We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and friendly stay in Lausanne.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for one night while spending a day in Lausanne. We found the place to be great. It's simple, but comfortable. I think each room has a view of the lake, which we enjoyed...when the fog lifted. Everything was incredibly clean - room and bathroom. We optioned for a shared bathroom which was right across the hall from our room. No problems at all. The hotel offers a transportation card for Lausanne which can be quite convenient though we ended up walking everywhere. It's incredibly close to the train station. It's about a 20 min. walk to the lake. We didn't use the kitchen, but were offered some restaurant recommendations which were great. For breakfast, there's a cafe a stone's throw from the hotel and you get a discount for being a guest at the hotel. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily_in_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 218 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2008

We just came back from Switzerland a week ago. During our trip, we stayed one night at Lausanne Guesthouse. The room is very basic (with a REALLY small table beside the bed, a lamp and a small morror/shelf) , and the good thing is that it is very clean. With the double-layered door, the noise from the train station is minimised, but still audible-especially if u r a light-sleeper.
The toilet is very clean too. Though it is quite spacious, the cubical for bathing is only abt. 1 sq. meter. U need to be EXTRA careful not to hit against the wall while u bathe (which probably u will). 'Private bath' means that u'll have your own bath room (u'll be given an access card to that particular bathroom which no one else can use) but the bathroom is NOT in your room. It s right across the corridor, in front of your room. It's kind of a wierd design, but I supposed that's because they have to make the bathrooms on that side of the building, as that side is very close to the train station. The noise from the train will be unbearable if bedrooms are there. As such, u'll have to run across the corridor (light is sensor-operated, total darkness if no one is around) in the middle of the night if u need to use the toilet.
Another point to note is: the guesthouse only allow check-in after 3pm cos the reception is CLOSED from 12 to 3pm. This means that u cannot plan to put ur luggage at the reception if u arrive between 12 to 3pm (cos no one will be there). We had to carry our backpack with us while we loiter around, waiting for the time to check in.
If you choose to stay in this guesthouse, be prepared to bear with the inconvenience: (i) use of toilet in the middle of the night, (ii) the late check-in hour and (iii) the noise-if u are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Merlion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

nice play to stay if you travel in a budget particularly the rooms for 2 person have an amazing view of the lake. It is spotlessly clean. If you are a light sleeper you might have some problems as walls are thin and the train station is just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

I and my boyfriend were in Lausanne in February 2008. We decided to stay overnight in Lausanne guesthouse, also because good reviews on Tripadvisor.
Lausanne guesthouse stands on good location which is easy to find. It stands about 500 meters from Lausanne main train station. Also main city attractions are not far away. Before arriving we didn’t book a room, so we didn’t get the double room with sharing bathroom, as we wished. All that type rooms were full. Instead of that we took room with private bathroom, which was more expensive. The room was quite spacious and had wonderful view to Lake Geneva. It was simply furnished, mostly with Ikea furniture. Although the nearness of railway you can’t hear the noise in the room. A little bit unpleasant is fact that bathroom is located opposite to the room. Both, the bathroom and room were clean.
Lausanne guesthouse also has its own kitchen, which we didn’t use.
Staff was nice and prepared to help and get some good advice about the town. After we book a room we also got a free bus ticket.
All in all this is really good backpacker hotel which I recommended to all who want cheap and nice accommodation in Lausanne.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LilliMarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

We booked this place based on review from Rick Steves who called this the "best hostel in switzerland" and I don't doubt that he is right.

For the price that we paid, the place was clean, comfortable and convenient. We were pleasantly pleased.

My husband and I were a bit wary when we saw the building from the outside but the inside is great.

We were looking for a comfortable and clean place to spend the night and that's exactly what we got.

If you are looking for a place for a great price to crash for a night or more, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank muwa2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

This good value accomodation is basic but good. Dont bother paying extra for a private bathroom as you will still have to duck across the hallway to use it. Nice and close to the train station but not noisy. Great view fo the lake but could do with a curtain to block out the early morning sun. All in all a bargain in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nessie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2007

For its price, it is definitely good. very cosy and nice, with basic amenities. Although it can be a bit noisy at night as the rooms are not sound proof, but overall, the service, cleanliness and location is good. However, there is no attached bathroom, so be prepared to run to your bathroom at night and back to your room again.
The hostel has a kitchen which can be used for cooking. It provide all the cooking utensils and storage spaces for all guests. We did cook for 2 nights there.
Overall, its a pleasant surprise, the best hostel we ever stayed.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tartarSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
3.7 mi away
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
#2 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#10 of 46 in Lausanne
1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
516 reviews
3.5 mi away
ibis Lausanne Crissier
ibis Lausanne Crissier
#1 of 2 in Crissier
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker

Address: chemin des Epinettes 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: $42 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ambition is to satisfy a demanding clientele with high standards of service, cleanliness and professionalism, offering the best value for money, while insuring the viability and permanence of our business entreprise. At the same time, we try to promote a dynamic and economically attractive image of tourism in the Lausanne region as well as in the rest of Switzerland. Central location (close to the Lausanne Train station). Four-bedded dorms, double / single rooms, garden with BBQ, free kitchen use and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Guesthouse Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing