We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Les Petits faims”
Review of Cafe de Grancy

Cafe de Grancy
Ranked #14 of 697 Restaurants in Lausanne
Cuisines: French, Swiss
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Tadcaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Les Petits faims”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had missed lunch and would have liked a main meal at 5 pm but that's not easy to find on a Sunday. So we had les petits' faims (snacks - a bit like tapas style) with drinks and really enjoyed our selction. Good local beer or wine available, free wifi, reasonable friendly service, a nice end to our weekend

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    369
    124
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, nice food”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you are at Lausanne train station, rather than exiting on the front, exit on the back and join Grancy Avenue, you won't regret it. This fun, stylish young cosmopolitan restaurant with a very fine atmosphere beats all the restaurants in front of the station effortlessly.

The food is simple but very nicely presented, the desserts are really excellent.
Service is friendly. Do book though because it is full all the time.
The prices are fair. I ate tartare de boeuf which was ok but not outstanding, try something else.

Access is easy, you can go on foot from the station or try your luck parking around and if there is no space, you can still park at the station (expensive).

The reason you want to go there is really the atmosphere, you will have a great time.
It also serves a sunday brunch which I didn't try but it has some reputation.

Excellent place to start the evening or to stay and have a talk with friends. Oh, by the way, the place is noisy, so don't go if you are looking for a subdued atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zenalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good bistro food”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great atmosphere, very busy every night so do book. Good variety of food, and the plates we had were well presented and very tasty. Service friendly and reasonable quick for the number of people eating. Would recommend the pasta and the veal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rydens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun, busy, branché with good food, great service and decent prices”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Le Café de Grancy is a Lausanne institution, run by creative baby boomers for the IT crowd. Whether for breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner, this place is THE place. Food is always fresh and of good quality, simple, yet sophisticatedly. Service is wonderful, even when the Café is packed. Prices are reasonable. Mid-morning or mid-afternoon, you can work, lounge or chat with friends, even have a business meeting (the Café is right next to the train station).
One caveat: a victim of its success, reservations are highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewportEnzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have made Cafe de Grancy a part of our regular rotation in Lausanne. Always very good food and a casual, comfortable environment.
The risotto is my personal favorite and they have some nice wines by the glass at reasonable prices.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Grancy also viewed

 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Cafe de Grancy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing