We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable in fantastic location”
Review of Hotel Elite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elite
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Very comfortable in fantastic location”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This hotel is conveniently situated by Lausanne's train station but not so close that you hear the trains at night as it is tucked in a little residential road.

There are plenty of restaurants and shops in the area.

The actual building is a house that has been converted into a hotel making it very charming.

I booked a superior room because there was nothing else available and what I got was this massive room with two single beds. The deco was classical and a lot of effort and detail has gone into it. My room even had a balcony, not that I used it because it was freezing but I can imagine that being very pleasant in the summer.

The bathroom was spacious as well,and well kitted with all sorts of complimentary toiletries.

The staff were friendly but a bit useless, I made it late to my meeting because they gave me the wrong information.

The breakfast selection wasn't particularly big, I found it a bit stingy for the price charged

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marujilla80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    110
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
37
74
25
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

For a short 2 night stay in beautiful Lausanne, I can't recommend a better hotel which ticks all the usual boxes - clean, friendly, close to everything, stunning location, good food... for me there were no drawbacks - even when i flicked on the tv i found BBC1, BBC2, ITV etc and as I live in Dubai it was a bonus getting these! The staff were very friendly and helpful, which was great because i was on a tight schedule and it was my first trip to Lausanne.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 4th floor, with a balcony, and you can't beat the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesraff34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The hotel couldn't be better located: 5 min. from the main station and still very quiet, parking is available for those who arrive by car. The staff is very friendly, free internet access is available on the hotel computer and the wifi charge has been reduced significantly (I don't understand why it isn't free). The breakfast is good and I love the small breakfast room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abjborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I was placed into this hotel as an invited guest for EPFL (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne). As I was placed into a one-bed room, it literally felt like a smaller option for the price that I knew they were charging EPFL to host myself. That being said, I did read that perhaps the l'hotel lausanne in Flon is a better option (http://www.lhotel.ch/uk/index.php). which is a new hotel in the FLON area. I should have suggested this other hotel instead for the assistant to book for myself. Since i was a single traveller, I was shafted to a single bed -- single meaning not double sized bed. I felt like I was sleeping on a guest bed, as I do not think I've ever owned a bed smaller than a Double since I was 8 -- that being said, I had to sleep diagonally so that my feet did not hit the end of the bedboard, which was wood, thus, not very flexible.

Nonetheless, the proximity of Hotel Elite to the rest of the Lausanne Gare, and the Rue due Petite Chene made the hotel a good suggestion to the rest of the area. Another plus was that Hotel Elite did offer a free transportation card upon check-in. therefore, for those who will be travelling around Lausanne via the Metro, it would be convenient, as they would not be required to pay for transportation. On the downside, any hotel guest are required to pay for their use of Wifi and the cost for the wifi is 7 CHF (during December 2011). The breakfast on the other hand was very 'B&B' style, and did come with an average amount of treats -- not a deluxe meal, but adequately offered as a good 'stopover' meal.

Must see: while in Lausanne, for those who are architectural buffs, one must go onto the EPFL campus (take the M2 to EPFL) and go to the Rolex Learning Centre, designed by Architects SANAA. The trip would take one approximately 25minutes from the FLON station. Otherwise, take the M1 from Lausanne Gare, and then switch to M2 to EPFL.

Room Tip: Make sure to mention that you're travelling with two people -- otherwise, you'll be shafted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adoptme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We decided on a weekend away by the lake and found a great deal for this place on the Lausanne tourism website (280.- for two nights, including breakfast - the sign inside the wardrobe said it should have been 355.- a night so we were very pleased!). From the intial enquiry emails to the stay itself the customer service was second to none - every staff member we spoke to was friendly and polite and all went out of their way to be helpful. Yes wifi is expensive, but it was quite nice to have an enforced email break! You can get 30 minutes for free, either using the computer behind reception (for free) or on your own laptop. We were in room 42 on the 4th floor, which had a balcony with a lovely view over the lake. The room was spacious and had a decent bathroom - the bath itself was pretty small, but the shower was good. The hotel is ideally situated, with free car parking right outside and the train station a 2 minute walk down some steps. Decor and bedding in the room was a little dated, but everything was clean and general upkeep was good. The lift is absolutely tiny - two of us just about fit with our suitcases so probably best to take the stairs with a family or large group! Breakfast was simple but plentiful and good quality - don't be put off by a limited buffet, once you sit down they bring you a tray of croissants, breads, jam etc along with hot drinks.

Room Tip: 4th floor for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I've just returned home from Lausanne, and a second stay at the Hotel ELITE. The location, setting, staff, and overall quality of things, from the rooms, to the cleanliness, to the breakfast, couldn't be better.
For an hotel that does so much business with professionals working internationally, and academics related to major institutions in the Lausanne area and from leading universities abroad, the fact the free wifi is not included in the stay is surprising, and massively inconvenient. The cost for internet services via the hotel or credit card on the internet are outrageously high...absolutely inexcusable...and put a considerable dent in what is otherwise such a good and welcoming environment.
One other thing: there's a step up to enter the bathroom at least in the room I stayed in, with absolutely no warning to that effect. I stumbled, fell, and injured myself because of that....Be warned!

Room Tip: All are fine, but the best face the Hotel's private garden....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We only stayed one night in this hotel but found it comfortable and the staff most helpful. The location was very convenient to the staion.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiesmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.3 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#6 of 46 in Lausanne
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#18 of 46 in Lausanne
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#23 of 46 in Lausanne
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elite

Property: Hotel Elite
Address: avenue Sainte-Luce 1, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elite 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Lausanne
Cambria Suites Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing