We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and super clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2009

I only stayed at this hostel for 14 hours) but it's surely one of the cleanest places I've ever stayed in. Everything was spotless - especially the bathrooms where the showers were great.

I stayed in a four-bed dorm which was also very clean, with giant lockers outside of the room for storage (padlocks provided). You can also rent towels, and pay for sheets and beddings. Breakfast was whatever you bought/stored in the fridge, whilst internet was available in the reception area with a few terminals but wasn't free. One plus point is that staff give you a free one-day transport pass upon check-in, which is handy.

It's right next to the train station - round the back - so amenities were no problem.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sachahuista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 217 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2009

My family and I stayed in Lausanne Guesthouse. We were impressed with the cleanliness and knew beforehand that the bathroom was to be on the other side of the hallway, but that still proved a little inconvenient for our habits. The location of the Guesthouse is great, as it is located near the major train station, which makes for easy day trips out of Lausanne, which is what we did. We enjoyed our stay and given that it is basic accommodation, the view we had from our window, and the amount of space in the room, not much else can be expected from a guesthouse.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melbourne001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

While the building is right next to the train tracks (see my photo), the train noise is reduced because the rooms face the lake. If your windows are open, you will hear some train noise though, light sleepers be warned.

From the train station, it's less than a 5 minute walk across the street and up the driveway to the hotel. The driveway is short, but it is very steep (if you have trouble walking, it would be difficult).
On the entrance floor, there are several internet stations, a lounge area, and a full kitchen that is shared by all guests. There is an elevator that goes up to each floor. We had a room with private across-the-hall bath (115 SFr.) Our floor had 4 or 5 rooms and a hallway lounge area, which we didn't use. Our bathroom looked just like those in the photo gallery, and I have included photos of our room. The room was basic, with a bed, side table, chair, and an IKEA-type closet/table piece.

Guests receive a card that allows for free public transportation, including the subway.

It's definitely not a full service hotel, but the rate seemed to be much lower than anywhere else in the city that had decent tripadvisor reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank uclabobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Best place in Lausanne to stay. Their self serve kitchen is very handy for back packers or for families. We enjoyed the launge and meeting people from different part of the world there. Staff was very helpful. Rooms, bed and common bahts are clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank darsh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

As everyone says the place is spotlessly clean but the bathroom being the other side of the building (shared or otherwise) is a pain. Neither do they supply toiletries except for a shampoo dispenser in the shower. And you can't get breakfast even if you are prepared to pay. And the walls are thin so you hear your neighbours (but I didn't hear the trains - it is convenient for the station). So at 85CHF I have to compare it with the Hotel Europe in Brig where for 106CHF I got an ensuite room with TV and with breakfast. I prefer the latter.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for one night while spending a day in Lausanne. We found the place to be great. It's simple, but comfortable. I think each room has a view of the lake, which we enjoyed...when the fog lifted. Everything was incredibly clean - room and bathroom. We optioned for a shared bathroom which was right across the hall from our room. No problems at all. The hotel offers a transportation card for Lausanne which can be quite convenient though we ended up walking everywhere. It's incredibly close to the train station. It's about a 20 min. walk to the lake. We didn't use the kitchen, but were offered some restaurant recommendations which were great. For breakfast, there's a cafe a stone's throw from the hotel and you get a discount for being a guest at the hotel. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily_in_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

We just came back from Switzerland a week ago. During our trip, we stayed one night at Lausanne Guesthouse. The room is very basic (with a REALLY small table beside the bed, a lamp and a small morror/shelf) , and the good thing is that it is very clean. With the double-layered door, the noise from the train station is minimised, but still audible-especially if u r a light-sleeper.
The toilet is very clean too. Though it is quite spacious, the cubical for bathing is only abt. 1 sq. meter. U need to be EXTRA careful not to hit against the wall while u bathe (which probably u will). 'Private bath' means that u'll have your own bath room (u'll be given an access card to that particular bathroom which no one else can use) but the bathroom is NOT in your room. It s right across the corridor, in front of your room. It's kind of a wierd design, but I supposed that's because they have to make the bathrooms on that side of the building, as that side is very close to the train station. The noise from the train will be unbearable if bedrooms are there. As such, u'll have to run across the corridor (light is sensor-operated, total darkness if no one is around) in the middle of the night if u need to use the toilet.
Another point to note is: the guesthouse only allow check-in after 3pm cos the reception is CLOSED from 12 to 3pm. This means that u cannot plan to put ur luggage at the reception if u arrive between 12 to 3pm (cos no one will be there). We had to carry our backpack with us while we loiter around, waiting for the time to check in.
If you choose to stay in this guesthouse, be prepared to bear with the inconvenience: (i) use of toilet in the middle of the night, (ii) the late check-in hour and (iii) the noise-if u are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Merlion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
3.7 mi away
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
#2 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#9 of 46 in Lausanne
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
508 reviews
3.5 mi away
ibis Lausanne Crissier
ibis Lausanne Crissier
#1 of 2 in Crissier
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker

Address: chemin des Epinettes 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: $45 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ambition is to satisfy a demanding clientele with high standards of service, cleanliness and professionalism, offering the best value for money, while insuring the viability and permanence of our business entreprise. At the same time, we try to promote a dynamic and economically attractive image of tourism in the Lausanne region as well as in the rest of Switzerland. Central location (close to the Lausanne Train station). Four-bedded dorms, double / single rooms, garden with BBQ, free kitchen use and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Guesthouse Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing