We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This a very honest hotel, all room have a nive view to the lake and surrounding mountains. It is located steps away from the train station and it is very cheap for what you get.

The small Room have shared bathroom that are large and VERY CLEAN.

The kitchen is well equipped and let you save on the food price that are quite high in this city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 226 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

No complaints at all.
Friendly welcome.
Spotlessly clean room and bathroom with a comfortable bed and great view of the lake
Well equipped kitchen.
I would happily stay there again as it was personal and not part of a chain.

Centrally located as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garylevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff were very friendly and the rooms spotless and bright. The fully equipped kitchen was great to make a meal and laundry facilities were available for 3Fr.

部屋とトイレシャワーはとても綺麗で清潔感がありました。
キッチンも食器、フライパン、レンジと全てそろっていて料理をするには、十分です。
スタッフのかたはとても親切でまた泊まりたいと思います。

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonasako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The location is great; only five minutes from the train station and metro. The rooms and bathrooms were also clean. It was very busy when we were checking on and the staff was helpful. You do have to take the Metro to the lake or to old town, but there were several stores and bakeries in the area

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice little hostel, excellent location, clean rooms and good facilities. It has a nice kitchen, good place to chill and meet other guests and it's relatively near some local supermarkets. Nice garden out the front, free wifi, and pleasant staff. If you're on a budget then it's probably the best choice for Lausanne.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was there in June 2012 and I had a good and relaxing experience. The hostel is so close to the railway station. It has a very nice courtyard and the hall is well equipped. The staff is really friendly, in particoular all of them speak 3 or 4 different languages. The hostel also has a nice and clean kitchen where you can prepare your meal. The prices are quite good if you conseder the Swiss lifestyle. The hostel has one bathroom each floor and the cleaning conditions are good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianmaria_Gasbarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne-Marie E, Gérant at Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Hello, Thanks for your stay here in Lausanne and for your kind remarks! We are looking forward to welcoming you another time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at the lausanne guesthouse for 1 night at end of march. I would definitely recommend it - it's the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. Location is great- 5 mins from the train station, close to city centre, but also looks out towards Lake Geneva. We were sceptical when we turned up and saw it was right next to the railway line- but all the rooms are on the other side of the building, and with double glazing, shutters and 2 doors into the bedroom I never heard a train once.
The staff are really friendly, helpful and there's lots of information available. The lounge and kitchen are nice for chilling out too.
A hostel with character, makes a nice change.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flybuses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
3.7 mi away
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
#3 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#12 of 45 in Lausanne
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#10 of 45 in Lausanne
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
3.5 mi away
ibis Lausanne Crissier
ibis Lausanne Crissier
#1 of 2 in Crissier
453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aulac
Hotel Aulac
#23 of 45 in Lausanne
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker

Address: chemin des Epinettes 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: $86 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ambition is to satisfy a demanding clientele with high standards of service, cleanliness and professionalism, offering the best value for money, while insuring the viability and permanence of our business entreprise. At the same time, we try to promote a dynamic and economically attractive image of tourism in the Lausanne region as well as in the rest of Switzerland. Central location (close to the Lausanne Train station). Four-bedded dorms, double / single rooms, garden with BBQ, free kitchen use and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Guesthouse Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing