We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weird taste of food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of San Marino

San Marino
Reserve with
Save up to 50% when you reserve online *
San Marino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #367 of 676 Restaurants in Lausanne
Price range: $18 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bucharest
Level Contributor
144 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“weird taste of food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

It's a gastronomic restaurant that was recommended to us by he hotel concierge but we were disappointed by the taste of food there. I had the feeling that the fish was not fresh and it wasn't enough cooked, the taste of vitello tomato has nothing to do with what I ate in other Italian restaurants. the place look dusty and old.You could find much more better places to eat in Lausanne

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meda_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    35
    25
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
230 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice food but very expensive, and the restaurant was not refurbished for at least 20 years!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I went for a romantic dinner at this restaurant, on a Saturday night. Although I found that the food was good, I noted that the prices were extremely high. The service is nice and elegant, but the waiters are unable to actually explain which food is being served to you (for example the selection of cheese), which is disappointing. The worse was actually the decoration: it looks like nothing was refurbished since the 1980 or 1990 ! This is valid for the walls, the carpet, the table dressing, and also the bathroom. For the prices quoted, such as CHF 7.50 for a small bottle of waiter, you expect something by far better. Finally, if the quality of the dishes was good, the presentation of the plates is fairly basic ! No special effort is done to make it somewhat attractive. Overall, I was disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Florian020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An average italian restaurant in CH”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I'm sorry, but coming from Italy I cannot say this is the best italian restaurant I know, neither abroad. The y could ameliorate pizza, in primis, and service in general, that sounds like "You're a stranger, you don't know how real italian food is made". It's okay to hang out with friends, but not a warm place to be the most preferred one.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank almafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Sulpice, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What an experience! Stay away.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

As soon as you step in this restaurant, you take a step back in time. The service although friendly is extremely slow.

The food is not only overpriced, but it actually made my husband and I sick!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Loulou22091977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Place filled up quickly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

First experience at this restaurant after purchasing a groupon voucher. I read mixed reviews about the restaurant, but was pleasantly suprised. Sure it is expensive, and meals modest in size, but the food and beverage quality couldn't be questioned. The wait staff were very helpful and accomodating of my lack of french linguistic skills.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HundaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Marino also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to San Marino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing