We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely near the cathedral”
Review of il Ghiotto

il Ghiotto
Ranked #6 of 773 Restaurants in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $42
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Nel cuore di Losanna questo piccolo ristorante propone una cucina semplice ma raffinata preparata a partire esclusivamente da prodotti freschi ed elaborata in funzione delle stagioni...il matrimonio perfetto tra la cucina tradizionale e la nuova cucina.vi accoglieremo in una calda e serena atmosfera per farvi riscoprire il gusto delle cose buone.Disponiamo di una Vista magnifica sulla cattedrale e di una terrazza.
Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

What a sweet little Italian cafe near the cathedral. We ate here for lunch just after climbing the tower at Notre Dame. It was packed and we got the last available table seated outside, which was fine for us.

The staff was welcoming (& they found us the English speaking waitress :). We had the set menu (there were two different set menus offered) which was a green salad, linguine w scalloped veal and a little tiramisu dessert with glasses of Italian wine. Perfect and so reasonable in price for what we got compared to typical Swiss prices.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank KimH884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 247 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2015

A few steps away from the Lausanne Cathedral and its sight over the entire city, Il Ghiotto was for me an unexpected and exquisite discovery. The constantly evolving menu offers a small peek into the diversity and excellence of Italian cuisine beyond the all-too-common pizza (which, incidentally, you won't find on the menu).

As many Italians who set foot in the restaurant for the first time, I was struck first and foremost by the quality - a friend best defined it as being "back in his mother's kitchen"... was he perhaps biased by Stella's quite extraordinary tiramisù ? You might have to find out for yourself !

It is not, however, mere quality that regularly draws me back to Il Ghiotto.
Over time, one can only grow fond of the friendly and extremely cozy environment which Stella creates for her guests, be it casual, formal or romantic as the situation calls for.

Whether you are staying or just passing by Lausanne, a meal at Il Ghiotto is simply a must.

Tourism tip: dining there gives you the perfect chance to see the traditional Lausanne Cathedral Lookout shouting the time from the Cathedral's bell tower hourly, starting at 10 pm.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Pier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2015

I come here very often for Lunch. They have 2 to 3 different menus with salad and dessert for only 19.-. Always fresh food from the season. They also add special ingredients to make a food out of the ordinary, but always with an Italian hint. The service is really good too. Stella is very friendly and knows the habits of her most regular customers.

I highly recommend this place! :)

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2015

We celebrated a belated anniversary there and we couldn't have picked a better place in Lausanne. The pasta was made on site and was fresh. Excellent vegetarian options! The wine list, though not extensive; was reasonably priced especially for Lausanne.
It is tucked away near the cathedral and on a lovely day, you can sit on the terrace to eat.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank islandstylenumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2015

Situated in the heart of the old town, this is the place where you should go during your trip in Lausanne. The food is simply perfect, freshly cooked everyday by someone that has obviously the passion of creating a pleasurably experience for all of his customers. The pastas are always perfectly cooked, sauce are tasty and with true Italian personality.
The service is also very professional, pleasant and dedicated to the customers. The waitress (I think she owns the place) can speak Italian, French, English, German and Romanian so you won't have any difficulties to get served or to get something from the menu translated. We also a chat with her during coffee and it was very pleasant and funny. They have an upstairs room, a downstairs room and also a terrace. Oh, and also don't forget to order a dessert at the end of your meal, they are also freshly cooked by the waitress and are delicious. A place to visit !

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnthonyGrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il Ghiotto also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to il Ghiotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2020 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.