We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel by Lake Geneva in Lausanne”
Review of Chateau d'Ouchy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau d'Ouchy
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel by Lake Geneva in Lausanne”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Drove up from Geneva to Lausanne which we used as a base for touring neigbouring Vevey, Montreux etc. Stayed with my wife and 8 month old baby at the Chateau d'Ouchy for 3 nights and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the Junior Suite, taking the package offer of "Stay 3 nights, pay for 2". The particular junior suite we stayed in had a separate bedroom, toilet/bathroom. The main room was very spacious, with a sitting area and wardrobe. The separate bedroom had a fantastic terrace overlooking the parking and part of lake Geneva - could have been better on the other side though! The hotel is an impressive building that stands out, located right next to the port in Ouchy by the lake.

Negatives: No tea and coffee making facilities in the suite! I found this very strange in such a classy hotel. Also, the hotel's parking space is small, but there is a couple of public car parking lots close by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    124
    33
    18
    5
See reviews for
54
189
20
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Have stayed at Chateau d'Ouchy for 3 nights when attending a training at IMD. Great value. location was superior, room was very spacious and comfy with high ceiling, though on the 1st floor just above the roof of the restaurant. This didn't bother at all, but large windows looked out to the lake - view was magnificent. Rooms on higher floors have reduce upper space due to mansard inclined walls. Front desk was very helpful. Restaurant was a great place to hand out in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fomych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I very often eat at "le chateau d'Ouchy" for dinner. The meals are always delightful and very raffinate. Enough to eat, and the choice is changing at each season. I couldn't advise on fish however it is one of the specialties, for I never taste it. But the rest is very good indeed, with very good advices on wine. The waitresses and waiters are perfect, smiling and available. The reputation of being very expansive is not that true compared to the other high level restaurants of Lausanne. Book a table in summer for the view on the lake is so nice that it is very easily overcrowded.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunday g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location. I travel quite a bit and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The facilities are very clean. The rooms are quite nice with large showers and bathrooms. However, the beds could be more comfortable.

I am not sure that the hotel would be a good choice for young families but families with older children would be quite happy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mja6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

very good location, facing the leman lake.
good vibes at the bar, good music and ambiance, helped by lots of students from IMD closeby.

Room Tip: ask for the room in the old tower or 5th level, even numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MY_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is really an experience staying in an old castle like this it is very nice view on the lake but the windows are small , and because it is built as a castle so the rooms are limited designs
breakfast extra,parking as well so i see it's too much for such room 4 star hotel while it was low season

Room Tip: make sure your lake view room with out trees in front of you so you do not pay extra for no view eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abdulwahab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

It's a gorgeous chateau right on lake full of old world charm with a swanky cool lobby and very clean and comfortable rooms. We got a deluxe room on top floor with lake view and huge bathroom. Service is great. We skipped breakfast, but opted for latte and croissant instead at very reasonable price. Metro is within the block. We won't hesitate to go back again any time we are in Laussane.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Need2seetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.0 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aulac
Hotel Aulac
#24 of 46 in Lausanne
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau d'Ouchy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Ouchy

Property: Chateau d'Ouchy
Address: Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau d'Ouchy 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Château d’Ouchy, a real haven of tranquillity nestled on the shores of Lake Geneva, is an unmissable destination for those looking for a stunning residence that is out of the ordinary. This charming residence houses 50 rooms, each one full of character with a fairy-tale atmosphere combined with modern comfort and conveniences, including 10 Junior Suites and three Suites with an enchanting castle tower feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau d'Ouchy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau d`Ouchy Hotel Lausanne
Le Chateau d Ouchy Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing