We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here in June, beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. Had a room with balcony, excellent room which was a good size bathroom also very big. Had booked breakfast which had great choice and friendly staff as the weather was good had breakfast outside, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    90
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
58
157
35
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

On an impromptu trip to Lausanne, Switzerland, after the hustle and bustle of staying in the center of Marrakech’s rowdy Medina, we opted for a relaxation spot with all the amenities needed to rejuvenate and just rest easy. Hotel Angleterre was the perfect venue for this. Superbly located in the residential part of Lausanne directly on the shores of Lake Geneva, 5 minutes away from Lausanne’s shopping centre and only 40 minutes from the International Airport Geneva-Cointrin, this place is one of its kind.

The unique concept of the Hotel Angleterre & Résidence occupies six buildings dating from the 18th, 19th and 21st Centuries, all renovated. Pure lines and modern design within historically rich walls create an environment where modernity combines perfectly with tradition. 75 rooms ranging from superior to suite style accommodation await our guests. Direct dial telephone, Wireless Internet access, remote control colour TV and radio, mini-bar, safe and air-conditioning in all rooms.

The views from the hotel is all a tourist to Lake Geneva. The staff were attentive and very friendly, even helping us after we checked out to visit the town of Evian, famous for its bottled mineral water – a short ferry ride from right in front of the hotel. This is truly one of the best hotels to stay in Lausanne!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flight965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

If you're looking for a hotel on Lac Leman don't hesitate to book here. We splashed out by staying here and we weren't disappointed: everything about it is wonderful,friendly and helpful staff, a delicious breakfast, beautiful buildings and grounds - I just can't recommend it enough. You won't be disappointed! And if this is your first trip to Switzerland, you're in for a treat there too: the photos just can not do it justice, it is just stunning!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

First, the area to stay in when in Lausanne is the waterfront. It is so much livelier and prettier than the City Center or the Old City. We rented three rooms at Angleterre; got upgraded to Junior Suites on the top floor. They were like attic rooms with slanted ceilings so that took a bit of ceiling height but it did add charm to the rooms. The windows in these particular rooms were regular windows, not floor to ceiling, but it was nonetheless nice to have some sort of lake view. One of our rooms was a corner and that one had windows on two sides, so lake views on two sides, which was very nice. The rooms were not particularly large for suites but they were certainly good-sized and the bathroom was fairly large and beautiful with a tub. All very clean. The beds and pillows were super comfortable; true King beds. Service was really impressive - warm, friendly, helpful. The staff was just really great. Arne, at reception, upgraded our rooms and on check-out, waived the parking fee for our car without our asking. We felt that we received Beau Rivage Hotel service for the Angleterre rates. There is a great boulangerie practically next door where we ate breakfast and there is also a Coop grocery store across the street. We'd definitely stay at Angleterre again if ever back in Lausanne.

Room Tip: Splurge for a room with lake view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supermom94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was our last stop of a 2-week trip to Switzerland & a perfect place to stay in Lausanne! We loved the location, service, ammenities, VIEW... Room was large, comfortable and decorated in an updated french country style which perfectly fits its location. We paid a little extra for a lakeview superior room and it was totally worth it! We had a room on the top floor of the building farthest from the road. The charming view from the balcony overlooking the lake & distant Evian (France) was suberb. It was so wonderful, we had room service for dinner one night just because we couldn't imagine a prettier setting! And, the room service dinner was fabulous! Another plus is it's connection to the fancy Beau Rivage next door - we enjoyed utilizing the helpful and friendly concierge staff there. They do have parking which is nice if you have a car. The staff was fabulous, from our friendly greeting by Sandra to everyone else we encountered. Easy walk to lakefront & metro station. Air conditioning was appreciated! One caveat - breakfast is very pricey. If you can book a package including breakfast, you probably should. There is a very good bakery just around the corner though - after paying too much for their buffet breakfast the first morning, we went to the bakery for goodies & brought them back to our balcony the other mornings. If you are in Lausanne, stay here!!!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to confirm lakeview & ask for upper floors. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSacramento_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Follow in the footsteps of British poet, Lord Byron, as you relax in the upscale pavilions of Hotel Angleterre. There are other historic hotels in the vicinity, that have welcomed more recent dignitaries, at an exorbitant cost, but we were very pleased with the Angleterre. Granted, the price was more than we would normally pay for a night's stay, but then again, this is right on Lake Geneva. The hotel has a very nice pool, an underground parking garage on site (additional cost, but well worth it), and five comfortable buildings. Because of the literary connections - it was here that Lord Byron penned his famous poem, "The Prisoner of Chillon," after visiting the lakeside castle - I asked for a room in the original building. It may have been standing in the early 1800's, when Byron was visiting, but it is quite modern inside. The air conditioning was great, and the beds quite comfortable. By booking way ahead of time and explaining my interest in the poet, they gave us a room overlooking the lake, one floor above where Byron stayed. The staff was very considerate and helpful, offering visitors travel tips. The young lady who showed us to our room honestly apologized for not being able to put us in the exact room used by Lord Byron, as another couple had booked it previously. When we went up to the desk to find out the location for the nearest ATM machine (directly across from the parking garage), she even knew us by our last name. You don't see that level of service in most hotels, yet it was both comfortable and unpretentious. Splurge, stay at the Hotel Angleterre!.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We only had a few quick hours in Switzerland and this was a perfect place to spend them. The rooms were very nice and had everything we needed. They were quite large for European standards.
The front desk was so accommodating. They helped us with restaurants, maps and tourist information. We ate at the Swiss Chalet which was very, well, Swiss. Fondue, rochlette, all was delicious.
We took bikes our for a ride to the cathedral and then zoomed back to the lake. We felt like the tour de france.
Breakfast at the restaurant down by the water was just magical! It was a beautiful day and we ate with the mountains and lake as our view. The birds were very cute ... and aggressive! Hold on to your croissants!
Loved this place ... would Love to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatbob208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#9 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre & Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Property: Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Address: 11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre & Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, facing the Alps and just five minutes from the centre of Lausanne, the Angleterre & Residence, offers a world of refinement, elegance and absolute calm. Divided into six pavilions dating from the 18th, 19th and 21st centuries, this one-of-a-kind hotel features contemporary decor with clean lines within walls steeped in history. The Italian restaurant "L'Accademia" invites you to discover its friendly atmosphere and warm designer decor. The heated outdoor pool at the Angleterre & Residence stands in the midst of a lush green garden and is open in summer. Otherwise, a fitness centre is at your disposal all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Preferred Hotels, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Angleterre & Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre And Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing