We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crystal Hotel
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
London
Level Contributor
180 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good central hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed at the Minotel Crystal hotel for 3 nights at the start of May 2009. We arrived by train from Geneva, we made the mistake of walking up the steep hill to the hotel. I would strongly advise taking the metro up the hill especially if you have suitcases. The hotel is very centrally located. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fine. There is a nice view of the old town from the balcony of the breakfast area. Our room was large as we were travelling with our daughter. Since the hotel is very central noise can be an issue, although it didn't disturb our sleep. I would recommend the hotel. On our trip we used Lausanne as a base and also visited Vevey and Montreux. This is a beautiful area around Lake Geneva well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    37
    37
    14
    6
See reviews for
16
21
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lesvos
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

the location of this hotel, makes it a good choice if you want to visit Lausanne. it's close to a parking area, restaurants and the metro station. Our room on the fifth floor, was quite big and we had two extra beds for the kids. breakfast was good and the staff friendly and polite.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katemig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

I stayed one night at this hotel. We arrived at 11pm. There was car parking available a short walk away at the meter, which runs during business hours. This hotel is located right in the centre of the shopping area, it was very quite at that time. We had paid for breakfast with out hotels.com booking. Upon arrival we were told breakfast did not start until 7.30am which was of no use to us as we had to leave at 7.30am for an appointment. The hotel did not refund us our breakfast charge. The room was incredibly small and basic, although very quiete. It was the cheapest hotel available at the time of booking. I booked this hotel as my pupose was to find somewhere to sleep for the night only and check out the next morning. This hotel served it's purpose. My only feedback would be to have breakfast served earlier.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himpantsou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lausanne hotels

Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

Recommend highly due to great customer service - staff always willing to help, they smile, pay attention to detail and are polite. Hotel is centrally located, within 2 blocks of subway - quiet location yet steps from eateries. Great breakfast, good variety. Rooms are clean and one feels safe. Would definitely return - great value for your money!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRvBCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of May.

The minotel is conveniently located a few blocks from the Riponne metro station so it was an easy commute from the train station. It's 2 doors down from a Coop store for groceries and it's on the same block as McDonald's for those who need a grease fix.

Our room was pretty standard with a queen bed, flat screen TV, phone, cash minibar, and an extra closet for storage. The decor was very outdated and the chair in our room was stained but that wouldn't necessarily prevent us from staying there again. We knew before booking that it wasn't a luxurious place. There weren't any spare pillows or blankets in the room but we didn't need any so I'm not sure if you can get them from the front desk. Not a great view (you look at another building) but it's on a sidestreet so it was pretty quiet. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Bathroom was clean and a hair dryer is provided but it gets VERY hot after you have it on for a few minutes, I had to wrap a face cloth around the handle as it was too hot to touch. There were plenty of towels (although a bit ragged) and good water pressure.

We found that breakfast was VERY good compared to other breakfasts we had, likely the best out of the 6 places we stayed during our trip. Breakfast was served on a high floor (can't remember which level) with an outside roof terrace where you could sit and look out over the city, beautiful view. Breakfast was the usual Swiss fare but more options than usual – breads/buns, spreads, cheese (fresh & packaged), meat, cook your own hard/soft boiled eggs (which was a nice treat), apple & oj, or fresh oj juicer, cereals, yogurt, fruit salad, fresh fruit, coffee/tea.

The biggest issue we had was with the bathroom. The shower is a little small which wouldn't be bad except that the shower curtain attacks you and wraps around you! Also, there is lots of hot water which is good except that the tap isn't well placed so if you accidentally knock it while washing or struggling to free yourself from the shower curtain you can seriously scald yourself!

Everything about this hotel was good except for the shower. Sounds like a minor detail but we would research other options before automatically rebooking here. No one wants to be struggling with a shower curtain or getting scalded at 7am or after a 13+ hour day of sightseeing!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisey_1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night with my husband and 9 year old son. This hotel is in a fantastic location, close to almost all the sights and in amongst shops and restuarants. The room was a little small but that might be because we had an extra bed in our room. Breakfast was good, just the usual pastries, cheese, salami etc. The staff were friendly and spoke english well.
The only negatives were the shower wasnt too clean and there was a construction site next door which work started on at 7am. This was fine as we had to get up early but for others this might be a problem. Overall a good stay, we would stay here again

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

I stayed in a tiny, shabby room with a view of a noisy alley for FAR too much money. If you are a business traveler spending all your waking hours elsewhere, it might be acceptable if the price is right. The best thing about this hotel is the view across the city to the lake -- this view is available only on the rooftop breakfast/bar balcony. That means only the smokers or those willing to put up with the smoke will enjoy the lovely view.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — Shabby, depressing room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cathy_ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Raisin
Hotel Le Raisin
#44 of 46 in Lausanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#28 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
#21 of 46 in Lausanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Property: Crystal Hotel
Address: rue Chaucrau 5, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet pedestrian street, we offer you a warm welcome, a high quality equipment for your comfort and we serve a hearty Swiss buffet breakfast.Hotel Crystal Lausanne is within walking distance of the Palais de Beaulieu (congress center, exhibitions, etc.) - Close to private clinics and the University Hospital (CHUV). Direct connection with the EPFL and the University thanks to M1 - 250 meters on foot of our establishment The City Tax allows you the free use of the public transportation of Lausanne Bus and Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lausanne
Lausanne Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing