We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would be nice if it's 1920. Good location but horrible hotel. Stay away.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crystal Hotel
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would be nice if it's 1920. Good location but horrible hotel. Stay away.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I was recommended this hotel and for a price of almost £200 per night I thought it would be ok.
I was proven wrong. Already at the reception I was greeted by a smell which only can come from a dead body somewhere.
The room was big but it seemed like I was back in 1920. It smelled like smoke and mould everywhere. The shower had mould as well.

I could go on and on but it's not even worth spending my time on this review.

In short STAY AWAY the ibis hotel around the corner is better.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank concap09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    36
    14
    6
See reviews for
16
21
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed here during a business trip and wouldn't stay again. Beds had bugs, no air con and no plug sockets anywhere near the desk. As there was no air-con i was forced to have my window open all night and had to put up with the sound of the bells and local drunks int he street. Furthermore the rooms are not very well sound-proofed and therefore every noise of people talking the hall comes echoing into the rooms.

To be fair the staff are lovely and it's a great location but the lack of cleanliness and run-down appearance let it fown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingGGDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lausanne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

They were doing refurbishing at the time of my stay. Rooms are very basic and small but bed was firm and comfortable. Wireless internet was free for 1 hr /day and is well situated in the old part of town where there is minimal traffic. This was fortunate as you could hear people talking in the street below. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast is excellent situated on the 5th floor roof top with great views over the town. If you are coming to Lausanne by train use the excellent metro to get here as it is only 150 metres away. The hotel also provide a free public transport ticket for the length of your stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

The hotel itself is not top luxury in terms of decoration, style, etc. but it definitely has what you need for a good business trip hotel: clean room, wifi connection, large breakfast with a lot of variety, nice staff, and pretty sound-proof rooms. I've actually stayed there twice, and went back for this recent trip. It is also located close to the metro, so I would definitely recommend it again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Convienent location - close to train and old town. Staff was helpful and efficient. Lovely room on the 5th floor provided a full breakfast. Room was adequate and included a small refrigerator.
Many shops, restaurants, and co-op close by. We happened to be there on a Wednesday to attend the Farmer's Market on the plaza near the hotel. Great buys on pasteries, cheese, dried meat and bread. Be sure to visit the Cathedral!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresa116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Mold in the bathroom. Filthy carpets. Noise all night long in the so-called quiet streets (trucks of some sort). The bed is split and hard as a rock.
The only positive is loads of tv channels. But you don't want to stay in the room to watch because it is so 1970s old and smelly.
I am eating the breakfast right now. It's awful. Fruit from a can. Instant coffee. Stale bread. If I had paid 1/4 as much for this place I'd understand, but this is ridiculous.
The worst is the cheapest internet here is $29 for 24 hours.
Tip: the starbucks just at the corner has free internet and actual real coffee.
I've stayed all over the world in hotels, including dives in the seediest parts of town and this is worse.
STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antitourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers, Denmark
Level Contributor
155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

Hotel placed in a small pedestrian sidestreet to the larger pedestrian streets in the center of Lausanne. This means absolutely no noize and absolutely easy access to the center.
If feels like a family-run hotel (friendly receptionist that chats with you) and a nice small breakfast area at the top floor with good service. With a great view of the city if you can sit outside.
There are two free internet computers that you can use - but if you want to connect your own you will have to pay - or go out and find a free wireless connection at one of the numerous cafés offerings this.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#29 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
#20 of 46 in Lausanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#22 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Raisin
Hotel Le Raisin
#44 of 46 in Lausanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Property: Crystal Hotel
Address: rue Chaucrau 5, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet pedestrian street, we offer you a warm welcome, a high quality equipment for your comfort and we serve a hearty Swiss buffet breakfast.Hotel Crystal Lausanne is within walking distance of the Palais de Beaulieu (congress center, exhibitions, etc.) - Close to private clinics and the University Hospital (CHUV). Direct connection with the EPFL and the University thanks to M1 - 250 meters on foot of our establishment The City Tax allows you the free use of the public transportation of Lausanne Bus and Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lausanne
Lausanne Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing