We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Convenient, and Croissants”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
US
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quiet, Convenient, and Croissants”
Reviewed December 10, 2008

We stayed at the Regina for several days while we were in Lausanne.

Fortunately, we had a taxi driver take us from the train station as it would have been difficult to find, being on a small side street.

The location is very good, and once we knew the way to the metro stations, we were able to get around quite well. You get a free pass on the local transit, so you can use buses and the metro to get around when you don't want to walk up and down the hills of Lausanne.

The desk help was quite helpful in finding our way around, and allowed us to leave bags for the day of our departure.

Breakfasts were nice, with selection of croissants, rolls, etc.

We had a room that allowed us to see the nearby cathedral.

Wireless (Wi-Fi) access was included and worked well.

Helpful?
2 Thank streich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    50
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
36
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We stayed at this hotel on May 1, 2008. The hotel was very nice and the room was quite large. The owners of the hotel, Michael and Dora, were wonderful people and very helpful. Unfortunately for us it was Labor Day. There was a small riot going on when we got there. Street noise was very loud at night and since there was no air conditioner we had to keep our windows open.
Internet access was available in the lobby and breakfast was very good. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Street noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dina808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

The hotel is located in the middle of the old town and main shopping area and was very convenient for our stay. We took a metrobus from the train station (1 stop) and it was a 5 minute walk from the bus stop following clear directions from the hotel. I wouldn't walk, especially not with luggage as it is all up hill and quite steep. I can see that it might be a bit more complicated by car as the area is
mostly pedestrianised and the carpark quite far. The hotel itself is quite old but although it wouldn't win any prizes in the style stakes, it was very clean and well-kept. There is a computer with internet access for free use in the lobby and free wifi in the rooms.
The hotel doesn't have many exceptional features to mention or special atmosphere. It is however functional and convenient. It seems
quite expensive in termsof quality but Swss hotels are apparently very expensive anyway. I would consider staying there again.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

We stayed in this hotel the last night of our vacation and it was a delightful surprise. The owner speaks impeccable English, but was equally gracious in Italian to another set of guests.
I felt that the interior design of the hotel was a step above most, suggesting that someone artistic had taken the time to provide each room with individual flair, the way one might in a home. Our room had a lovely turquoise theme picked up in the bed spreads, the molding and even the fan!
It is only fair to add that the hotel was quite difficult to find and parking confusing. Perhaps e-mail the hotel for exact information beforehand? It was worth the hassle to stay at this charming place. We were in Lausanne only for it's proximity to the Geneva airport but ended up finding this hotel and the friendliness of the owner to be another travel experience on our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Bluecycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

The Regina is located in the pedestrian area of Lausanne's old town, so it is convenient to most everything. It is too far to walk to from the train station, but with the help of a young man at Tourist Information at the train station (who insisted that we should NOT take a taxi!), we found the correct bus to get us there. The lobby is small, but attractive. Our room was a bit dark, but it was clean and had everything we needed, included free wireless internet. The breakfast room is light and open, and the breakfast was fine. The staff is helpful and service was efficient. This hotel is a great value for Switzerland and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

It is difficult for a family of four (two teenagers) to find appropriate accomodations, but Hotel Regina fit the bill perfectly. We had a lovely two story room. The first floor and two single beds, which worked out perfectly for our teenage son and daughter. The upstairs loft had a queen size pull out bed, but it was as comfortable as any bed I have slept in. There was plenty of room to put our luggage and to sit together as a family. The bathroom shower was small, but adequate. there was a computer in the lobby for free internet access and free wireless access in the rooms. The owners were very nice and spoke good English. Breakfast was very good. I would not recommmend this for anyone with a car. But it is a short 5 minute bus ride from the train station or a six minute walk up a steep hill (you can't walk with suitcases, but it is no problem with just a backpack). It is located in the old part of town and we truly enjoyed our three nights there. I would highly recommend this room for families with older children!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank BJGSeattleWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2006

The hotel Regina is a great place to stay. Its affordable and nice (a difficult combination to find in this town). The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. The rooms are neat and tidy and quiet. Best of all is the location in the old town within walking distance of loads of shops, cafes and restaurants. Definitely a great place to stay.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — n/a
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NewcastlePeter45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#6 of 46 in Lausanne
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#22 of 46 in Lausanne
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#14 of 46 in Lausanne
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
#21 of 46 in Lausanne
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: rue Grand-St-Jean 18, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing