We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Lausanne's best brasserie for meat eaters”
Review of Les Trois rois

Les Trois rois
Ranked #27 of 679 Restaurants in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: French, Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of Lausanne's best brasserie for meat eaters”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We have the good fortune to live not too far from Les Trois Rois. We lunch or dine there when we have a serious craving for meat, because that's the house specialty: whether it's steak tartare (made to order), entrecôte parisienne or veal Zurichoise (with kidney...), all meat dishes are superb and of the highest quality. I have found that the hardest part of the meal is whether to choose pommes frites or röstis. An agonizing decision, as both are amongst the best I have ever had anywhere.
When you add in the friendly and efficient service and a typical brasserie atmosphere, having a meal at Les Trois Rois is seldom a disappointment. You can have a good meal in less than an hour, a nice convenience when you need to catch a train at the main train station 200 yards away.
Yes, it's expensive (because Switzerland is expensive, but your bill at Les Trois Rois is in line with the market) and noisy (it is a brasserie, so don't plan on making a marriage proposal there), but I'd be hard pressed to find a better place in Lausanne.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewportEnzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    115
    18
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Parctical in you need to go by train”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The location is right under the train station, so very good access if you travel by train (what I do).
The owner is there since 13 years. It has a positiv and negativ impact.
The service is effectiv and friendly, but nothing sparkling. The decoration inside remerbers "good old canton de Vaud".
The menu is variated and offers many possibilities. On antoher hand the fries I got were quite dry...the meat and the salad were OK, but nothing to get crazy.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chager77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant!!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

One of the best steak in Lausanne. Don't miss desserts....especially the one with chocolate which I can't remember the name....marvelous!!!! It was a delicious experience...

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alik06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good balance quality price”
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Excelent meat and good home made desserts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaimelloret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very good food, just the terrace along the street could be the negative point”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I went once but I would recommend it for the people who likes good beef and french fries.

Nothing to say except it was perfectly served, the wine was very good and we did not regret our choices.

The service is friendly, professional and good quality.

The only little negative point is that the terrace is along the street which can be a bit noisy (even it's not a big street).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prx187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Trois rois also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Les Trois rois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing