We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”
Review of Karma Restaurant

Karma Restaurant
Ranked #528 of 686 Restaurants in Lausanne
Price range: $0 - $45
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

It's a shame, this place could be so much better than what it is. The location is great and the outdoor terrace makes for a great place to enoy a beer under the sunshine but I don't like the decor and the atmosphere is so so

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank William_James_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    27
    20
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Tour-de-Peilz, Suisse
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A night with good friends”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had everything to spend a great evening. 2 old friends and I meeting and happy to meet, one of them is now leaving in Australia and was here for a few days. We chose that restaurant because we liked it and celebrated here her bachelor party.... All was fine, nice apero and very nice dinner too, with good desert. We were very busy talking with each other as we do not see each other often, and suddenly the man responsible of the restaurant came with the note. We were surprised because we wanted to order some coffee. So we did and the man gently offered them. After that my friends asked if they could smoke a last cigarette on the balcony with another coffee that they would pay. The man agreed saying that they were asking people to leave gently by 23.30 so that the restaurant was empty by midnight, as the law says. At 23.37, we were on the balcony my 2 friends finishing their coffees and cigarettes and suddenly one of the waiters came and asked us roughly to leave. We know what it is to have schedules etc I have been working in restaurants when I was a student and one of my girlfriends owns a coffee-bar pastry with her husband, but to be told to leave in such a way, like if we were rubbish was too much. You can ask your customers to leave but in a polite way...We have spent the whole evening at that place, eating and drinking and all was fine until this moment. Useless to say that we will never come back again....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hellocathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
505 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Bad and expensive”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Atmosphere is very nice- overlooking one of lausannes walking streets. But pad Thai was terrible. Wow. And everything was expensive! Even more so than normal Swiss restaurants. Go somewhere else. Also, staff chatting witheachother in the back and don't pay attention to customers

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovecorndogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent atmosphere but Food is a train wreck”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Karma on a Tuesday evening and were seated quickly. My husband had the risotto with vegetables and I had the pad thai. I can honestly say it was the worst pad Thai I've ever had. It tasted like noodles cooked in vinegar. Absolutely disgusting, unfortunately. My husband's risotto was average at best. The service was passable and the atmosphere was cool but no where near good enough to compensate for the food, which is too bad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place, but a bit expensive”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a well-located place. The service is good, and the food too, but it is a bit expensive compared to other places for the same quality.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bigschtroumpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karma Restaurant also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Karma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing