We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea was a huge disappointment”
Review of Beau-Rivage Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beau-Rivage Palace
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea was a huge disappointment”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had really been looking forward to having a lovely afternoon tea at the Beau-Rivage, but were very soon disappointed by the level of service. We arrived well within the advertised hours for the weekend afternoon tea in the lobby, but the grudging welcome and overall lack of willingness to take our order made us feel that we were too much bother. When the tea did arrive, we were presented with what can only be described as tepid dishwater - any resemblance to English breakfast tea was at best passing. Then the plates and cutlery came - the napkin was damp and stained. It was replaced quickly enough. The sandwiches and cakes were of good quality and freshly made, so we were happy on that front. Overall it was a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaurivagepalace, Manager at Beau-Rivage Palace, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Nettie 1,
we are sorry to read that you were disappointed with the tea served at our afternoon tea and the service. We will have a look into our service cycle and would be glad if could contact us personally in order to discuss the type of tea you ordered.
Nevertheless, we would be glad to welcome you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    110
    42
    20
    10
See reviews for
242
439
55
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Having stayed several times at this hotel for many many years (over 50), it is sad to see that the only thing that remains qualitative is the architecture and the garden. The service in the lobby is extremely slow and unprofessional. Had to wait for over 20 minutes to receive a simple tea and coffee order for 2 persons and on top of that, another 30 minutes to pay. Unacceptable, especially as is this was the case most of the time. One has the impression that students from hotel schools are used in order to save money and hence the "quality" of the service. The food is really nothing to write home about. Expensive for very average food. The Sophie Pic restaurant is nice but the prices too high, bearing in mind that Mrs. Pic is never there. The once voted best Spa is also declining. No steam in the hamam, low temperature in the sauna, only huge towels available on some days. The products, shampoo, soap etc. in the Cinq Mondes Spa are not Cinq Mondes products but just any vulgar product. How can Cinq Mondes accept to give their name to such a Spa? Newspapers are rarely available before 9am. An entry of ice-cold water in one corner of the indoor pool makes the pool experience disagreeable. And when questionning the manager, the reply was once that they cannot control it and another time the answer was that only water of the same temperature as the pool was being injected (which is not true...). Well, it remains a beautiful place, just a shame that it doesn't offer 5* service any longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lulu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaurivagepalace, Manager at Beau-Rivage Palace, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Lulu B,
Thank you very much for your review concerning your last stay at our hotel.
We will have a look into the serving time at the Lobby Lounge.
Our gastronomic restaurant from Anne-Sophie Pic has 2 Michelin stars. Our kitchen chef develops and discusses all dishes with Anne-Sophie Pic, which ensures a high standard all the time although Anne-Sophie Pic is not always present. We only use high quality products, paired with the expertise of our highly qualified chefs which results in a certain price for the dishes, but not higher than other Michelin starred restaurants in the region.
It is true that at the end of last year we unfortunately had complex technical problems with the temperature of our hamam as well as the sauna. It took some time to be fixed, but the sauna and hamam are functioning again perfectly. Concerning our shower products, they are products produced by Cinq Mondes for the special use of hotel spas, but they are not the same products we sell in our spa shop.
Our newspapers are usually delivered between 6.45 am and 7.45am. If our guests order newspapers which aren’t delivered to the hotel directly they arrive in the guest rooms between 8 am and 8.30 am.
Please feel free to contact us in person in order to discuss your experience in further detail. As a loyal customer since over 50 years we would be looking forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel and do not understand the high ratings. The front desk was not very professional, rude and slow, the service in the hotel was bad. What really surprised me was the lack of training of the staff. The restaurants served ok food at a high price but again the staff working there did not have any concept of what they were serving. The rooms are ok, not 5 star quality but ok I guess. The hotel is in a nice location with nice views and I am sure that this has a positive effect on previous ratings. But the hotel as such is not worth 5 stars. It is not a hotel I will return to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Masse O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Spent 10 days in Switzerland during Chinese Spring Festival holidays and Beau-Rivage Palace just made this trip more memorable than I expected. The historical hotel locates on the banks of Lake Geneva which has a perfect view. The design and decoration both in the rooms and public areas makes the property worth a visit.
When I arrived at reception late in the evening, I was warm greeted by front desk staff who quickly dealed with my check-in afterwards. Concierge helped me enthusiastically as well. No doubt the room was exactly like the website image showing, elegant, precious and stunning. I received fresh fruits, tea, even instant noodle in my suite room, while the breakfast in the second morning gave me a pleasant surprise which a set of Chinese dim sum was offered exclusively besides buffet! Tasty for sure!
The excellent service was impressive. I had to skip the extremely luxurious SPA Cinq Mondes due to the tight schedule while it just made another reason for me to come back.

Room Tip: Suite room with Lake view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from three beautiful days at the hotel. Grand hotel with fantastic facilities. The staff are the real stars: engaging, warm and truly enthusiastic. I couldn't recommend the Beau Rivage more.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bathyeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa israel
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

the location on the shore of the lake and near the small port is excellent. there is free rapid
connection to the old city by subway.
we stayed only one night after a ski holiday and enjoyed the hotel.
even our unexpensive room was very nice and rennovated.
the hotel itself is luxurious and impressive and combines classic style with modern elements.
some of the public halls are really palace pieces.
the staff was nice and the total experience was very pleasant and worth the price.

Room Tip: the best rooms are with lake view but pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strulovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

One of the best hotels I've stayed in. Our room was excellent as it should have been at the price point (north of $650/night). As an example, the breakfast buffet was quite good, but again at CHF49 per person it should have been. Bottom line: very expensive, but you get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lausanne
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.1 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#6 of 46 in Lausanne
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
14.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau-Rivage Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Palace

Property: Beau-Rivage Palace
Address: place du Port 17-19, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Business Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in 10 acres of private gardens on the banks of Lake Geneva, only 40 minutes from Geneva Airport, the elegant Belle Epoque buildings of the Beau-Rivage Palace, a Leading Hotel of The World, command breathtaking views across the lake and Alps. The 168 guest rooms and suites are richly appointed and offer the utmost in elegance and comfort. Luxury 8 Executive suites were created to be different and unique in style. The restaurants provide guests ample cuisine from which to choose. From the 2 Michelin star restaurant “Anne-Sophie Pic au Beau-Rivage Palace” to the “Cafe Beau-Rivage”, the Italian restaurant “L’Accademia” and the refined sushi restaurant “Miyako Lausanne”. The Cinq Mondes Spa offers pure relaxation on over 1,500 square meters; discover the beauty rituals from the world over. The Beau-Rivage Palace provides impeccable service including also a special kids program to make your stay truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Agoda, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beau-Rivage Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Palace Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing