get to see you again here in Montreux at the Tralala Hotel and send you our kindest wishes,

Gianna Trox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

It was quite an uphill climb to get there from the main train station in Montreux (especially with luggage -- worth a taxi or bus ride), but we were very happy once we arrived at Tralala. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a good value, with a nice spread of croissants, cereals, cheeses, cold cuts, and fruits. The rooms and bathrooms were small and plain, just your basic bed, shower and toilet. However, they were very clean and the beds were very comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gatorsil84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralalahotel, Guest Relations at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We do thank you very much for your nice feedback,
We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to be welcoming you again shortly to our Hotel,

Till then we send you our kindest regards,
Gianna Trox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

When I arrived, at checkin, I was offered a glass of local wine, given a parking disc to put in my car, and told about the free Montreux pass. The room was clean, modern, 2 beds. Free WIFI (though since the building is very old with thick walls, WIFI doesn't reach everywhere).

Breakfast was excellent, the staff attentive and helpful.

The old town of Montreux is 10 mins from city center, with beautiful views and beautiful old houses. Well worth staying in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralalahotel, Guest Relations at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are extremely touched by the kind words of yours,

The Team of the Tralala Hotel would be more than happy to be welcoming you again at some point, we are wishing you and your family all our very best and stay till your next visit,
with our kindest regards from Montreux,

Gianna Trox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.5 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.2 mi away
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
#6 of 17 in Montreux
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#5 of 17 in Montreux
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
0.3 mi away
Hotel Helvetie
Hotel Helvetie
#14 of 17 in Montreux
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tralala Hotel Montreux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tralala Hotel Montreux

Property: Tralala Hotel Montreux
Address: rue du Temple 2, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tralala Hotel Montreux 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of the old Montreux (1 km from railway ; 0.5 km from the Leman lake), Tralala is a 1616 charming hotel 3 * entirely renovated in 2008 around the theme of music, typical characteristic of Montreux with its Jazz Festival. The Tralala offers a harmonious mix of comfort and elegance topped with a very warm ambiance. You will sleep emerged in sounds, thoughts and dreams from Prince, David Bowie, Igor Stravinsky or Alicia Keys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tralala Hotel Montreux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing