We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
69
134
36
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
134
36
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews residential street train station croissants old town quiet hotel top floor booked a triple room steep walk twin beds block walk room was spotlessly clean private parking public transport ticket the upper floors within walking distance lovely balcony nice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 247 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We needed a place to stay for one night before catching an early morning train. The hotel is close to the train station and the walk up the hill is a challenge if you have luggage. The effort is worth it though. The hotel is on a quiet side street to the right after the trek up the hill. We reserved a room with air conditioning and it was a corner room on the top floor. Lots of windows and a large balcony overlooking Lake Geneva. The air conditioning didn't really cool the room well and the beds were quite firm but we did manage a restful sleep.

The hotel gave us a pass for the metro and good suggestions for looking around the city.

I would certainly stay here again.

Room tip: Top floor, room with air conditioning during the warm months
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drewaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We chose this hotel as it provided parking and is not on a main street where it can be noisy due to the traffic. Our room was the superior twin. It was a fairly large room with comfortable beds but no AC, just a fan. We were fortunate that the temperature had dropped in the last few days, so sleeping was quite comfortable with the windows partially opened. Breakfast was adequate served in a charming breakfast room with attentive service. The staff were very helpful during our stay and this helped make our stay at this hotel memorable. Highly recommend this hotel if driving by car or coming by train.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked this hotel is mainly based on its location, just 5 minutes walk down the hill to the Lausanne Central train station. However, it requires more than 10 minutes to walk up the hill with luggages and it's a real challenge. Actually, another hotel Alpha Palmers is just in the midway and it's closer to the train station. The garden of the hotel is just a greenland, nothing special.

We checked in ths hotel last month and it's a really hot time. A dated room without air conditioner was assigned to us. It's a torture! Having complained about it, we'd been changed another room with air-conditioner. Oh, thank God! Thus, please make sure to reserve an air-conditioned room during the summer time. Otherwise, you'll get an unforgettable sauna experience definitely.

Breakfast quality is good even though variety is limited. Service is also good as well. Nearby the hotel, there're plenty of restaurants for dining. Looking for supermarket, you need to go down to the Train station. We found the retail price of Coop is more reasonable although price is cheaper in the supermarkets somewhere else.

Anyway, Hotel Elite is a clean 3 star hotel, but quite expensive.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CChanHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Everything is fine especially the English breakfast in very exquisite crockery.
As for the room, I think it all depend on which room you are given, some rooms are better with nicer window views. For location, it is very near to the main train station except you'd need to climb stairs uphill to it but anyways, most hotels in that area require climbing stairs.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jericho7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Short but very steep uphill walk from station, then off to the right on a very quiet side street.

Charming and comfortable rooms, even the single room. No AC but fan in closet. Pleasant staff and perfectly adequate breakfast.

There is a charge for WiFi, but not excessive.

I woould certainly stay here again if I return to Lausanne.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank oldchemprof_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews