We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad I'm not paying”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Chateau d'Ouchy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
116 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Glad I'm not paying”
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Wow what a nice hotel, but I wouldn't stay on my own dime. I have been there twice now - in 2 contrasing rooms, one fairly small - the other very sumptious. The fixtures and fittings are excellent. Service - ok a bit underwhelming - if the bar and the breakfast is anything to go by.

Breakfast is poor for this class and price of hotel. Bar is more trendy than great in the selection , and the staff are often talking to each other and ignoring you. They have entertainment - a beautiful girl singing to nobody . waste of time but sooo cute to look at.

Location is great, small supermarket across the street to but water etc so you don't get caught with minibar prices and good pizza restaurant and pub nearby

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSerror, Manager at Le Chateau d'Ouchy, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Reply from the management.

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for the comments you have put on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at the "Château d'Ouchy". It interests us greatly to hear from our guests. Your opinion and comments, positive and negative, are very valuable to us, as they allow us to constantly improve our services.

Reviewing the various point of your comment we would like to express our regret for the fact that you did not really enjoy your stay in our property.

Our buffet breakfast has a wide variety of products including fresh fruits, pastries, cold meats and many more items as well as breakfast dishes which can be ordered to the clients desire (e.g. Scrambled eggs).

We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed our decor, architecture and location of our hotel.

Appropriate actions has been taken in order to improve the service, besides we are thrilled to know that you appreciated our singer. We have a new one every week from tuesday to saturday.

We truly hope to welcome you again to see how wonderful the Château d'Ouchy is, and to able to show you that we can deliver the type of service which is expected in a four superior star hotel.

Kind regards,

Olivier Serror
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    117
    30
    17
    5
See reviews for
50
172
20
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

All around excellent; my first stay at this hotel. Very intelligent, well laid out, well appointed rooms of reasonably large size; all furnighings high quality, bathroom furnishings similarly high quality. Free Internet! Had breakfast at the hotel, it was excellent. In future this will be my hotel in Lausanne.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upintheairglobally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Stayed for a relaxing mini-break in Lausanne .
Booked an executive room which was great, four poster bed, nice big shower, light & airy room despite the château surroundings. The room had slippers and nice fluffy bathrobes and really nice toiletries. The bed was big and comfortable. Plenty of pillows.

The food in the restaurant was gorgeous but the service perhaps not as great as the environment we enjoyed the food in. Took a little long between courses.
The spa facilities were limited but of good quality.

The only real annoyance was the English speaking channels could not be reached and the hotel could not fix this during my stay. Still this was not enough of a frustration to stop me staying there again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertQueen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

It's not the first time this is happening, but it will be last time i visit this establishment.

We had to wait more than 45 minutes to have our table cleaned up and still after all this time - and numerous complains to the waiters and the restaurant manager - nothing happened. More, we asked to make a complain about this and all we got was a business card to write an email to the hotel manager !!! Nobody asked us what was the problem, where it happened or why we were upset.

For sure, we'll never go there again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catalinBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

this recently renovated hotel is perfectly located at the lakefront in lausanne. from there you can take nice walks on the broadwalk or take the nearby subway into the city. the hotel bears a very modern, reduced design. the lobby is very nice and looks more than a stylish lounge than a hotel. staff is not very welcoming, a definite area of improvement. the rooms are small but clean, only few have a decent lake view. since there are quite a few other hotels in the area, i'd recommend to stay at the same rate at the nearby hotel angleterre and go to chateau d'ouchy for drinks at night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkjhgZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

This is where those with serious travel budgets would choose to stay. I don't normally fork out those sorts of prices. What you get for your money is old world elegance, and the sort of quality that old world money takes for granted. I loved it, and can't really complain. The room was comfortable, the food was great, the staff were helpful, and the experience was really good. But I can't justify those prices on a regular basis.

Other reviewers have occasionally remarked on poor service. I didn't really experience that, but the hotel manager chappie, a sixty-something type, did come across as someone who longed for the old days, when only the right "quality" of person would stay there. I don't let that bother me, but I know some who would manage to take offence.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

A very nice and "cheap" alternative to the Beau-Rivage. It shares the same brilliant location, but has friendlier staff and a more relaxed atmosphere. service was 5*; breakfast good, the sauna is very small, but if you are alone (as I was) more then big enough. The entrance area is an attractive bar, the room was large and airy; just nothing to complain about. I will come back next time I am in Lausanne. I really enjoyed my stay from the warm welcoming to the quick and efficient check-out.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedgeman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.0 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau d'Ouchy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau d'Ouchy

Property: Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Address: place du Port 2, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau d'Ouchy 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau d'Ouchy and its medieval dungeon, has 50 rooms including 10 suites with a majestic panorama. The high-end comfort and quality service will charm you during your stay. Totally renovated, the originality of Ouchy will surprise you with its lounge atmosphere at the bar, with its Mediterranean restaurant, its pleasant terrace facing the lake, pool and relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Le Chateau d'Ouchy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau d`Ouchy Hotel Lausanne
Le Chateau d Ouchy Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing