We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for business trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Boulevard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Boulevard
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Monaco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel for business trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Hotel situated 10 minutes from the train station. large rooms but heaters not working very well. No noise even if it is situated on a large boulevard. But you can hear the guests in the other rooms.

No reception, no info desk, all is handled via an interphone, so no human contact. no breakfast proposed, only a basket of croissants in the corridor and a vending machine for beverages.

Room otherwise clean. Ok for a business trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    41
    12
    11
    7
See reviews for
19
30
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel was good taking into account the high prices of hotel stays in Switzerland. The room was comfy, the internet worked and there was a range of TV channels and a decent bathroom.
The view was pretty and the location is fantastic..just down the hill from the train station.
There was no breakfast, except for complimentary croissants at the front door and a cafe across the road for coffee. It was quite strange having no receptionist or reception area..you phone the manager to check in. That was a bit of a downer as it's always nice to be welcomed when you arrive and to be able to ask advice about directions etc. all in all though, I give it an 'average' for hotels around the world and a 'very good' considering Swiss prices, as it was fairly reasonably priced. (small add: it would be great if Trip Advisor had a 'good' option rather than just 'average' and 'very good'.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimcloete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I'm use to staying in hotels and having human contact face to face. Here in this hotel we were outside in the rain ringing a doorbell for quiet a long time before someone answered on an inter com. Only to be asked our names and we were let in.

Inside is just an entrance foyer and stairs. We were told by the person who spoke on the intercom to wait in the reception but there is none. Only mail boxes and 2 phones. When the phone rings we were to answer and that is an off site reception. But you can't tell which phone is ringing. I see other guests who just arrived and they also answered the wrong phone. It was almost comical. No human touch. A little too much impersonal for me.

Each time we arrive to our room, it is cleaned but we never saw any hotel staff

In the morning there is a bread basket of croissants and that is the complimentary breakfast. But you have to be alert to see these because it is a bit obscured on the right side of the exit door and quickly disappeared. Of the 3 days we only saw croissants on our last day of stay because we left early.

The kitchen-like closet to me is ingenious! The bed should be thrown away and replaced. Same goes with the carpet. No air conditioner so we were lucky it was cool nights. The brochure sure was different from the real thing.

It was very difficult to locate this hotel and no parking for guests. If you arrived with a car after 6 pm the existing parking is gone and we ended up 4 blocks away from the hotel because there are also the locals who need to park. I didn't really enjoy this stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickobabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

location is awesome and very close to the main train statation, it takes 5 minutes to go to the hotel from station by walk. Tiny and very clean room but a little bit noisy because of the flush :) You can hear who complete their job in the rest room :) because of the water pipe :)
But whatever happens it highly recommend this hotel. By the way it's good experience that there is no reception exists, you are communicate a guy via telephone, it is like in the movies (etc.The Game)

Room Tip: don't choose number 104 if you don't want to hear anything happens in the rest room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank musicinema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This hotel was hard to find, had no secure storage, rude staff who were not on site. The rooms was small and pokey - the bathroom door didn't shut. There was a water pipe in the room so you could hear when the people in the room above flushed their toilet.

Breakfast wasn't inlcuded but it was mentioned on the receipt.

Completely over priced and close to many other hotels

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bristol9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lausanne hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This place was hard to find with our GPS and we wandered for a while before asking some locals for help. The hotel has a telephone check-in process, which actually worked better than I thought it would - after hearing about it from other reviewers. The room was big, two rooms really, with an adequate bathroom, very clean, and overlooking a pleasant street with several cafes nearby. Loved the neighborhood and is close to the Lausanne gare (train station). Parking at or near the hotel, however, is almost impossible. I understand there is decent parking near the gare, 2-3 blocks away. I would definitely consider staying here again because it was clean and comfortable. And I would probably park at the gare next time too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here with my daughter for four days. Good location close the the train station. The wifi was a bit spotty, but it did work.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel AlaGare
Hotel AlaGare
#35 of 46 in Lausanne
3.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#19 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker
0.1 mi away
Agora Swiss Night
Agora Swiss Night
#4 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellerive Hotel
Bellerive Hotel
#22 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Boulevard

Property: Hotel du Boulevard
Address: boulevard de Grancy 51, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Boulevard 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right next to Lausanne main train station, Hotel du Boulevard is a charming 19th century building, typical of classic Lausanne architecture. Renovated in 2014, the hotel is linked to Hotel AlaGare (400 m away), where you can enjoy a copious buffet breakfast in a remarkable room inspired by the style of the Orient Express. Particularly adapted to mid- to long-term stays (suites with kitchenettes), the hotel reception desk is managed remotely 24/7 and a concierge service is proposed to clients who book their room at least 2 days before arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Boulevard Hotel
Du Boulevard Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing