We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, large room, good free wifi”
Review of Le Chateau d'Ouchy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent location, large room, good free wifi”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Located across rhe Geneva lake with many restaurant options nearby. The metro too is closeby. Friendly staff. Stayed for 5 days but did not eat breakfast and so cannot comment. Wifi signals fairly strong and free! Overall a nice expeience. My stay was for business and cannot comment on the family stay aspects.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Subramanian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    122
    31
    17
    5
See reviews for
52
178
20
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Located perfectly for the relaxing walks at the lake. Very spacious rooms, and the atmosphere of the old castle. Solid breakfast, and very good restaurant. A lot of dining facilities around.
But a few small things that spoiled the picture: dirty vine glasses in the room, missed breakfast as I was not informed about summer time change, question on reception if I am ok to bring the suitcase to the room myself while there is quite long spiral staircase to the room without elevator.
I was really puzzled on why such things can happen in this really nice and luxury place.

One more thing- bathroom is in he corridor, without door. Thus there is quite strong wind when you take a shower.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We are ridiculously frequent guests at this hotel, so obviously they're doing something right.

Staff are multi-lingual and kind, and they serve nespresso coffees [which we are a bit obsessed with], which is a huge plus.

Rooms vary in size, but all feature Frette sheets, robes and towels, with l'Occitane toiletries. We have stayed in the tiniest room and also the Chevalier Suite, which was insane. Massive room in a very castle-like setting, high ceilings and grand furniture [still modern and chic].

The only con is that the hotel does not have a gym...however, they offer you a free metro card for your stay, and the opportunity to go the the nicest large-scale hotel in town, the Lausanne Palace and Spa, to use any and all of their amazing facilities. Indoor pool/sauna/jacuzzi/etc. It's only a short metro ride away.

Breakfast is actually really expensive at the hotel, so I would advise you pop around the corner to one of the half-dozen artisan bakeries within sight and get a nice bit of croissant and coffee there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natashathefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

meets exepectations. Very friendy staff - very professional. Stayed there for a lovely weekend. Situated in the heart of Lausanne. Easy parking - nice atmosphere. Highly recommended. "Partial lake-view" means: forget about the lake view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Local_Lucerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful boutique hotel right on the lake in Lausanne. Superb location with beautiful views of the lake and surrounding mountains.

The hotel is smaller than the grand old palaces like the Beau Rivage across the road. As such it has a much more intimate atmosphere.

The rooms are beautiful and very tastefully decorated. I was there in the winter in room on the first floor facing the lake. Although this means a stunning view from the room it also means you are right on the promenade between the Hoyle and the lake which is very busy in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryBanham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in Riviera Suite, nr 716, which is on the top floor of the tower. Perfect room, perfect views. Excellent retaurant. EXTREMELY helpfull staff: they provided a real, greatly decorated Christmas tree on my request. made countless efforts to reserve a restaurant in a city, and after we left they have sent me some documents I forgot in my room! On top of that they provided us in advance with extra lamps, pre-heated the room till desired temperature etc.

Some details which make the hotel ALMOST flawless, but not completely:
- room service is not 24/7
- some noise from the heating radiators
- SPA complex in a sister hotel Lausanne Palace is pretty far away

But these details are really minor in comparison with how you enjoy the rest

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w0nderl0ft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Funny how I always thought this château was a museum. In fact it's a luxurious hotel bar and restaurant. it has been mostly rebuilt but the central tower, 6 storeys high, dates of the 12 century. I was lucky enough to say in a Junior suite in the center tower. imagine that, starting in a place that's more than 900 years old.!!!

despite its age the place is fully renovated at the highest standards. The bar is also very cool with glass ceiling that gives you a view of the central tower. Very impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.0 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau d'Ouchy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau d'Ouchy

Property: Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Address: place du Port 2, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau d'Ouchy 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau d'Ouchy and its medieval dungeon, has 50 rooms including 10 suites with a majestic panorama. The high-end comfort and quality service will charm you during your stay. Totally renovated, the originality of Ouchy will surprise you with its lounge atmosphere at the bar, with its Mediterranean restaurant, its pleasant terrace facing the lake, pool and relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Le Chateau d'Ouchy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau d`Ouchy Hotel Lausanne
Le Chateau d Ouchy Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing