We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Lausanne”
Review of Beau-Rivage Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beau-Rivage Palace
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Lausanne”
Reviewed January 28, 2010

This is an incredible property. The interior spaces are a stunning mix of classical and modern design. This hotel has old world charm but isn't the old and stuffy wealthy geriatric refuge that you might expect given it's history and location. I was pleasantly surprised and would rank this among the best properties that I have visited anywhere.

Best things about the property:

- the architecture
- tastefully executed mix of modern and classic design elements
- impeccable service (professional but very friendly)
- spacious rooms with lovely views and balconies
- large bathrooms with towel warmers
- excellent food and beverage outlets
- free in-room internet

I can't think of anything that isn't good about this property. I also thought it ended up being good value for the region -- certainly not inexpensive but I felt the premium was well deserved. This place is special.

It is a little bit farther from the city center than the Lausanne Palace. It also isn't perched on a hill so the views aren't quite as good as at the Palace. However, the rooms and public spaces are much more up to date and attractive. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Lausanne.

Unfortunately, I didn't have time to visit the spa or fitness facilities. The photos made them look quite lovely and other guests said they were quite good.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japan_Gaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    104
    42
    18
    8
See reviews for
230
417
52
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

This hotel was absolutely brilliant. The staff could not do enough to help us on arrival and throughout our stay. The hotel spa facilities had everything you need and nice and quiet to help you relax. The views across the lake were fantastic. Our Hotel room was fantastic and very spacious. The Cafe Beau Rivage was very expensive (although most places were this was even more so) but the food quality was great and service was good too. I would recommend the Academia restaurant at the Hotel next door too, slightly cheaper but just as nice. The town was easy to access using the Metro (too steep to walk up) which the hotel gave us complimentary tickets for and enjoy a stroll back down the hill to take in the views.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BollyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

We went for our wedding anniversary to Beau Rivage for 3 days. The hotel location is just perfect with stunning views of the Evian Mountain and the lake. We wokeup every morning to a stunning view and delicious breakfast!

The hotel is short walk to the lake and you can take a boat to visit Evian or take the train to visit Geneva 30minutes away. The swimming pool located on the lake side, so still you are exposed to nature and the most beautiful view of Evian.

Its not my first time to Lausanne and its not my first time in this stunning hotel, i would never choose to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJ1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

This is the quintessential Grand Hotel - it's simply stunning, with one of the most beautiful terraces I've ever sat on - overlooking Lake Geneva with fantastic views over to Evian and the mountains beyond. The rooms are spotless, comfortable and most seem to have a balcony where you can sit and marvel at the gorgeous views. There are three great restaurants - the Michelin starred Sophie Pic, a great little Japanese place and a very comfortable cafe bistro as well as two great bars. But most of all the service everywhere in this hotel is simply outstanding. From the moment you arrive at the front desk, to the concierge, and the staff in the bars and the restaurants - it's all faultless. Everyone is incredibly polite in that wonderful formal Swiss way and nothing is too much trouble.I loved this hotel - I could easily have spent the entire weekend not moving one inch away from it. A fantastic place for complete relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brill95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Unlike some of the reviewers who had "plastic" bathrooms, we stayed in the retty much lowest level "comfort room" (no lake view) and enjoyed it thoroughly.

Our bathroom was marble, marble everywhere and was of great size with two sinks, wonderful water pressure, a full shower curtain, and it even had a balcony.

Room measured 16 X 23 and had plenty of closet space, furnishings were in good repair, and the housekeeping was excellent.

Hotel staff were very helpful, friendly, etc.

Enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool and the large hot tub next to the pool.

Easy walk to the lakefront and to the Metro from the hotel.

Great weekend stay and will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

I had great expectations on this stay at Beau rivage..and Beau Rivage overcame them all !
the rooms are kind of small and not exactly my taste,but this hotel has the best concierge I ever had to deal with !! I went through a situation that I needed aditional help from both concierge and doorman..and both did above expected ,and made me feel they did it with pleasure !!
Great food with fair price for the quality .. beautiful grounds ,stunning pool..AND ABOVE ALL EXTRAORDINARY STAFF!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serial2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Having heard so many amazing things about this hotel, (and having fallen in love with the pictures on its web site) I actually made a stay at the Beau Rivage Palace a "requirement" when planning a four-week holiday in Europe. We stayed at a staggering selection of luxury hotels in every city including the Gritti Palace (Venice), Four Seasons Firenze, Claridges, Hassler, Le Bristol (Paris) and George V (Paris)and several other unbelievably great hotels, as we always do. For years, however, due to its reputation, trip advisor reviews and photos...staying here has always been a goal. I stayed at the Hotel des Bergues (Four Seasons in Geneva) last year and it was outstanding..but I still had this nagging feeling of regret that I did not stay here instead. In order to put my dream to rest, I came back to this part of Switzerland solely for the opportunity to stay at this storied place. Our first impressions were excellent. Indeed, the grand building, the lobby, the lawns, terrace all speak of the great grand palace hotel it is, or should be. Immediately upon arrival, one of the managers personally escorted us to the bar for a quick drink before showing us to our room. We had high expectations: we booked a junior suite at approximately $1000 per night and I personally wrote to the Front Office Manager to request a lovely, renovated room with a large terrace and spectacular view. The suite was huge but quantity is not quality and is never, to my mind a substitute. The great part: the view was undeniably awesome. Disappointingly we had a very small balcony, What really put me off and made me feel terribly cheated was the exceedingly shabby room decor and poor quality furniture and furnishings in the room. The furniture looked as if it had been left over from an estate sale, where all the good pieces had been taken by the members of the family before the "public" had a go at it. That is, there was no smart antiques or elegant fabrics, nor prized carpet or lovely lamps. Only old, banged-up and nicked reproduction furniture...not actual antiques just old furniture, cheap sconces and lamps and a generic oriental rug. The room was undeniably huge. The closet space was huge, as well. But the bedspread and sofa and chairs...all the upholstery and soft furnishings were tatty and stained and in need of re-doing. I peeked into the room next door, which was also a junior suite and it looked as if it were in a different hotel: although not done in the best of taste, it was luxurious compared to our room..... When I enquired I was told that both rooms were exactly the same price and were in the same category. It had been a long time since I had ever been shown to the "shabby" room, and having not complained, got stuck with it while a much better one was sitting just next door. (We dress well, speak French and have very nice, polite manners...we are not pushy, loud or obnoxious...so some of the usual reasons for getting short shrift cannot be targeted in this instance.)

But the most unbelievable thing, and I cannot believe that no one has mentioned this, is the bathroom! This enormous room (probably 12 x 18 ft.) with a free-standing jetted tub, looks out through a window onto the view of Lake Geneva and the Alps. But there was something terribly "off" about it. I first noticed a strange, plasticy smell...the kind of smell one finds on a new fiberglass boat, or when a plastic container melts a little because someone left it on top of a toaster. I finally figured out why it was one of the weirdest rooms I have ever been in!! The entire bathroom is meant to look like an expensive marble bathroom but it is enitrely made of plastic! If you look on the website at their "spectacular bathroom with free-standing tub" it looks like the real deal! But in this day and age at a luxury 5 plus star hotel? Molded plastic meant to imitate marble. The flooring is fake marble/fake ceramic. The wall tiles are fake marble/ fake ceramic, the built-ins are all cheap formica and the sink vanity tops are plastic with what appears to be a photo of marble imbedded in the plastic. It is all poured fiberglass countertops and so is the entire shower stall. It is quite extraordinary!

To me it looked exactly like the Poconos had landed on Lake Geneva. If it is any endorsement, my 8 year son old loved it. Even my husband was stunned (and not in a good way,) and he generally notices nothing. He hated the room, the smell of the linens (for which they give you a little bottle of perfume to spray on to mask the musty odor.)

I found the staff indifferent, and we were so put off by the disappointing quality of the rooms (especially in contrast to all the other amazing places we had stayed prior to our stop in Lausanne) that we were not relishing the thought of having to stay for the four nights we intended to stay. the object of the stay was a four day idyle on Lake Geneva in a stunning hotel, with great service, an unparalleled accomodation and great, old-world typical Swiss hospitality.The front office manager would not allow us to check out early without paying for all four nights (even though we did not book a non-refundable, non-cancellable type of reservation). Never, in all my years of travelling, has a hotel not allowed me to check out early if we found we were not enjoying our stay.

As far as service...the concierge knew absolutely nothing about the schedules for the various lake steamers; she completely screwed up an attempt to change some train tickets, and we were charged twice for tickets for the "chocolate train" (which I would not recommend). We were very put off by the stingy amenties in our room...a very small fruit platter and two small bottles of water. Obviously, any amenity is nice, but in every other hotel during our trip, we were plied with flowers, fruit, chocolates and even champagne in several hotels. We were treated to so many amenities along the way that we even returned a bottle of champagne at each of two different hotels, declined a "free" birthday cake on my birhtday, and returned a bottle of dessert wine (complete with biscotti) which was the umpteenth amenity we received at the Four Seasons in Florence.

My husband and son enjoyed the pool, and the view was stupendous. But without question this hotel was certainly nothing worth making a detour to experience. The list of hotels in Europe (even just in Switzerland) that outstrip this place is very long indeed. I am still shocked at the totally ordinary aspects of the hotel, the "in need of renovation" feel of the accommodations (and some of the public space) and the indifference of management. I certainly do not feel this hotel represents the best of the fabled Swiss Hotel industry and hospitality. I would recommend Park Hotel Vitznau if you want a stupendous view and a "palace" style hotel beautifully situated on a lake with the Alps in the background or Hotel des Bergues Four Seasons, Geneva.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dancemacabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.1 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#9 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.9 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau-Rivage Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Palace

Property: Beau-Rivage Palace
Address: place du Port 17-19, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in 10 acres of private gardens on the banks of Lake Geneva, only 40 minutes from Geneva Airport, the elegant Belle Epoque buildings of the Beau-Rivage Palace, a Leading Hotel of The World, command breathtaking views across the lake and Alps. The 168 guest rooms and suites are richly appointed and offer the utmost in elegance and comfort. Luxury 8 Executive suites were created to be different and unique in style. The restaurants provide guests ample cuisine from which to choose. From the 2 Michelin star restaurant “Anne-Sophie Pic au Beau-Rivage Palace” to the “Cafe Beau-Rivage”, the Italian restaurant “L’Accademia” and the refined sushi restaurant “Miyako Lausanne”. The Cinq Mondes Spa offers pure relaxation on over 1,500 square meters; discover the beauty rituals from the world over. The Beau-Rivage Palace provides impeccable service including also a special kids program to make your stay truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Beau-Rivage Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Palace Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing