We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in slightly stiff environment”
Review of Tribeca

Tribeca
Reserve with
Tribeca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #139 of 696 Restaurants in Lausanne
Price range: $17 - $52
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located place of Riponne 2 steps of the market, the Tribeca is a curiosity cabinet where authenticity is emphasized. A kitchen of season and from the market for mastered and quality dishes. The opportunity to accompany their meal with a wine you can choose in the adjoining wine cellar - there are wonderful natural wines. Or a cozy space to savor your morning coffee , or a drink with friends accompanied by homemade "bricoles" .
stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food in slightly stiff environment”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just below the ugly Riponne square you find this modern and fancy restaurant with a desirable outdoor terrace. We had not booked so had to settle for an indoor table on a friday evening around 8.30. The place is pricy and does not have a lot to offer vegetarians (1 appetizer and 1 main) but still turned out to be a success gives the excellent food. Foie gras and a garden salad as starter and a lasagna and sweet-and-sour duck were all well prepared, rich and tasty. The rose' wine we tried was also exceptional. Service was attentive and professional and the only downside was that the atmosphere indoors is a bit contrived (trying too hard to be modern with no real character). Finally the bill was, as expected, high, with a bottle of wine and 2 starters and mains adding up to ∼120chf.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank se_traverser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    72
    37
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with excellent selection of wine”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The Tribeca restaurant is a restaurant located in downtown near Lausanne Metro M2, Riponne station and the parking of the same name. The restaurant has recently changed ownership and chef (approx. 3 months, after having obtained confirmation of the owner who also officiates in the dining room ensuring the entire evening of customer satisfaction). The restaurant, has a "lounge", a bar and a terrace.

Tables and chairs are wooden and fairly close to each other. I would say that there is approx. forty seats for the restaurant.

Regarding the evening menu, it is quite simple approx five to six starters are proposed, mostly salads, two pasta choices, four choices of fish and shellfish, four choices of meat and approx. fives choices of desserts. To this is added a dozen tapas. Besides the owner, we propose to choose an assortment of tapas as input to vary the taste.

Our choice for the evening were as follows:
************************************************** *************************************************
Appetizers: Kir and beer 1 dl white wine Chardonnay & Cream

Starters: selection of 3 tapas (foie gras, Bruschetta, Grilled Chicken) accompanied with 2dl of The Brez, Féchy, 2010 Domaine de la Colombe, Raymond Paccot.

Main Course:
- Noix de Saint-Jacques roasted hazelnut oil, cream and saffron vongole, accompanied with withe wine, called William Fevre Chablis 2dl 2010 (guest)
- Beef fillet with pepper Selim, chiffon cakes and tandoori vegetables, accompanied by one dl of red wine Bordeaux, Chateau La Mothe Du Barry, Bordeaux Supérieur 2009, Joel Duffau (myself)

2 x 50cl blue 5dl Arkina
4 coffees
************************************************** *************************************************
The tapas were excellently presented, enjoyed the foie gras with salt and toasted bread.
Beautiful presentation for the main dishes also. Very interesting these chiffon cakes tandoori, nice discovery, beef tenderloin good, unfortunately not as tender as Dubai. My guest also appreciated its Noix de Saint-Jacques.

At the end, good evening, great food, friendly service and concerned about customer opinion and appreciation. Quite a choice of wine opened proposed to vary with the dishes.

For improvement
- Cramped tables.
- Menu a bit too small.
- A little too insistently upon our arrival to take our order.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lugano22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Burger in Lausanne”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I have been here several Times and even though the Burger is not the cheapest it is surely the Best Burger in Lausanne. Tribeca is a very nice place with outdoor seatings. The Staff is very friendly, it been always a very pleasant experience when I went.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's just one of the hype places, not worth it.”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We went there one Friday evening as a group of four. The waitress (who seemed to be an apprentice) was very kind, and the evening seemed to start well.

Unfortunately, out of the 3 different dishes that had been ordered, one was perfect, one was dull, and one was grossly over-cooked. A new dish was presented within a few minutes, cooked medium as asked, but the meat was chewy - clearly not a good piece. Considering that each dish cost between CHF 30.- and 40.-, that was rather disappointing.

The evening got worse when half-way through the meal, the apprentice was replaced with what appeared to be one of the regular staff, who basically stopped looking after us. For me this place is hype, not really worth it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank svenjick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place to go!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I've been 2 times and had 2 great meals!!! They have great salades and an incredible tartare!!!
I can only recommande this restaurante!! All the vegetables seem to be fresh/not frozen and the location in the middle of lausanne is very romantique!!

They also have a good selection of local wines well for me the best i've tried!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nils29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tribeca also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing