We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and European”
Review of Hotel du Marche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Marche
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Convenient and European”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The hubby and I subscribe to the Rick Steves philosophy of travel, packing light, avoiding the big chain hotels. Hence, the Hotel du Marche. It’s a short walk to the Riponne Metro stop, making it very convenient. While the beds are pretty skinny and on the harder side, and while we were here, personnel at the front desk was spotty, the breakfast buffet was very good and the convenient location more makes up for the small discomforts.

Lausanne makes a great jumping off point for so much in the area, and the proximity to the Metro makes the Hotel du Marche a great place to rest tired legs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    177
    47
    14
    7
See reviews for
56
90
53
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Very old hotel. Have to carry bags up a long flight of stairs to get to the elevator which is very small. There is free parking but there are only two spots and the hotel requires you to leave your car keys. The furniture, bed and bathrooms are very old but our room was a good size for Europe. Staff was very friendly and I really enjoyed interacting with them. Of course this is Switzerland and the prices are extremely high. If in any other country this room should be worth about $75/night rather than the $175 it costs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHS_CA_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a small hotel not too far from the historical part of town. We had a car (as we were driving from city to city) and they do have some parking spots at the front of the hotel. Bear in mind you'll have to leave your car keys at the reception in case they need to move the car to get access to another vehicle.

The service was very good and the room a good value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alliejay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Cosy hotel, although quite a climb from the railway station. Excellent location, superb breakfast, tea making facilities in the room. Although the shower & toilet were on the corridor, we had a washbasin in the room, which was very good. Hotel gave us a card for free-of-charge use of the public transport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirpa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

There is overall good value compared to the expensive options in Lausanne. But I wasn't pleased with the experience. I checked in, was given my key and found that my room was still dirty from the previous guest. The staff told me that they would work on it and I should go out for a while. He said it might be an hour and he would call me, but he never did. Later I asked for a cafe recommendation and was told there were some around so I should just go walk around.

The room's bed was in a loft space which wasn't described in the booking information. I had a broken foot at the time so that made it challenging.

Overall, I had a negative experience with the service but the accommodations were reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ditha311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had a pleasant stay. The room was pretty big. The shared bathroom was clean. After reading other reviews I was a little worried, I guess it was okay. Staff was very nice and helpful. I would recommend it for a simple stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Shang Hsien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very friendly staff, clean and simple room in a quiet side street only minutes walking distance from the town center. Free WIFI, and lots of cacti on every floor to protect you from electrosmog if you happen to be electro-sensitive. Plus you get free day tickets for public transportation. This was my third stay and I'm going back !!!
Sonja M.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#9 of 46 in Lausanne
1,118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
3.6 mi away
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
#2 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker
3.3 mi away
ibis Lausanne Crissier
ibis Lausanne Crissier
#1 of 2 in Crissier
422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Marche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Marche

Property: Hotel du Marche
Address: rue Pre-du-Marche 42, Lausanne 1004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Marche 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family hotel in the city center, in a quiet street. Nearby the exhibition center Beaulieu and the Riponne Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Marche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing