We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel AlaGare
Nearby Hotels
$151
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel(Lausanne)(Great Value!)
$130
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$201
$194
Movenpick.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind(Lausanne)(Great Value!)
$198
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Lausanne Palace(Lausanne)
$330
$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chateau d'Ouchy(Lausanne)
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Aulac(Lausanne)
$156
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$498
$465
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
48
96
68
23
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
96
68
23
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodel railwayglass floortrain stationbreakfast roomname suggeststravel cardthemed hotelturn leftluggage roomelectric kettletiny bathroomtea and coffeefree transport cardhotel staymain stationtop floortwin room
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 258 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for one night at the hotel AlaGare during our vacation in France and Switzerland. The hotel is close to the Lausanne trainstation with train and bus connections throughout Switzerland and France, a 45 minutes trainride takes you to Geneva, 20 minutes to Montreux and a 25 minutes ferryride cross the Lake Geneva or Lac Leman as the locals call it, takes you to the nice towns Evian and Thonnon in France - where prices are quite low compared to Switzerlandand, but the ferryride across the lake is quite expensive. The hotel AlaGare provides you with a free ride card for local busses and Metro, so it is quite easy and cheap to get around in Lausanne.
When we arrived to the hotel the lady at the front desk was busy doing something else rather than checking us in, so we had to wait for ten minutes as the only people waiting to get checked in, and have our room. We have never experienced that before! Despite that, she was quite nice when she finally checked us in, and the room and the beds was quite allright and so was the bathroom. We were not bothered by noice from the railway or the street down below, so all in all a good value for the money - especially when you are in Switzerland where they only have to kind of prices, expensive and very expensive.
If you are in Lausanne to visit the Olympic Museum please be aware of, that the museum is closed due to renovation untill the end of 2013. There is a small exhibition on one of the old steamers on the lake right next to the museum - but it is only a small exhibition.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

air conditioning not working, only a fan in the room, desk clerk claimed hotel fully booked, did nothing or even apologise.
big bed takes up most of room, no place to put suitcase without stepping over it.
desk understaffed, just one clerk, who sighs every time I asked a question.
only positive was breakfast, which was good and restaurant staff at breakfast did a good job.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Would be a nice hotel but terribly understaffed. One desk clerk while tour group checking in, had to wait behind them. Rooms not ready by checkin time, had to wait in lobby. NO Air conditioning in room, tho hotel advertised as having it. The then said only some rooms have it. Long wait for elevators, breakfast nice but no place to sit if you go when a tour group is there. Room was tiny, no place to put suitcase and still be able to walk around the bed

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel is close to the railway station and the Metro, so provides easy access to the rest of the city and the old town, which is some distance away. The hotel provides a free transport pass. There is a good buffet breakfast upstairs in a quaint and nicely decorated loft. The room and bed was comfortable, although the bathroom was a little pokey. Tea and coffee making facilities were available, but no fridge. There was some street noise from garbage collectors at about 5 in the morning. Apart from the breakfast lady and the cleaning staff, the reception staff were distant and aloof, but businesslike. Although we didn't eat locally, there were numerous eating places nearby. It is certainly a place I would consider again, although it is a little pricey, but I guess most accommodation in Switzerland is.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms at the back are quieter, although they are near the station.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed here for my first two nights of a fortnight in Switzerland, and fortunately things got better after a rather disappointing stay at this location. The greeting on arrival was rather impersonal, and I had to attract the attention of the clerk who was busy on a computer, and our conversation was interrupted by a phone call which also extended the time to check in. I found a similar issue the following evening when I came to collect my key.

The big benefit of this hotel is how close it is to the station – and unlike a lot of towns the area surrounding the station seems quite normal. You can exit the station on the required side at the lower level – which can also be used to access the metro. The included local transport card is very useful for getting up and down on the metro. The TV had a good range of channels, including the BBC etc, which was useful, but my view was of roofs and plumbing – truly one which encouraged you to keep the curtains closed.

Fortunately all the other hotels I stayed in during my Swiss trip offered a free breakfast, as the proposed cost here deterred me from sampling it – especially as the station is so close, with all that can offer. Later in the day its easy to get to fast food places like McDonalds at the front of the station.

I left reasonably early in the morning, and was rather unsure where to leave my key until I saw a box on the front door – it might have been useful to point this out on the closed reception desk window.

Room Tip: Don't expect a decent view from any room - so get one that faces away from the rail lines.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteAnt2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews