We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the view”
Review of Beau-Rivage Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beau-Rivage Palace
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2010

A grand old hotel in one of the most beautiful places in Europe. It was wonderful to wake up each morning to views of the lake and mountains. Perfect location, you can walk anywhere. Service was good -- we especially enjoyed sitting on the terrace each night.

However, for a 5 star hotel, I couldn't believe how shabby the furnishings in my room were. The furniture/bedspread/drapes were overly worn and appeared to be vintage 1970. I was very suprised because the room furnishings didn't seem to fit in with the overall high quality vibe of the hotel. It wouldn't prevent me from staying here again, but I would certainly advise others to check out your room first.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicagolikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2010

Due to how good the Hotel and it's staff were, for the first time I feel compelled to write a brief review.

We have stayed in some of the best Hotels throughout Europe, Ritz Paris, Dorchester London etc and quite simply this is the best Hotel !

Beautiful Hotel, excellent service, friendly staff , wonderful pool and spa, great location, and amazing food in various bars and restaurants.

Quite simply a wonderful stay, thankyou . We found it by chance, and apart from writing this review won't be telling many people as it is a real hidden Gem ;)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJBPimlico_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

This hotel is simply a luxury...with its proximity to city center, metro and breathtaking views of the lake, my stay was quite an experience. From the point of check-in, through room service requests, quality of stay, and final check out, everything was perfect. With the design & architecture of the rooms, and the building itself, it has a very grand feel, and there simply is no substitute for those views of the lake and mountains, especially on a clear day. A must to say here, at least once.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissAir100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

• Prior to arrival:

I found a deal on the myswitzerland.com website and booked there. When I emailed the hotel to ask for an extra bed on the room, I got a quick response as well as a request for our child’s name and a promise for a surprise gift.

• Check-in and check-out:

Check-in was fantastic! We were invited to complimentary welcome champagne and snacks on the terrace which overlooks Lake Geneva and the Alps. We were then shown to our room by one of the hosts who explained all the features of the room, including the plug converter and umbrella.

We were also given the Lausanne metro passes for the duration of our stay.

• Stay:

The room was spacious and elegantly decorated. Both the bedroom and bathroom has balcony with remote-controlled awning. The bedroom balcony also has table and chairs. There is a walk-in closet in the bedroom as well as large closets in the hallway.

The bathroom is huge, as big as a typical European hotel room! Separate tub and shower, towel warmer, marble everything and tons of Bulgari toiletries.

On the coffee table was a real orchid and complimentary goodies – 2 bottles of water (carbonated and regular), a dish of chocolate and fresh nectarines. Our son’s rollway bed was set up with a kid-size robe, a pair of little slippers and an information packet for kids activities.

Later that evening, a beautifully wrapped package was delivered to our room – it was the surprise gift for our son, a fluffy towel embroidered with his name and Bori the hotel mascot. It was such a nice touch, really made our little one felt special.

• Vicinity:

This is indeed a child friendly hotel - there is even a private playground on the property. With Lake Geneva and the Alps in the background, it is easily one of the most scenic playgrounds I have seen.

The Olympic Park is literally next door. On the other direction is the town of Ouchy with a park, a playground, abundance of restaurants, a Migro’s and the Metro stop, all within a 5-minute walk.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

If you've never stayed in hotel like this you simply must, at least once. Grand hotels such as this one built in a bygone era, to serve a bygone clientele who lived a forgotten life of opulence and grandeur. Hotels such as this dot the great cities of Europe. Many in the smaller towns that never grew up (such as Lausanne) were simply lost. This one was rescued and lovingly restored to perfection by the Sandoz pharmaceutical family.

We stayed for less than a week in their Imperial Suite, the best in the hotel. It was truly beautiful. Antique furniture felt as comfortable as modern. The walls lined with silk and gold. Gold faucets, ornate marble, carved plaster and 16 foot ceilings throughout. Wonderful honey colored wood floors and rich carpets. The curtains were thick and rich and wonderfully patterned with rare, rich fabrics. Chandeliers and light fixtures were literally priceless - from another time. It was awesome. The property was still being upgraded during our stay but our suite was simply suptuous. Truly a fairtale setting. It left us breathless.

Staff at this property, let down the suite. They were hit and miss, and left a great deal to be desired. We were a young family paying these folks the better part of ten thousand francs a night and found ourselves getting out of our rented Van and carrying our own trash to the trash receptacle, the doormen looking away or not offering service. We had shopping bags, and nobody offered to help us to our room. Locally resident dinner guests seemed to get better service coming through the door than our younger family, in spite of the fact that we were paying the single most expensive nightly rate at the property. The pool and spa were beautiful but packed. I chatted with one of the other guests in the spa who worked for a multinational corporation, which had a deal of sorts to put their staff up here. I understand hotels need to be creative to keep busy off-season, and cleaving deals with the multinationals based in the Canton are a good way to subsidize things, but that cheapened the place for me. We ran into another young family in the playground, there for a wedding, who lamented their 700 franc per night rate - we were paying more than ten times that rate and felt like we were subsidizing many of these lower paying folks, and getting watered down service thanks to the overabundance of them. Perhaps they could have given us special robes to identify our suite rate. Sounds cheesy but they need to find a way to identify those who are paying the bills here, or load up on staff to service everyone way better.

The girls in room service and housekeeping were princesses who tried very hard and could do no wrong. The front door staff should have been more plentiful and just different folks. They were way too comfortable in their role and un-attentive. The pool staff was inadequate for the guest load. I watched as a pool-boy in all-white could barely keep up to the work-load. Food was very Swiss. Smaller portions, flavors were lovely but did it not blow our hair back. To be fair, you don’t come to Switzerland for the food, that’s what Paris and Italy are for. Lastly the wireless internet was set up as it is in garden variety hotels in Switzerland, and required the local ISP’s prepaid access cards which kicked you out of there system when left unattended for 5 minutes. A major inconvenience and bargain basement .. Internet is like running water. You expect it there, you expect it fast you expect it free – no exceptions, especially in the best suite in the house. Keying access from a card is like putting in a coin to use the toilet. Oh, and the Spa/Gym was amazing but needed a rack of weights that went to 20 kilos. They stopped at 10 Kilos so I had to do way more reps to get a good workout.

We were the modern version of the folks living in the guilded age, we had the room, we could afford to live in it for 50 years if we wanted... but the service sadly seemed to pass-on with the guests this hotel was originally designed for. My wife wants me to add that she felt like many of the front door staff were lingerers, fishing for tips. It left her uneasy and felt inequitable given the princely room rate. We just expected a lot more all-round service here. That said the room was truly wonderful. If they fix the staff issue, this place could attract the grand clientele it was designed for again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank theLuckiestGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The Beau-Rivage Palace enjoys a most-enviable location, just off Lac Leman in Ouchy, Lausanne. You can see clear across to Evian in France on a good day, and the lake always looks lovely. Within the hotel, the rooms are luxe, but in a way that does not intimidate. The staff is very courteous, and the directrice is wonderful and knows a lot of Hindi. Interesting, one of the restaurants has a separate vegetarian menu. If your pockets can stand it, the hotel also has a Michelin-starred restaurant, Anne Sophie Pic. We visited the spa and immediately wished we had packed our swimsuits -- the pool is really enticing.
The hotel's location is very convenient for walks along the promenade, the Olympic Museum and the Ouchy metro station (the metro is the most convenient way to get across all of Lausanne).

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Primamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

I was lucky enough to visit the hotel twice in April and I was so impressed.
The hotel has a great location with some rooms overlooking the lake of geneva which is one of the most awesome sights ever. The second time I got a room on the other side looking over their gardens but this was great as well.
The lobby is rather small but it makes the hotel more intimate. The rooms are fantastic - huge by Swiss standards and very very comfortable.The bathrooms and the amenities from Bulgari are to be mentioned. Every bathroom has a jacuzzi and a shower stand.
The food in the restaurant is amazing as is the Spa. Overall a fantatsic experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahgirlCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lausanne
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.1 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 45 in Lausanne
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
14 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau-Rivage Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Palace

Address: place du Port 17-19, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Business Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: $483 - $855 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in 10 acres of private gardens on the banks of Lake Geneva, only 40 minutes from Geneva Airport, the elegant Belle Epoque buildings of the Beau-Rivage Palace, a Leading Hotel of The World, command breathtaking views across the lake and Alps. The 168 guest rooms and suites are richly appointed and offer the utmost in elegance and comfort. Luxury 8 Executive suites were created to be different and unique in style. The restaurants provide guests ample cuisine from which to choose. From the 2 Michelin star restaurant “Anne-Sophie Pic au Beau-Rivage Palace” to the “Cafe Beau-Rivage”, the Italian restaurant “L’Accademia” and the refined sushi restaurant “Miyako Lausanne”. The Cinq Mondes Spa offers pure relaxation on over 1,500 square meters; discover the beauty rituals from the world over. The Beau-Rivage Palace provides impeccable service including also a special kids program to make your stay truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beau-Rivage Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Palace Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing