We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need for a long weekend”
Review of Hotel du Port

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Port
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2012

At 200 CHF for a double room Hotel du Port seems cheap by Swiss standards, however behind the 3 star rating is a well run, small hotel with great attention to detail and great location opposite the lake at Ouchy. The welcome was warm and efficient, the room was very clean and well appointed (although the bathroom was slightly dated) with a good view over the lake. Continental breakfast is included in the price. A free travel pass issued by the hotel allows easy access to the centre of Laussane (up the hill) via the metro station 5 mins walk away. Although there's no parking at the hotel a smart, manned, underground car park is 5-10mins away, costing 18 CHF per day.
We had an enjoyable overnight stay here and would recommend Hotel du Port to friends and family without doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycamper007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Port
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 178 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

The welcome we received was warm. The hotel was absolutely clean. We had booked a lake view room. The room was large, the bathroom was also large, perhaps not the most modern you would ever find but comfort is the most important thing for me. Maybe the heating was a little too warm but there's a tap on the radiator and the windows open!

We eat dinner in the restaurant, an excellent meal with plenty of staff. The continental bkfst included was great. We took lunch there as well. All first class.

One could see into the kitchen from time to time and it appeared modern. I will always go there if I have to visit Lausanne.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetman747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The hotel is situated in a beautiful location overlooking the lake. There is a comfortable, relaxed air to the hotel. The staff are charming and extremely helpful. The restaurant is excellent and used by many locals as well as guests. Always a good sign.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated in a beautiful location overlooking the lake. There is a comfortable, relaxed...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

rooms were clean, breakfast included in our rate was quite good. location is across street from waterfront and near Olympic museum. no AC meant that we needed to keep the windows open and the street traffic and waterfront park noise made sleeping difficult.
hotel fronts directly onto sidewalk and street. there is no way to pull in for unloading luggage from a car. parking is available for about 20CHF/day at an underground garage about two blocks away. if you arrange through hotel at check-in, there is a discount and you can get in-out privileges.

Room Tip: rooms on front have view but noisy if windows are open.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hengaoxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We booked two rooms here in July. You really would find it difficult to find fault with this hotel.You would equally find it hard to praise it in any way. It was good value and well located for walking along the lake and visiting the Olympic Museum. Nevertheless it lacked any sort of charm or ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jameso2143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

If you are spending a 'budget' few days in the culturally interesting town of Lausanne, do not hesitate to take a look at this small hotel right on the Lake of Geneva, next door to the 'pricier' (but very nice-looking) Hotel D'Angleterre and a few steps away from the grand Beau Rivage Palace and the Olympic Museum. We were given a warm welcome, a free transport card (and believe me you need it as the town is hilly and it's quite strenuous to walk to the centre from here) and asked if we wanted internet access in our rooms. The public car park Port D'ouchy has a very close exit to the hotel and the Metro Ouchy will take you directly to the centre. We didn't have dinner at the hotel although the menu looked very appealing, but the breakfast buffet was very pleasant indeed. Our room was clean and had everything we needed, including a hairdryer.

Room Tip: Most rooms have nice lake views but would ask for second or third floor rooms if possible (less nois...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank carohuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

When a single Swiss franc is worth more than $1.10 and at times this past summer significantly more than that, the task of choosing a hotel in Lausanne can be a bit of chore. With hotels room routinely stretching the budget to the tune of $300-$600 (and more) a night, it was nice to find that the Hotel du Port was 'only' 162.50francs (in the vincinity of $185) per evening. This hotel is brillantly located in Ouchy, about a block from the Metro and right across from Lac Leman (Lake Geneva). Most of the staff spoke excellent English and there are a plethora of restaurants nearby. A simple breakfast (croissants, cereal, coffee, etc.) is included in the price of the hotel, as is a transportation pass/transit card that will allow you to explore Lausanne and vicinity.

You can find a CO-OP (grocery store) right around the corner if you are really looking to save a few extra dollars on the high food costs. You are only a few blocks from the Olympic Museum and there is always the option to take any number of days trips across the lake to Evian, France or other locations. You can get to the hotel via the train from Geneva and the Metro in about an hour.

The room is clean but simple. There is no air conditioning but the small fan does the trick. The television has channels in German, French, Italian and English (around 7 channels or so including the BBC and a movie channel for those speaking only English and a touch intimidated by their lack of language skills). I speak some French but found that you could get by if you really had to using English only. Since Lausanne is close France, it is best to learn a few French phrases (as opposed to German and Italian) if you are looking to "make an effort".

Without question, Switzerland is expensive, but the Hotel du Port provides a reasonble option for those looking to spend a couple of days in a beautiful location (as a stop over or single destination). I spent the week doing a bit of research for a project and found that I was really comfortable with the situation and surroundings after just a day or so.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crashingcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aulac
Hotel Aulac
#23 of 46 in Lausanne
381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#8 of 46 in Lausanne
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Port

Address: place du Port 5, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range: $152 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Port 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming small family-run hotel, ideally situated on the waterfront of Lake Léman and 7 minutes from Lausanne center. Its warm and modern 22 rooms will enhance your stay with us. The Nicolier family, who have been running the hotel for 3 generations would be delighted to welcome you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing