We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like stepping into another world...”
Review of Beau-Rivage Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beau-Rivage Palace
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stopped here on the first leg of a driving trip through southern Europe, and could not have a picked a more appropriate place to re-acclimate to a vacation mind-set.

The hotel is meticulously maintained and clean, by our estimation, and really takes you back to a more elegant time and place, without compromising comfort. Imagine the sort of classic elegance that some modern hotels are trying to achieve, this is the template.

Granted, you have to switch off the part of your brain that is counting every dollar, euro, and franc you are spending to enjoy yourself here. This is, for most of us, a splurge. But to go through your visit here looking at every bill would ruin the experience. So figure out all that ahead of time so once you pull into the port cochere you can immerse yourself and pretend you're "old money" for a weekend.

The location is great if the weather is good. The views from the lake side of the hotel are lovely. Just a small notch below perhaps what you'd get in the mountains or riviera. The covered patios is great and just begs you to eat breakfast there. The rooms are clean, modern enough, and luxurious.

We found the desk staff to be actually quite warm and helpful even though we weren't european royalty. A nice touch was giving free passes to the local train system when we asked to visit the downtown area, and great suggestions were given for a walking tour.

The parking, like everything else, was effortless and our car came back all washed and ready to go to our next stop.

We enjoyed visiting the pool area as well. There seem to be quite a few locals who use the pool on a membership basis, but it didn't detract from use by hotel guests.

It really was hard to find anything to fault, other than the prices which can be eye-watering, especially for the gastronomic restaurant ASP (see other review).

One bit of advice - we booked through American Express Platinum to receive room upgrade & food credit - one of the restauants that qualifies for the food credit is an Italian restaurant that is very hard to locate from hotel signage. It turns out, the hotel also owns some of the properties bordering it on the lakefront, and the Italian restaurant is essentially the sidewalk Italian cafe that seems more attached to the neighboring hotel. It was a great lunch and I'd recommend it as a good value for any food & beverage credits you have from your booking.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must, obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSIInnerloop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

The hotel is the best in its class - Belle Epoch hotel. The hotel has plenty of character of the old grand luxury. It balances it well with modern comforts, though on its own terms. Original features are preserved with care like old revolving doors that originated not far from here.

The hotel allows you to travel back in time and this means letting go of some of the modern comfort. If you are staying here during the cold months you have to turn the heater on in the bathroom a few minutes before going in otherwise it is too cold. At the restaurant during breakfast you might want to wear a warmer jacket on a cold morning unlike at modern hotels with perfectly controlled constant temperature all year round. But interestingly so this things add to the experience rather then take away from it. You realize that it is actually nice to dress up for breakfast on occasion.

The staff come across as a little cold and reserved. And can subtly send out a feeling that their training (and the hotel in general) were meant to receive people who are better then some of their clients.

Beau Rivage Palace stays true to itself and its heritage and is as luxurious today as ever. It does not hurry to absorb all the modern features and gadgets and remains rather discriminating but here you would not want it any other way.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indep_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

The hotel is great and the restaurant is also outstanding, but the customer care is awful. We have organised several business lunches and full day meeting sessions in their restaurant, everything was fine except that despite the price paid they ask you to pay in addition the parking fee for the guests/participants outside at their parking gate at a automated cashier.
It is just a pity to handle customers with such low care after an expensive lunch or meeting working day. Same low customer care applies when you spend time in their SPA for expensive treatments, you are still asked to pay an expensive extra to be able to use the swimming pool and you have also to pays their private parking fee.
For such a good and expensive hotel/restaurant/spa, it is just a poor customer care. Fortunately, there are other four/five stars Hotels/restaurants/Spa in the region with far more customer care towards their guests.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Casper L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaurivagepalace, Manager at Beau-Rivage Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Dear Casper L,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the meals and the service at our restaurant, but also recognised and thank you for your feedback.
Concerning the parking fee we would like you to take into consideration that our garage is a public parking on our property. This is why every guest of the hotel, either external restaurant guest or hotel guest has to pay for his parking as it is an additional service offered by the hotel.
Regarding the entrance to the swimming pool, it is true that external guests who get a treatment for CHF 150 have to pay an extra fee. However, in the treatment fees included are the use of the Hammam, the sauna and the tropical promenade. If the external guests also want to use the swimming pool they are asked to pay an extra fee of CHF 60, except the guests with a treatment of more than CHF 400. Taking into account that our hotel guests don’t only pay for the treatments but also for our hotel rooms we consider it as a fair consequence to ask our external guests to pay an extra fee for the pool. This reflects the importance of customer care in our hotel as we would like to ensure a relaxing spa atmosphere for all our guests by avoiding a crowded pool and hence a lack of relaxation.

Best regards,
Beau-Rivage Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is by far the best hotel around here, and on of the best in Europe. I am a frequent business traveller, i have highest membership status in several airlines and hotels, so its hard to exceed my expectation when it comes to hotels, but this hotel did exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mubarak_aa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and I spent three nights here during a 30 day trip to Europe. First the good. The location is wonderful. We had a ocean view suite with a balcony. It is easy to walk everywhere from here and the ferry is a close walk too. We checked in early and our room wasn't ready. They graciously provided a glass of champagne and arranged lunch by the pool. There is where the shock began. $200 for a poor club sandwich and small salad with 2 glasses of wine? Crazy!
There were some serious other flaws. The first night we awoke at 4 am to a high pitch alarm sound. First thing in the morning we asked for a manager at the front desk. They said they would look into it. When the maid came to clean she couldn't believe the sound and was very apologetic. After returning to the room later that day it seemed fine but sure enough, 2 am it started again. The next day we discovered it was coming from a utility closet outside the room. Told the front desk again and obviously they fixed it by the third night. HOWEVER, there was never an apology. This alone would have me never stay here again.
Also, beware the prices of food and drink at the hotel are ridiculous. Unlike Monaco, prices in town and nearby towns was reasonable so you got the feeling they were just gouging you.
Wish I could have loved the hotel. Views were fabulous but we will never return here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at the B-R in September for two nights. On our way from Paris to Italy by train we wanted to spend a day in Lausanne to see the lake, etc. At the time of booking the only place with vacancies was th B-R, although the cost was way above what we wanted to spend in the end it was a case of "well why not spoil ourselves". I'm glad we did this as the experience was spectacular.

On arrival you have to be impressed by the granduer of the place, but the treatment by staff is not pretentious, it is personal and helpful ... it was just great. An upgrade to a lake view room was a pleasant surprise and I have to say it is the best accommodation I have ever stayed in. Bit like a balcony room at the Palace of Versailles, except with better view!! Opulent is the word that describes the room, everything about it was perfect, especially your own balcony to sit and gaze over the lake and alps.

Breakfast was included and was splendid, as was the service. Staff were happy to stop and chat and provide advice on what to see and how to get there. Being on the lake it is easy to jump on a boat and take a trip up the lake to Montreaux. There are some nice restaurants along the lake front and probably provide better value than those in the hotel. The Olympic Museum is just next door and worth seeing.

The only issue is the cost, it is expensive to stay there, but then again that applies to Lausanne and Switzerland in general. If you want to treat yourself, this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FHILLAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

It is rare for me to give 5 ratings for a hotel, especially one that costs me so much, but I was hugely impressed with this hotel.

From the time I arrived to the time I left I was mostly greeted by name and always with the perfect balance of just right service without being too pushy or too absent.

I was staying in a lake view room on the 4th floor and this was very nice. The only issue was a connecting door which I usually specify not to have but forgot on this occasion. I liked the roon so thought I would try it out. There was some noise from next door the first night but not enough for me to want to repack and move. As you can see fropmn my rating it didn't influence my opinion of the hotel, but if you don't like connecting rooms, remember to specify that.

In room was very nice - perfect bed and daily complementary water and internet, which I think all luxury hotels should do so good one beau rivage. My rate included breakfast which was a truly excellent buffet.

Tried the outdoor pool (nice and bracing compared to the indoor one) and the gym - both high end.

I really liked this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefrequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lausanne
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.1 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 45 in Lausanne
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
14 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau-Rivage Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Palace

Address: place du Port 17-19, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Spa Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: $482 - $848 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in 10 acres of private gardens on the banks of Lake Geneva, only 40 minutes from Geneva Airport, the elegant Belle Epoque buildings of the Beau-Rivage Palace, a Leading Hotel of The World, command breathtaking views across the lake and Alps. The 168 guest rooms and suites are richly appointed and offer the utmost in elegance and comfort. Luxury 8 Executive suites were created to be different and unique in style. The restaurants provide guests ample cuisine from which to choose. From the 2 Michelin star restaurant “Anne-Sophie Pic au Beau-Rivage Palace” to the “Cafe Beau-Rivage”, the Italian restaurant “L’Accademia” and the refined sushi restaurant “Miyako Lausanne”. The Cinq Mondes Spa offers pure relaxation on over 1,500 square meters; discover the beauty rituals from the world over. The Beau-Rivage Palace provides impeccable service including also a special kids program to make your stay truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beau-Rivage Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Palace Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing