We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please choose a better hotel.”
Review of Hotel AlaGare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel AlaGare
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Please choose a better hotel.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is the WORST HOTEL i stayed in my life ever. Irresponsible staffs and poor service. We were so disappointed for the service provided and not worth for the money we paid. Luckily we stayed just one night. At least the room were average to stay not so poor.

I DON'T KNOW HOW ITS EVEN RUNNING AS A HOTEL IN THE POPULAR TOUR PLACE.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S12jul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    78
    59
    20
    20
See reviews for
24
53
30
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel, as the name suggests, is right near the station. We were a group of three people so we stayed on the top floor in a triple room. It was very nice, the room was bog enough, and it had a small fridge with tea and coffee making facilities, which is very rare when travelling in Europe.
Although it is right beside the station and you can hear the trains we weren't disturbed when we closed the windows (we could do this because the room had fans that provided more than enough airflow).
The staff were very friendly and helpful! It's always nice to be greeted with a smile, in English, after a long day of travelling.
We would definitely come back here if we were in the area again. The price is right, the staff were friendly and the facilities were great.
I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're looking for something near the station that is not super expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz_D27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Faro, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Well, it was OK for ONE NIGHT, and it was cheap for Swiss standards, but hmmm, my experience was not quite *****.

It's the kind of place where you pay your room in advance, rather than at check-out, and there is nobody at reception during the night (creepy!), so you have to ensure you have to outside job key for the electronic entry if you go out after 10.30.

The rooms are tiny, just enough space to walk around a double bed! (but maybe there are rooms bigger than the 2 I saw).

Obviously there's no room service, but there are vending machines in reception.

So, no, not EXACTLY five star. But there are some really good sides:
- My room was facing the rail track, which worried me because the trains start at 5!, and the receptionist changed me straight away when I asked. I thought that was good service!
- There is a kettle and instant coffee and tea in the room, which some better hotels still don't have, so that was nice.
- Generally, everything was very clean and the bathroom was impeccable!
- For catching trains, as the name suggests, it is perfect.

I will spend slightly more on my next business trip, though. Don't need REAL Five Star, but a bit more in terms of facilities and cachet won't go amiss, like 24 hr room service and reception!

Room Tip: Not facing the rail track
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Great location, just behind the train station, and close to metro station, they also gave us transportation card to travel around for free which was really nice. The room was so beautiful, spacious, well-decorated. It was expensive but compare to location, quality, and service, worth every cent. It was the hotel my family and I like the most in our Switzerland trip. However,the fact that it was close to the train station, if you stay in the attic like us, you will hear the train during your sleep, but it was ok for us :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

It is very close to lausanne Train station. The hotel is very clean tidy and Very appealing. Breakfast was really good. The staff at the reception are very helpful. Jus walk down for 3 min and there is small train station which takes you to ouchy. Shop, pharmacy and eateries are very close by. Its worth for the money.

Its bit disturbing in the night coz its close to the train station.Make sure you close the windows.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell them that you are a couple and want a double bed. Or else they will give a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located tight beneath the train station (Lausanne is built on a steep slope). Entrance looks a bit shabby as does the reception (the receptionist was a bit abrupt but nice enough). The room I had was very clean and pleasant. It was small and rather cramped, with an open doorway to tiny shower + toilet. Yet very practical, plus free internet (and you get a free public transport ticket as in all lausanne hotels I heard). Breakfast is on the top floor, also not fancy but quite decent. All in all for business a very good option and affordable. I imagine for a short summer holiday stay (being out all day) this is also a good choice

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were in Lausanne for meetings and after a lengthy research online selected this hotel. For the price, it was a very good choice.Good location next to the train station and the subway. We got a relatively (for Europe) large room. Very clean. The kettle with tea and coffee packets was great.Television had over a hundred channels - 10 of them in English. WiFi was free and worked well. We did not try the breakfast - it was not included in our price and seemed too expensive. Instead, we bought pastries at the Migros supermarket down the street and had them with the coffee supplied by the hotel. The only disappointment was that they did not let us check in before 2 pm, although our flight arrived early in the morning and we were very tired. Like all hotels in Lausanne they gave us a free transport card.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Boulevard
Hotel du Boulevard
#29 of 46 in Lausanne
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#22 of 46 in Lausanne
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#17 of 46 in Lausanne
668 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AlaGare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AlaGare

Property: Hotel AlaGare
Address: rue du Simplon 14, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AlaGare 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the train station, in the heart of Lausanne, Hotel AlaGare has recently been renovated to welcome guests in a convivial and comfortable environment. Inspired by the legendary trains of old, the interior decoration creates a unique atmosphere reminiscent of times past ; take this opportunity to admire the miniature electric railway installed in the breakfast room, and activate the Crocodile locomotive and its Rheingold wagons by pressing the red button ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel AlaGare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Alagare Hotel Lausanne
Minotel Hotel Alagare
Minotel Lausanne
Lausanne Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing