We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option if you're visiting Lausanne.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Marche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Marche
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good option if you're visiting Lausanne.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Hotel is near the train station and our taxi ride took 10 minutes. The hotel is centrally located and walking to the tourist areas is easy and pleasant. The room had all the basic necessities we required. Clean and comfortable.

We took the breakfast option because it was the most reasonably priced. Everything in Lausanne is expensive so taking the breakfast in the hotel was a great idea. It was a typical continental breakfast served in a nice quiet dining room.

Staff are friendly enough, we were given tickets we could use for the buses and the metro that allowed us to visit most of the city.

Our room was a family room with 4 beds and its own bathroom. The hotel itself is an old building with old world charm.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    144
    43
    12
    6
See reviews for
45
65
48
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

The hotel is very well situated, in a relatively quiet street, only minutes away from the city center and public transport. The rooms are very basic, but clean, warm and comfortable. Also they cover everything I usually require: TV, free Wifi and a kettle to boil water for a hot beverage.
Further, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the free public transport during the stay was a nice plus.
The shower and toilet facilities are on the small side, although is hardly qualifies as a downside.
As the hotel is situated in Lausanne, it may seem a bit expensive, but for the region, it actually offers excellent value for money (and it is one of the cheapest places to stay).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I have been in this hotel several times for business in the Lausanne area. It is a very nice and cosy venue, in the heart of the city. The room are basic but comfortable, and the whole place is very quiet. The staff is professional and friendly at the same time, definitely a plus. Room prices are very reasonable for Swiss standards, thus making the quality/price ratio of this hotel excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lordlollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed at Du Marche a year ago only because i was looking for cheaper alternatives in Lausanne - I was there on business all year long. apparently 'cheap' is crap - if you consider 120CHF a night for a room I had. I booked a room with a bathroom because I am not a student anymore to share a bathroom with complete strangers. The room was on the top floor which unfortunately meant that I could not stand upright in the bathtub taking a shower. The bathroom was actually filthy, so that I rather opted to take a shower when going to the swimming pool (not a hotel pool, just one in town). It was actually full of mildew which is not just disgusting but not so good for your health, either. Opening the roof windows, I found even more filth on top of the window.
I had 3 beds in the room, which again gave me the feeling of a youth hostel. The double bed I slept in was rather basic and uncomfortable.
On the plus side, they had 200-something international channels on tv and very surprisingly free wifi, but I did not really feel like spending too much time in the room anyway.

I suppose the price is good for students who just want to crash the night and maybe other rooms have nicer bathrooms, but I for sure will never return and do not recommend this hotel to anyone I know.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oszorsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Friendly staff, basic but comfortable rooms and very central location. Does what it says on the tin. Shared loo & showers very small.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HomeJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed here two nights and found the hotel satisfactory. It was clean overall and the shared bathroom down the hall was also kept clean. The t.v. had many channels in a variety of languages. Wifi was included in the room rate which is a nice touch. The furnishings in my room could have used some updating. For example the carpet and blanket had cigarette burns on them.

The hotel itself felt secure and is located on a quiet street. However, nearby is the Riponne metro station and a group of hooligans seem to hang out there. I even saw these thugs try to snatch a woman's purse in broad daylight. Some Good Samaritans nearby chased off the thugs and retrieved the woman's purse. Just stay alert when you are around this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Play_It_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

I stayed for one night. The room was not en suite but it had a sink in the room. The shower and toilet were just down the hall and I had no problem with sharing. The room was comfortable. I arrived by train and took a tram to the hotel. From the tram stop, it was an uphill walk which wasn't the best terrain for wheeling a suitcase. At the hotel, there were several steps up to get to the reception desk. Free internet was available and breakfast was also available - I believe at an extra charge. The hotel provided a one day free transport pass for Lausanne.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judithO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.6 mi away
Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
#2 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#29 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Marche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Marche

Property: Hotel du Marche
Address: rue Pre-du-Marche 42, Lausanne 1004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Marche 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family hotel in the city center, in a quiet street. Nearby the exhibition center Beaulieu and the Riponne Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Marche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing