We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Chinese food”
Review of Chez Xu

Chez Xu
Ranked #189 of 686 Restaurants in Lausanne
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I strongly recommend for quality and price. The service is somewhat erratic, it is small but worth it. Advise making a reservation for more than 2 pers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 516Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    56
    18
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I come from Sydney where we have a lot of fantastic asian food so in truth I wasn't expecting too much in Lausanne Switzerland, however I was pleasantly surprised by delicious dumplings a great large meals.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good but small place”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

If you have the chance to have a table or reservation at this restaurant, just go for it. The plates are wonderfully big and it tastes very good. Too bad the restaurant isn't so big and the waitresses are a bit mean sometimes. But we will still go there other times!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AliinaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impressive Chinese food in Lausanne”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Previous experience of Chinese food in Switzerland has been a bit erratic, often bland and overpriced but this was really very good - interesting & varied menu full of flavour. The Chicken with peanuts was especially good. Very full restaurant when we visited so you have to be patient to get a table without a reservation. Staff very welcoming though & food definitely worth the wait! Good prices, decent value. No CC's so you have to pay cash.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RTA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasty chineese food for reasonable price”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

They have really good dishes and, amazingly for Switzerland, very good prices.
Our favourite is the chicken with peanuts.
For two people, if you take only one dish (for us it's enough) with rice and drinks, it will cost you ~40 CHF.

Just have in mind that they don't accept debit/credit cards--you need to pay in cash.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Xu also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Chez Xu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing