We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveler rating
276
145
36
21
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
145
36
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chateau d'ouchy lake geneva lake view beautiful castle hardwood floors deluxe room very nice stay olympic museum high level lakeside hotel superb location sister hotel lovely hotel hotel guests modern design an upgrade large bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 486 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2018

We arrived at the hotel on the first of August, just as the temperatures soared to their highest levels in Switzerland in years. My wife has a physiological issue with heat as she suffered heat stroke some years ago.
The rooms at the hotel are air conditioned but our room system malfunctioned on the day that we arrived. An army of staff arrived to attempt to resolve the issue, couldn't, and we were quickly moved to another room. An upgrade no less!! I say all of this as an introduction to our fine stay.
We arrived six hours early so our designated room was still occupied. Staff took our luggage and promised to keep us updated via telephone messaging. We took a leisurely stroll to the Olympic Museum, a lovely short walk along the lakefront. The museum was amazing. We were notified that the room was ready, still ahead of the 3:00pm check-in. The room was on the third floor facing the lake with a magnificent view and a little balcony. Our move took us up one floor, still with the same view. August 1 is Switzerland's Independence Day and we were entertained with fireworks over the lake right outside our window that night. The service at the front desk was flawless even though public spaces in the hotel were not airconditioned and it was HOT and so were they. Their restaurant is on the front as well. It was excellent across the board. We took most of our meals there. It's worth mentioning that the area between the hotel and the water is paved. Motor and foot traffic pass closely by. That turned out to be a good thing. The motor traffic is almost zero and it's a wonderful place to people watch over your wine or your meal. And finally, we purchased a Swiss Rail Pass. The boat dock is just a few steps away through a lovely park. The Metro is also just a few steps away. So we cruised the lake and toured the city via public transportation without having to buy any tickets at all!! Easy.
This review was too long but I needed to say how nice the Chateau d' Ouchy was. Simply lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel. Do not take a first floor room as the views are obscured.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANOUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandoz-Hotels, Directeur général at Chateau d'Ouchy, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Dear ANOUL,

Thank you so much for your comments about the hotel and the surroundings!

I am truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you again in Lausanne, at the Château d'Ouchy.

Best regards,

Yves Chavaillaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Right on the lake and across the street from the metro that takes you anywhere worth seeing in town. Great staff (Laura and Estabon- both cheerful and quite helpful!).

Room Tip: A room on the fourth floor (Elevator to third floor, then up steps to essentially a room on your private floor. Unique!!)
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank raybee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandoz-Hotels, Directeur général at Chateau d'Ouchy, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Dear Raybee13,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, which I will share with the team straight away!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Yves Chavaillaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

From the minute we walked in the door, we received excellent service at Chateau d'Ouchy. The staff was extremely helpful; from activity recommendations to transportation advice, they were great. They spoke perfect English so nothing felt lost in translation.

This boutique hotel is lovely on the inside and out. Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the lake; it was so amazing to wake up with stunning views of Lake Geneva. While there was some evening action outside, it was a very quiet, peaceful hotel, with good windows!

The hotel is not far from the train station (if you take the metro or a taxi). I do not recommend walking with your luggage to the hotel since it is very steep in Lausanne.

Air conditioning and elevators are included, which are not always the case with Swiss hotels.

The location was perfect for our itinerary. Here are some things that were right near our hotel:
- Boat docks (cruises)
- boat rentals (motor and paddle boats)
- Gelato stand
- several restauratns
- The Metro
- Gift shops
- Bike rentals
- Olympic Museum
- Park and Playground

We could not have asked for a better location.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandoz-Hotels, Directeur général at Chateau d'Ouchy, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Dear Laura,

Thank you so much for your comments about the property and the area!

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Lausanne.

Best regards,

Yves Chavaillaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

This hotel is on a beautiful spot right on the lake. We reserved a superior Room Lake View, which was a very large room with a very large bathroom. Everything was clean and the housekeeping service was impeccable. The air conditioning works well and the hotel restaurant is superb. The hotel and restaurant are well worth the price. The hotel has hardwood floor, high ceilings, and is a beautifully decorated and maintained property. All of the hotel and restaurant staff was very polite and helpful. On the night we ate dinner in the restaurant, we ordered the cheese plate, which had the best Gruyere cheese we have ever had. (The close proximity to Gruyere probably had a lot to do with that, so don’t miss out on the excellent cheeses in this area of Switzerland.) The reception staff was very accommodating and helpful with suggestions for getting around the area. (They will give you a card to use on the public transportation system for the entire length of your stay. The subway stop is right across from the hotel and is the best way to get up the hill to the touristy area of town. The transportation card will also qualify you for discounts on travel outside of the downtown area, so be sure to use it if you plan to take the boat or train to adjacent towns, such as Montreux. The card also gave us free entry to a few tourist attractions in downtown Lausanne.) Our hotel room had a safe for storing valuables and three large windows with a view of the lake. Breakfast was delicious: fruits, cheeses, eggs, meats, vegetables, cereals, yogurt, breads, coffee/teas/juices. They will cook eggs to order at your request. If the weather is nice, eat breakfast outside and enjoy the view of the lake in the morning. If you arrive by car, please note they have approximately 15 parking spaces, which cannot be reserved in advance. We arrived a little early and pulled into a parking space without any problem. We did not use the car during our stay, since the public transportation system works very well. The Ouchy area is a quiet alternative to the touristy area up the hill, and there is always a nice breeze coming from the lake. We highly recommend Chateau d’Ouchy and will definitely stay here again if we have the opportunity to return to Lake Geneva.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GailCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandoz-Hotels, Directeur général at Chateau d'Ouchy, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear GailCA,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, which I will share with the team straight away!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Yves Chavaillaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

This was an incredible place to stay! The suite was gorgeous and spacious with all modern conveniences but still had a very nostalgic Shatto feel. We also dined in the restaurant at the hotel and the food was delicious and service was first class!

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandoz-Hotels, Directeur général at Chateau d'Ouchy, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Dear Ashley,

We thank you for your nice comments and we are glad that you did enjoy your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Lausanne!

Best regards,

Yves Chavaillaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews