We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older, Pleasant, Great Location, Good Views from Lakeside”
Review of Hotel Aulac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aulac
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Older, Pleasant, Great Location, Good Views from Lakeside”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel--the first time was for work. I enjoyed both visits very much. If you are staying here for multiple days, I recommend splurging for a view of Lake Geneva and the Alps from a room on the south side of the hotel. The view gets better the farther you are from the elevator, so ask for a room ending in -05 or greater. The 6th floor room we stayed in had air conditioning, which we appreciated since we happened to be there in a heat wave and on the weekends there are often open-air concerts in the nearby park, and bit of nightlife nearby. Note though that the views are better from the 4th or 5th floor, as you have larger windows. There are nice patio balconies on some of the more expensive rooms in the middle of the hotel. The location itself is unbeatable--a minute from the subway and a short stroll to the dock to catch a boat. I have never been very impressed with the food at the restaurant, but it is good enough if you arrive late or are tired. The desk staff are great and super helpful.

Room Tip: If you are staying a few days I recommend splurging for a view of Lake Geneva and the Alps from a ro...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BoulderLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    171
    90
    34
    10
See reviews for
60
103
27
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in July and have no complaints.
Our room was a city facing room, that overlooked the back of some buildings but this didn't bother us as we weren't spending our time in the room during the day.
Our room was small but fine for two people, there was no aircon but there was a large fan which was ideal as the weather during our stay was very hot.
The room was itself was nice and clean.
Breakfast was served in the restaurant (the hotel gives a drink voucher) downstairs. The choice was basic but no complaints.
The hotel is located opposite the lake and is right next door to the Metro stop, Ouchy. Which is ideal for those you want to go up to the town of Lausanne.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms over look at the back and have city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here while I was doing a 5 day course at the IMD. I was fortunate that I got a bigger room - so plenty of space & very nice.

The morning breakfast place is cozy (read small :-)), however very friendly waitress & nice good breakfast though coffee was not all that great (may be it is me !).

The price is Swiss ! So cannot complain.. Location is great for taking local shuttles & a very close to the port to take a boat ride.

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shyamgsundar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was the 17th visit to Europe for my wife and my 5th so we have stayed at many hotels rated from 3 to 5 Stars. The Hotel Au Lac must be one of the original hotels in the city, as it is old and small, but has a delightful charm about it AND a beautiful view of the bay. While the hotel did not have air conditioning it was not a problem as the weather was cool/rainy during our stay and the hotel provided a fan in the room. So we slept with the windows open and found that the street was quite enough at night. As with most old hotels in Europe, the lift was small so it took two trips to get ourselves and our luggage into our room. The room itself was a typical European hotel room – small with little space to open your luggage. But he beds were comfortable and the included breakfast with very good.
CONS: Lack of air conditioning and small rooms.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBrandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encounter Bay, South Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Aulac in May 2013. It was in a great position right on Lake Geneva with easy access to restaurants and shopping. The service was great and they had nearby undercover parking. Booking was easy on the internet. This was a good value for money hotel and we'd recommend it. Chris & Andy (South Australia)

Room Tip: We had a room with a view and it was great. Of course was more expensive, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troyes_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
233 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I spent one night during May in a room at the Hotel Aulac in Lausanne. Having reserved a “Comfort Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View”, I was very pleased to find that my room was spacious and had a huge balcony offering wonderful views of the waterfront – so nice! The hotel is easy to reach: from the train station, cross the street that fronts the train station where you will see signs for the metro, take the metro downhill to its last stop -- Ouchy, and then exit the station and turn left; the hotel is only steps away.

The hotel was clearly built in an older era and some traces of its old-world elegance remain: As examples, there are elevators, but they are very small and very slow. And the shower in my room was in a bathtub with high sides, allowing a great bubble bath if that is one’s preference ( loved it!), but people with mobility issues might find it difficult to step into/out of the tub. The bath/shower in my room offered admirable water temperatures and pressure. Both the bathroom and bedroom had a generous amount of counterspace, and there was an electric kettle with a tray of supplies. The breakfast buffet held a satisfying array of options in a pleasant area.

Staff were very helpful throughout my stay. They went far beyond the call of duty after I checked out: To my dismay, I realized, some hours after leaving, that I had left my SwissPass in my room! I don’t know what it took for the staff to find it, but they did, and they refused my offer of a gratuity. I can’t thank the staff of this hotel enough!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basel
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a business trip, one of the few reasonably priced rooms left in always-overbooked Lausanne. Pleasantly surprised by the room and reception. Breakfast, while free and good quality, could benefit from more attentive service - staff stood around checking room numbers but leaving tables uncleared... The location is easy when arriving by train. Just take the metro from the station and you are in. Much nicer area than further uphill, and more quaint restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businessmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Port
Hotel du Port
#22 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.1 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
1.2 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#18 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aulac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aulac

Property: Hotel Aulac
Address: place de la Navigation 4, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aulac 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the charm of Ouchy's lakeside promenades, parks and gardens, surrounded by Alpine splendour and only a few steps from the Olympic Museum and the metro stop at this stunning lake front hotel. Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, the hotel is ideal for business and leisure trips; it is just 10 minutes away from the city centre and railway station, and Geneva's international airport is just 40 minutes away. The Restaurant and Brasserie, Le Pirate, offers you informal dining and regional specialities from Lake Geneva. Offering the perfect venue for seminars, cocktails and banquets, for groups of 10-50 people, the hotel boasts a splendid view over the Alps and Lake Geneva. The hotel provides a complimentary pass for the public transportation network of Lausanne. Sous-Gare-Ouchy is highly rated by guests for: Romantic, Gourmet Food, Relaxation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Aulac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aulac Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing