We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wish I'd got in somewhere else - not the best”
Review of Hotel Aulac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aulac
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Reviewed January 28, 2014

There has to be a better hotel than this one. Only thing it has going for it is location.
Is probably best to eat in one of the many surrounding restaurants if you can for probably a little less cost and better quality food.
The perch was in batter or breadcrumbs (hard to tell really) swimming in loads of butter and oil with chips and piece of lettuce. Way too greasy. Half bottle of water was 4.5euros compared to almost 5 euros for wine. You'd think water would be reasonable here.
That person who said you must ask for a room with a view was right, my view was over some roof area so it could have actually been situated anywhere.
Bathroom a little dared with soap dispenser next to sink and nowhere near the shower with one of those smelly patterned outdated shower curtains.
When I asked the woman on reception to book a taxi for the morning she looked at me like I was completely stupid and had just asked her for a train ticket. When I asked her what the problem was she said there was a taxi rank over the road where there is normally taxis. Clearly if I'd known that or noticed it I would not have asked so she did not need to act like I essay completely stupid for asking- whatever happened to customer service!
A disappointing stay.




Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank LindaBeckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 396 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel and staff. The location is very good. Metro a few steps away and shops, pharmacy, tourist office very close. Comfortable and clean rooms. Good restaurant and rich breakfast. I strongly suggest the lake view rooms. The view is fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

There are couple of great things about this hotel:

1. It is right on the lake, so if you're lucky, you get a beautiful view
2. You're right next to the metro station, so it's easy to travel within Lausanne (the metro card comes standard at most Lausanne hotels, from my knowledge)
3. The breakfast is really good
4. Internet is free (which is normally rare at other hotels in this area)

In general, though, I found that the hotel was overpriced for the type of room that I was getting. A three star in the US is a higher standard in the US. Nevertheless, it's a relatively comfortable, if not slightly claustrophobic stay.

In the Lausanne area I would recommend others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim_chi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

On the positive side the location is outstanding, on the lakeside with a ‘door step’ connection to Lausanne via the Metro. The free Metro card was an unexpected bonus providing a considerable cost saving. The building has character and some charm. The room had all that is needed; comfortable bed, sufficient storage and work space, a safe, free WiFi, international TV channels, mini bar/fridge and a great view of the lake. I found the staff pleasant and helpful.

On the negative side some of the charm equated to rooms on the small side and noisy floor boards. Movement in the room above was amplified and I lost some sleep as a result. Apart from breakfast, which was typically continental, I did not eat in the restaurant (and claim my free drink) but it was well patronised each evening.

Overall a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: A room facing the Lake is a must. To reduce the risk of noisy floor boards a top floor room would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spgdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

You can't beat this hotel for value for money given its location on the lake. 30 second walk to the Lausanne metro and 5 minute walk to IMD business school. Breakfast is basic Swiss: a few sliced meats and cheese and some fruit salad. Rooms are basic and functional. Biggest annoyance is that the shampoo/showergel/soap dispenser for the shower is located next to the sink outside of the shower!
Best of all, free wifi throughout the hotel including the room and you will receive a free pass to use on Lausanne public transport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Was staying here aroung four days. The rooms are small and fairly basic, but with all basic amenities. The check in was quick, though there is always a line at the desk. The breakfast could have been better, maybe some moreWhat stood out for me was the location and the resturant below which had good food.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VnKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

'Serviceable' is probably the best word for this hotel. It adequately fulfills hotel functions, but doesn't go a step beyond. The furniture is functional, the breakfast satisfies hunger, the shower pressure is fine, the staff are helpful. Towels are thin, carpeting is thin, noise travels, amenities are nonexistent. As a previous reviewer noted, the hallway has an odd smell. You'd never stay here for pleasure, although the view of the lake is spectacular.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view and a large balcony - e.g., room 311.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wea74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
1 mi away
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
#24 of 46 in Lausanne
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
#1 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aulac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aulac

Address: place de la Navigation 4, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: $105 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aulac 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the charm of Ouchy's lakeside promenades, parks and gardens, surrounded by Alpine splendour and only a few steps from the Olympic Museum and the metro stop at this stunning lake front hotel. Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, the hotel is ideal for business and leisure trips; it is just 10 minutes away from the city centre and railway station, and Geneva's international airport is just 40 minutes away. The Restaurant and Brasserie, Le Pirate, offers you informal dining and regional specialities from Lake Geneva. Offering the perfect venue for seminars, cocktails and banquets, for groups of 10-50 people, the hotel boasts a splendid view over the Alps and Lake Geneva. The hotel provides a complimentary pass for the public transportation network of Lausanne. Sous-Gare-Ouchy is highly rated by guests for: Romantic, Gourmet Food, Relaxation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aulac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aulac Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing