We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ho hum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lausanne Palace & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ho hum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I'm not quite sure why you would go to Lausanne except on business and if that is the case then this is a pretty good hotel. I have stayed here a couple of times - it is obscenely expensive and although it is 5 star it doesn't feel that way by international standards. Thank heavens the company paid. The staff are very efficient, rooms are very comfortable but there is no real 'feel' to the place. It's all a bit dull. It's not a great location given the distance from the lake although I believe if you pay even more you can stay at the back with a lake view.

Room Tip: Save up for a room at the back with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    88
    34
    17
    7
See reviews for
71
185
49
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I felt like I was at the $39 Massage Parlor: arrive, massage, leave. Thank you. For an extra $125 you can use one of the chairs in the spa after your massage, otherwise your only choice would be a hardback chair in the hall (that was the answer to my question about whether there was a place 'pour se detendre' after the massage); so while the massage was quite good,double thumbs down on service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabbam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in May/June 2013. Professional staff, good cleanliness, large (although a bit outdated, but that's a matter of taste I guess) room, comfortable bed, good facilities... Nothing to complain about really, except maybe that the spa facilities (men's side) are a bit small compared to other Leading Spa hotels, but still good enough. I highly recommend treating yourself to the marvellous Sunday brunch buffet!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kloddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandvaux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Like a 2nd home, super friendly staff, great food at the Brasserie, and A great Club sandwich at the bar. Best location in Lausanne. Great rooms (The newly refurbished ones), great views. Great hotel!

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms with Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Palace has excellent service, room, food, location. Staff is always ready to help, their advises are highly professional and nice. View to the lake from my room was fabulous, despite the rainy weather. Room are just the top. Layout, furniture.
SPA is the best SPA you can have. Yoga bar offers great nutritious drinks. Treatments and facials are relaxing. They have a special aroma candles. Highly recommend to stay if you are in Lausanne.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Игорь К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I did not like the blonde streaks the colorist put in my dark hair at the Aveda Hair spa. I complained so she subjected me to the Lausanne Palace Royal Treatment.This involves the water temperature at the wash basin turned up to very hot then to very cold and finished with the water poured on the head. Very uncomfortable experience . The managements response - 'if you don't like our services please go to another hotel'. And I gladly accepted their advice.No more Lausanne Palace for me ever again. Arrogant attitude and snobbish service seems to be their speciality !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mrs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed a week at the hotel. Very service oriented staff, restaurants are excellent.
The renovated rooms are made with the great taste, unfortunately, windows were not done properly. So if your room overlooks city, you will hear every car movement in the neighborhood.
Be prepared to wait for the taxi for 5-10 min, if you did not order it in advance.
What really surprised me is that the bathrobe was disappearing from my room at every cleaning... Never happened in any other hotel :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.8 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.3 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lausanne Palace & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausanne Palace & Spa

Property: Lausanne Palace & Spa
Address: rue du Grand-Chene 7 - 9, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lausanne Palace & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Lausanne, the Olympic Capital, in French speaking Switzerland, the Lausanne Palace & Spa enjoys a superb view across Lake Geneva to the Alps. The beauty of its surrounding landscape makes it an exceptional place of refinement. The recognition since 2007 by UNESCO of the Lavaux region, 10 km from the Lausanne Palace & Spa, now on the list of "Real World Heritages" serves as proof of its uniqueness. At the heart of Lausanne, the Lausanne Palace & Spa, offers to you its parking open 24/24 and 7/7, an ideal base from which to discover Lausanne and quickly and easily access the different services which the Lausanne Palace & Spa offers you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lausanne Palace & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Palace Hotel Lausanne
Lausanne Palace And Spa
Lausanne Palace Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing