We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crystal Hotel
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Reviewed May 11, 2011

They were doing refurbishing at the time of my stay. Rooms are very basic and small but bed was firm and comfortable. Wireless internet was free for 1 hr /day and is well situated in the old part of town where there is minimal traffic. This was fortunate as you could hear people talking in the street below. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast is excellent situated on the 5th floor roof top with great views over the town. If you are coming to Lausanne by train use the excellent metro to get here as it is only 150 metres away. The hotel also provide a free public transport ticket for the length of your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 132 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2011

The hotel itself is not top luxury in terms of decoration, style, etc. but it definitely has what you need for a good business trip hotel: clean room, wifi connection, large breakfast with a lot of variety, nice staff, and pretty sound-proof rooms. I've actually stayed there twice, and went back for this recent trip. It is also located close to the metro, so I would definitely recommend it again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Convienent location - close to train and old town. Staff was helpful and efficient. Lovely room on the 5th floor provided a full breakfast. Room was adequate and included a small refrigerator.
Many shops, restaurants, and co-op close by. We happened to be there on a Wednesday to attend the Farmer's Market on the plaza near the hotel. Great buys on pasteries, cheese, dried meat and bread. Be sure to visit the Cathedral!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theresa116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Mold in the bathroom. Filthy carpets. Noise all night long in the so-called quiet streets (trucks of some sort). The bed is split and hard as a rock.
The only positive is loads of tv channels. But you don't want to stay in the room to watch because it is so 1970s old and smelly.
I am eating the breakfast right now. It's awful. Fruit from a can. Instant coffee. Stale bread. If I had paid 1/4 as much for this place I'd understand, but this is ridiculous.
The worst is the cheapest internet here is $29 for 24 hours.
Tip: the starbucks just at the corner has free internet and actual real coffee.
I've stayed all over the world in hotels, including dives in the seediest parts of town and this is worse.
STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antitourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Hotel placed in a small pedestrian sidestreet to the larger pedestrian streets in the center of Lausanne. This means absolutely no noize and absolutely easy access to the center.
If feels like a family-run hotel (friendly receptionist that chats with you) and a nice small breakfast area at the top floor with good service. With a great view of the city if you can sit outside.
There are two free internet computers that you can use - but if you want to connect your own you will have to pay - or go out and find a free wireless connection at one of the numerous cafés offerings this.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Cons: 2 star hotel that looks like it was decorated by a yard sale

PROS!!: We LOVED this place! It was located in the center of the Old City (Lausanne is divided between 2 districts, the Old City and Ouchy – on the shores of Lake Geneva) and within waking distance of everything including Lausanne Cathedral and the Metro stop, the service was awesome, there was free internet (no AC however) and they serve an awesome breakfast (fresh bread, cheese, fresh squeezed OJ, french press coffee, salami, poached eggs, and an assortment musli – healthy and delicious) with a stunning view

Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
Thank tarinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

When we arrived by taxi from the main rail station we were a little surprised at the exterior appearance of the hotel. The web photos do not appear to be an accurate representation of the actual exterior. However once you appreciate the historic location you understand the challenges the management has of presenting anything different. Our room was on the top floor, reasonably roomy, modern and well maintained. We had the extra benefit of access to a large terrace attached to our room. In good weather the views from this area would be spectatcular and a real bonus to your stay. The location is very central to the beautiful old town and close to the metro. The hotel offers guests a a voucher for free travel on all forms of public transport, another bonus. The included breakfast was a bonus and adequate for our needs. We would recommend this hotel. The unavailabilty of free WiFi internet access, so common in many European hotels, was a minor irritation. However,this is easily overcome as Lausanne has many free WiFi hot spots located throughout the city.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesspriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#6 of 46 in Lausanne
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#30 of 46 in Lausanne
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
#24 of 46 in Lausanne
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#10 of 46 in Lausanne
1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#16 of 46 in Lausanne
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Address: rue Chaucrau 5, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range: $125 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet pedestrian street, we offer you a warm welcome, a high quality equipment for your comfort and we serve a hearty Swiss buffet breakfast.Hotel Crystal Lausanne is within walking distance of the Palais de Beaulieu (congress center, exhibitions, etc.) - Close to private clinics and the University Hospital (CHUV). Direct connection with the EPFL and the University thanks to M1 - 250 meters on foot of our establishment The City Tax allows you the free use of the public transportation of Lausanne Bus and Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lausanne
Lausanne Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing