We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beds in Europe!!”
Review of Hotel Elite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elite
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel Elite is a very nice hotel within walking distance of Lausanne railway station, making it very convenient when taking a train from the airport. Although it doesn't have a restaurant for evening meals, it does a very good continental breakfast, great coffee and a good selection of breads, croissants, ham and cheese. The best thing about the hotel are the beds, which are very comfortable, with feather quilts and pillows, which you sink into for a great sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramac300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 219 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

A charming small hotel, centrally located very close to the station,(be aware Lausaunne is steep and the climb upwards starts from the station to the hotel either up steps or the street.)
The room was large & very comfortable with a flower edged balcony and garden to enjoy if the weather allows :) The bathroom was huge and light with a bath & shower (great water pressure) the tiling dated but fine.
Breakfasts were very good. A supermarket is near by to provide picnic food.
The reception ladies were all extremely friendly & helpful. Free wifi & an available PC.
The free travel card is great & gives you a large area to explore.
If you want a comfortable, friendly small hotel this is it.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aubin785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A nice hotel in a quiet neighborhood, conveniently located within walking distance of the Old town attractions. Staff were friendly and we were lucky to have the room ready at 9am when we arrived. Room was nice and cosy, but the pillows were really bad... Softer than marshmallows ... And then some more.
Other than that, it was ok although the price was quite high. Breakfast was nothing to rave about. A warning though ... If you are not driving and coming by train, there is a 'mountain' to climb to reach the hotel. So beware them bad knees and backs!
Overall a nice stay and would return.

Room Tip: It's quiet so doesn't matter, plus well sound-proofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is a bit of a climb if you want to walk to the Elite Lausanne from the train station. But you see some sights on the way. The hotel is 2/3 of the way up the hill to the town center. It is in a colorful, older area of Lausanne with lots of small professional offices (lawyers, doctors, etc.). These are all very tastefully decorated and comfortable. The hotel is perched up high and you get a great view if you get a room with a balcony. The staff was friendly and the hotel well appointed and clean. The rooms were very nicely appointed and I and my family were very surprised at just how nicely appointed they were for the money. Lausanne didn't do much for me, but the Elite hotel made the stay memorable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front of the hotel, on an upper floor. The view is fantastic from your lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMacBaltimore_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed in a single room for one night here.

The room was an adequate size, had a very comfortable single bed, a sink in the room and a loo and shower in a small bathroom. The decor was rather outdated, but it was clean. The shower pressure was only just adequate and didn't maintain a consistent temperature. The rooms are rather hot, so I slept with the window open, but the street is quiet so this was not a problem.

Breakfast was also adequate but small scale: some cereals, orange juice, bread cheese and cold meats, croissants and jam, and hot drinks.

For the price, I thought this was not outstanding value. The decor is outdated and old (cf the shower...), the breakfast too simple and limited to justify the price.

The hotel is ideally located, though, 5 minutes walk from the station but in a very quiet street. There is a very long flight of steps to get from the station to the hotel's street. Reception was OK, and gave me a local bus and metro pass for the duration of my stay, a nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The England Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel was a lovely surprise. Professionally run, with courteous staff. Quite, with well equipped and clean (though not spaceous) rooms. Excellent location for both train and metro connections. Good breakfast. Highly recommended either for a business trip or for a short break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tatianatambouratzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a nice hotel, spotlessly clean, human in scale (was once a private residence, I think) staffed by helpful people who readily looked after my luggage after check-out, which gave me a carefree sunny morning walking by the lake. They serve a good breakfast in a pleasant dining room. Close to the train station (especially if you nip up the public staircase) which also makes it handy for the metro - and a public transport pass seems to be included in the room rate. No evening catering, but there's a couple of restaurants within 5 minutes walk and the historic centre is just 5 minutes further on foot. OK, I accept that not every hotel realises that charging me extra for wifi feels like charging me extra for hot water, but that is how I feel. So on the rare occasions that this happens to me now (as here) I find it really disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertHerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.3 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#12 of 45 in Lausanne
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 45 in Lausanne
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 45 in Lausanne
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#23 of 45 in Lausanne
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elite

Address: avenue Sainte-Luce 1, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range: $135 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elite 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Lausanne
Cambria Suites Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing