We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in an expensive city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good value in an expensive city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked the hotel on the internet, for a short break. The hotel was clean, the rooms recently refurbished and the location very central for the old town and shops. The hotel is located at the exit of an underground station - 10 meter walk to the lift.

The hotel has coffee making facilities and an international TV for most main European channels. We did not have breakfast as it was pricey, we had pastries from a local bakery and coffee.

The City is very expensive for eating and travel, however some of the sights are worthwhile seeing, including a day trip to France.

Overall, if you have to go to Laussane, City Hotel is good value, however if you are on a short break Austria or Bavaria is much much better value overall than Switzerland.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor facing the road 503 which was Ok, road was quiet late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    85
    56
    27
    18
See reviews for
35
56
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

not really my usual type of hotel, but having planed to come back to bed at 2 am leaving at 8 am i thought it was the ideal place. good location if you plan to visit the old town or the bars around there, not ideal if you want to go to the next trendy part of Lausanne. Service was ok, rooms were clean even though style dates back to the 90ies. i got a reduction on my parking ticket at a nearby parking...but on Sunday there was nobody there to give me my reduction. Considering the low price quality was good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovato, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Beautiful views of the Gothic cathedral from the room, which was pretty clean. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful. Entrance of the hotel there is a metro station. Good quality / price ratio.

Room Tip: Select the front-cathedral side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianluca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband thought he'd be budget conscious and book this hotel for us and our 11 year old son for 2 nights, and also because of it's great location.
A few weeks ago when we were here, we stayed at The Montreux Palace...the type of place we usually stay, and comparatively, this hotel isn't such a bargain, price wise.
Went to get 2 tiny cups of coffee from the dining room this morning (6 SF and they were totally annoyed I dripped some out of the teensy cups.) I was told to 'bring the cups back!!! (With wagging finger.)
The place is clean enough and when the man at the desk does bother to look up from his computer, he's helpful enough...but I'm a grown up and my youth hostel days are long over. I don't travel with a back pack.
I'm now looking for something nicer.

Room Tip: We are in room 505 an the view is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiasso, Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here in September....Found the staff to be pleasant enough. Hotel was easy enough to find - we printed out directions from Google maps. Hotel did seem a little dated, but it was clean enough and perfect for our budget. Bathroom and room was clean, bed was comfy and breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
250 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at hotel city. Our room was in desperate need of refurbishment. The wallpaper was peeling and the decorations very old. The bed was quite uncomfortable and the pillows very thin. We did not have a view. On the plus side they do provide free wifi and we found the staff very helpful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Retired_at_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lausanne hotels

Le Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The gentleman at the reception was pretty unwelcoming but after some gently persuasion he did allow me to have my room early and it had a good view; he did continue to be pretty surly though. The women who worked there were delightful and most helpful and attentive. Breakfast was just OK-ish and served in a nice conservatory. The rooms seemed to have been unchanged since the sixties or seventies; peeling wallpaper, flaking paint and fairly ancient fittings. Dark pinky-red leopard spot carpet everywhere is an unusual choice... Great location by the metro and plenty of shops and cafes nearby, as well as the beautiful cathedral. I would hope to never stay there again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley Philippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#9 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#17 of 46 in Lausanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#18 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Wine by Fassbind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Wine by Fassbind

Property: Swiss Wine by Fassbind
Address: rue Caroline 5, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel City)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss Wine by Fassbind 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss Wine by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing