We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aulac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Aulac
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
YORK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stayed here for the final night of our holiday before flying back from Geneva next day. Getting to the hotel was problematic as lots of roads were blocked off for the Triathlon which we had not known about, but we were able to park by the hotel, get checked in (very pleasant staff on reception) then move the car to the nearby underground carpark.

We were delighted to find that not only did the room have the requested lake view, it had a whopping great terrace too! As the weather was superb, it was lovely to be able to sit out there and view the goings on for the Triathlon and then view the race a bit the next morning. We ate at the adjoining restaurant, Le Pirate, which was very good (the logo makes you think it’s going to be naff, but it wasn’t) then had a couple of drinks at the bar next door. Breakfast the next day was OK – the staff were working hard to keep everything topped up and the room was a bit squashed, but it was fine. I would recommend this place for the location more than anything, it was comfortable enough but no frills and the bathroom was tiny. Our flight wasn’t until the evening, so we sat on a shady bench at St Prex down the road which seems a charming little place with more wonderful views.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorsfromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    170
    87
    34
    10
See reviews for
59
103
27
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

A great little hotel with fantastic location and helpful staff. As other reviews suggest it is a little tired but if you are not planning on spending too much time in your room it offers great value. Room was a little exposed to street noise on the second floor and the pillows were non-existent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moshelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

We were lucky to find accommodation at Hotel Aulac, not having booked anything. It is right on the lake and parking is just down the street. Although you must pay for parking it is a very affordable 24 hour rate.
The staff were most accommodating with our baby. All the cots were already allocated but the staff showed us the room to make sure it would work and brought us duvets and pillows, etc so we could make a bed on the floor for the baby which worked great.
The restaurant is also very good. We had a very nice meal there and a very good breakfast buffet.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daisy01NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

We came by boat to Lausanne so were very happy to find our hotel right opposite the wharf. The staff are very friendly and the hotel provided free public transport tickets and some complimentary drinks vouchers to nearby restaurants. Our room had a view over the lake towards Evian, very pretty. Good, clean, basic accommodations. A 10 minute trip in the fully-automated metro train takes you to the old town.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RipleyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

Stayed for one night. Duvet/doona on double bed was too short and too small for two people. Breakfast could have had some more options - it was very European rather than international. Otherwise it was clean and comfortable.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carmen161595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
152 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

Nice location right on the lakefront of Lausanne and right above the Metro stop, but definitely just an average hotel. Everything was worn down. I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piqua41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

Good Value if you are just going for a quick trip. Room and Breakfast nothing special but very close to Lake and Metro.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurbanGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Port
Hotel du Port
#22 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.1 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
1.2 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#18 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aulac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aulac

Property: Hotel Aulac
Address: place de la Navigation 4, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aulac 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the charm of Ouchy's lakeside promenades, parks and gardens, surrounded by Alpine splendour and only a few steps from the Olympic Museum and the metro stop at this stunning lake front hotel. Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, the hotel is ideal for business and leisure trips; it is just 10 minutes away from the city centre and railway station, and Geneva's international airport is just 40 minutes away. The Restaurant and Brasserie, Le Pirate, offers you informal dining and regional specialities from Lake Geneva. Offering the perfect venue for seminars, cocktails and banquets, for groups of 10-50 people, the hotel boasts a splendid view over the Alps and Lake Geneva. The hotel provides a complimentary pass for the public transportation network of Lausanne. Sous-Gare-Ouchy is highly rated by guests for: Romantic, Gourmet Food, Relaxation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Aulac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aulac Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing