We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Odd, functional place near train station” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Boulevard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Boulevard
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Odd, functional place near train station”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

First, understand what we were doing. My wife and I decided to do what my friends did 30 years ago, take a small backpack and a Eurail pass to travel around part of Europe in a simple fashion. We looked for decent, basic hotels within walking distance (or an easy bus or tram ride) from the train station and/or from the main attractions. We usually spent one night in each place and moved on. We did not spend much time in the hotels, so we required only a decent place to sleep, bathe, and wash out some clothes in the sink. If breakfast was included, all the better.

Given our parameters, this hotel worked well. It is a short walk from the train station, and a longer walk to the old city and much longer still to the lake. The metro is easy to navigate and stops near the hotel. It is a bit disconcerting to arrive and deal only with a disembodied voice giving instructions through an intercom, a little like a Twilight Zone episode (youngsters, ask your parents what this means). The hotel could use some updating but is clean and comfortable enough. The rooms have kitchenettes, but there are no other amenities.

As an aside, we rented bikes from a shop that allows you to leave them at designated places around the city. We biked around the downtown, which is not very bike friendly, and down the hill to the lake, which is worse, but biking around by the lake is great fun. Then we left the bikes at the lake at the designated place and took the metro back to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trottermex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    45
    15
    12
    8
See reviews for
22
35
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

When i booked this hotel (online), the price was 244 chf for 2 night incl city tax and vat.
Yesterday when i checked in, i received an invoice on the desk states that the payment has been deducted from my creditcard for 244 + 10 for city tax.As other has mentioned, there is no front desk or staff. In normal situation i wouldn't mind at all. However this arrangment make me unable to claim directly. Other problem is that they only give you 1 set of keys. My husband need to work and i need to sight seeing. One key is a problem for us. We called and they said they were unable to give the extra key at the same day. The cleaning lady already gone. They will try to give it to us on the next day.

Dirty...the bed sheets are dirty and cause itchyness. There are left over food from previous guest inThe trash bin and refrigerator which cause nasty smell.

Our room is next to elevator and it's very loud.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apiapiaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lausanne hotels

Rovato, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel, with a remote reception, offers a reasonable quality / price ratio.
Well served by public transport, a short walk from the train station.
The cleaning of the rooms is not on top, but we can be satisfied!
All in all would stay there again!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianluca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Location is perfect - close to train station, lake, shops, bus stops and park. Excellent ratio value for money ! Everyday room service. Kitchenette in the room. The recieption is common for 3 hotels, so you should call or use intercom.

Room Tip: Location, value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gosha003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Hotel situated 10 minutes from the train station. large rooms but heaters not working very well. No noise even if it is situated on a large boulevard. But you can hear the guests in the other rooms.

No reception, no info desk, all is handled via an interphone, so no human contact. no breakfast proposed, only a basket of croissants in the corridor and a vending machine for beverages.

Room otherwise clean. Ok for a business trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel was good taking into account the high prices of hotel stays in Switzerland. The room was comfy, the internet worked and there was a range of TV channels and a decent bathroom.
The view was pretty and the location is fantastic..just down the hill from the train station.
There was no breakfast, except for complimentary croissants at the front door and a cafe across the road for coffee. It was quite strange having no receptionist or reception area..you phone the manager to check in. That was a bit of a downer as it's always nice to be welcomed when you arrive and to be able to ask advice about directions etc. all in all though, I give it an 'average' for hotels around the world and a 'very good' considering Swiss prices, as it was fairly reasonably priced. (small add: it would be great if Trip Advisor had a 'good' option rather than just 'average' and 'very good'.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimcloete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I'm use to staying in hotels and having human contact face to face. Here in this hotel we were outside in the rain ringing a doorbell for quiet a long time before someone answered on an inter com. Only to be asked our names and we were let in.

Inside is just an entrance foyer and stairs. We were told by the person who spoke on the intercom to wait in the reception but there is none. Only mail boxes and 2 phones. When the phone rings we were to answer and that is an off site reception. But you can't tell which phone is ringing. I see other guests who just arrived and they also answered the wrong phone. It was almost comical. No human touch. A little too much impersonal for me.

Each time we arrive to our room, it is cleaned but we never saw any hotel staff

In the morning there is a bread basket of croissants and that is the complimentary breakfast. But you have to be alert to see these because it is a bit obscured on the right side of the exit door and quickly disappeared. Of the 3 days we only saw croissants on our last day of stay because we left early.

The kitchen-like closet to me is ingenious! The bed should be thrown away and replaced. Same goes with the carpet. No air conditioner so we were lucky it was cool nights. The brochure sure was different from the real thing.

It was very difficult to locate this hotel and no parking for guests. If you arrived with a car after 6 pm the existing parking is gone and we ended up 4 blocks away from the hotel because there are also the locals who need to park. I didn't really enjoy this stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickobabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel AlaGare
Hotel AlaGare
#36 of 46 in Lausanne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#22 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#21 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker
0.1 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Boulevard

Property: Hotel du Boulevard
Address: boulevard de Grancy 51, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Boulevard 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right next to Lausanne main train station, Hotel du Boulevard is a charming 19th century building, typical of classic Lausanne architecture. Renovated in 2014, the hotel is linked to Hotel AlaGare (400 m away), where you can enjoy a copious buffet breakfast in a remarkable room inspired by the style of the Orient Express. Particularly adapted to mid- to long-term stays (suites with kitchenettes), the hotel reception desk is managed remotely 24/7 and a concierge service is proposed to clients who book their room at least 2 days before arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel du Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Boulevard Hotel
Du Boulevard Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing