We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but expensive!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but expensive!”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I only stayed one night and forgot to take pictures except for the grounds. The building with the glass is the reception area and then the rooms are in the surrounding buildings (the other photos). I stayed with a friend and we wanted two single beds, and since the default is one double they quickly came to remake them into two. Basically it seems like most hotels in Switzerland push together two single beds to make a double, there weren't many Queen or King beds. Anyway, so they fixed that right up. The room was nice and pretty cheery. It was described as a courtyard view (as opposed to lake) but this wasn't the main quad, just some outside space. A couple nice features were the TV being played through speakers in the bathroom. Also a nice feature was that the bath was separate from the toilet, which worked well for two friends who both might need the bathroom for different things. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The location was great, right next to the lake, the shockingly clean little metro and stores. We also made use of the spa at the neighboring hotel, which was lovely. It only cost $25 to swim, use the sauna, etc. It was free if you got any of the spa treatments, but those of course were quite expensive. Internet (free) was via ethernet at a big writing desk, no wifi. All in all it was a nice stay for one night, expensive like all of Switzerland.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklynprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    91
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
63
170
37
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Location was great and the rooms were excellent- had automatic window shades with towel warmers. Had garage for parking which is desirable and it is right next to the 5 star Beau Rivage hotel, you can use thier facilities as well. Would stay there again, rooms were first rate. check out their web site- beautiful, lake front views.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quicktraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I agree with all the other reviews that it is situated at a beautiful location and looks very impressive. We had negotiated a room upgrade which was nice, a good size room and bathroom with bath and shower. The outdoor pool was small but lovely and tranquil to sit by.
Unfortunately the service we had did not reflect the high standard we would have expected from this level of hotel. We had to ask 3 times for someone to come and change our bedding throughout the day (due to the bedding being feather based and I have an allergy). Our first request was at 3pm and our last was at 10pm when the receptionist came and completed the job. Instead of getting alternative quilts we were given a blanket and sheet! This was very disappointing given the alternatives that were available in other hotels that we have stayed in during our recent travels.
The service in the restaurant (at the front of the hotel) was very disappointing, after being shown to a table we were not given any drinks menu and no-one came to take our order for food after waiting half an hour for some contact from staff. We walked out in the end.
This level of service seems to be a one-off judging by the other reviews, but a hotel that charges this level of rates should pride itself on a superior level of service at all times.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

The weather was beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed for one night on the way back to the airport, 35 mins away. We were glad of the aircon as all the other hotels we stayed in were airless with it being 34 degrees and humid.
Fabulous meal on the terrace in the italian restaurant overlooking the lake and watching the world go by. The metro, ticket free with the room took us into town. The pool was great to cool off and we had a walk around the beau rivage next door a real gem. I would definatley recommend this hotel for a few nights.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bessywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We initally chose a lake front hotel to avoid the hills of old Lausanne. The Angleterre was great. It may be the "little sister" to the Beau Rivage but is no less a high quality establishment. Staff was most helpful in the hotel and the restaurants. The maitre d' on our first visit spent a good 10 minutes straightening out a mis-billing for us in a most polite, gracious manner. The food in L'Accademia was great. The location can't be beat. We had a 2nd floor room in the older upper building and had a terrific view.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank-n-PatS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

My son and I loved this place. We were in a lovely building; the setting is lovely--right next to the lake; and the room (standard king/two singles, I think) was impeccable: beautiful beds, desk, comfy sofa, electric blinds, soundproof windows, huge bathtub. It was heavenly. The extras are incredibly expensive: CHF 35 per day per Internet, CHF 25 per person for use of the pool next door (very luxurious, though), etc. I recommend joining the "i prefer" loyalty program (www.iprefer.com) before staying here as it is supposed to provide free Internet at least.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

The hotel is beautiful, rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished. Breakfast was very good. The location was convenient for us - at the lake, with the promenade just outside the door, deal for walks with a 9-month old. Tube station just around the corner (if you don't fancy walking uphill to the centre and old town). The Olympic Park is nearby, worth visiting. Nice restaurants all around. In general, great expression.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sharpcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#6 of 46 in Lausanne
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre & Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Property: Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Address: 11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre & Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, facing the Alps and just five minutes from the centre of Lausanne, the Angleterre & Residence, offers a world of refinement, elegance and absolute calm. Divided into six pavilions dating from the 18th, 19th and 21st centuries, this one-of-a-kind hotel features contemporary decor with clean lines within walls steeped in history. The Italian restaurant "L'Accademia" invites you to discover its friendly atmosphere and warm designer decor. The heated outdoor pool at the Angleterre & Residence stands in the midst of a lush green garden and is open in summer. Otherwise, a fitness centre is at your disposal all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angleterre & Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre And Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing