We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and pleasant hotel with good combination of price and quality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Nice and pleasant hotel with good combination of price and quality!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in Lausanne - one in this hotel and one in Chateau d'ouchy, which is located next door to this one. The hotel has a very good location, close to harbor, where you can take a ferry around the lake. Angleterre & residence has a large territory with a small but nice swimming pool where you can enjoy yourself. The hotel itself consists of several blocks. We had a room not in the main building, but it was nice, overlooking the inner garden. The room was rather big for Swiss standards:) the stuff at the reception was very nice, offered to pay all the expenses in advance and didn't block any amount from the credit card. The breakfast was quite good, restaurant overlooking the lake. We enjoyed this place and will definitely stay there once again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    91
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
63
170
37
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Good property, good staff! We had an infant and they helped us with our baby food. Always willing to offer a solution to simplify our stay. Located next to beau de ravage. Offers good lake views from the suite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have to travel to Lausanne every month with work, and to date have always stayed at the Movenpick, which is an excellent hotel. However this time I fancied a change, which was the right move.

On arrival the hotel already feels a little less corporate than others in Lausanne, in a good way, it has the air of French villa. I was shown to my room which was massive and had a lovely terrace which looked out over a pristine green with the mountains in the background. I didn’t have breakfast either morning but I did eat twice, once with room service and once in the Italian restaurant. The restaurant was very good, great choice, well cooked food and very good service. Not cheap but then not a lot in Lausanne is.

Whilst I love the Movenpick I came out of this business strip feeling much more relaxed than normal, and that is largely thanks to this lovely hotel. If it is sunny it also has the benefit of an outdoor pool.

If the cost is right then this will definitely be the hotel that I pick next time I am in Lausanne

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGooner81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusnacht, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is located right at the lake. Amazing view of lake and french alps. Very friendly service and extremely helpful staff. Clean and bright rooms. Hey, and there is a - unheated - pool, which we very much wanted to use but had no chance to as temperatures were too low.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed two nights in August, 2013, at this Lausanne hotel. It is as nice a place to stay as I have ever experienced. It has understated elegance and a secluded feeling due to its interior courtyards. It is an extremely comfortable place to stay. I didn't go inside the next-door Beau Rivage, but I wouldn't have traded my hotel and room for anything else in Lausanne or many other places. The staff is highly professional and the front desk personnel were outstanding in every way.

My junior suite was spacious. It had a love seat, two armchairs, a coffee table and lots of closet and storage space. Tall windows made it a bright room. It was appealingly decorated with beautiful hardwood floors. The hotel and room were quiet. Air conditioning was excellent with precise temperature control and no blasts of air. Wifi internet access was free and good. The bed was excellent.

The large tiled bath had a walk-in shower with excellent controls and lots of hot water.

The breakfast buffet was good, but not outstanding. It cost 34 CHF.

I had excellent meals at three restaurants in the Angleterre/Beau Rivage hotel pairing. The highlight was the Japanese restaurant where I had a world-class sushi lunch. I couldn't get a dinner reservation at the Japanese restaurant which is small, but lunch was an excellent alternative. I had dinner at the French restaurant and at the Italian restaurant and both were fully satisfactory.

The front desk presented a free transit pass that made riding the Metro very easy. A boat ride to Evian on the south shore of the lake made a pleasant outing. The boat trip takes about half an hour.

The entrance to the hotel is easy to miss because it is via a narrow driveway connecting to Avenue d'Ouchy which is not the hotel address. But this contributes to the hotel's seclusion.

I would have liked to stay much longer at this very pleasant place. I will not consider any other hotel if I return to Lausanne.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipster2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Situated right on the waterfront of Lake Geneva, this hotel offered almost everything one could require - separate toilet (quite rare), modern bathroom and spacious room, lots of cupboard space, bath robes & slippers, L'Occitane toiletries and tea & coffee making facilities. Close to the Metro,the ferry port and many restaurants this hotel was within easy walking of everything worth doing. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake and mountain view (i.e. facing the waterfront) are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a few nights. It was a last minute booking so didn't have much time to research. Firstly we were upgraded to a room with a balcony with the interconnecting room. Our view was spectacular, overlooking lake geneva!
The rooms were spacious and very clean!
The pool was small but perfect for relaxing in the hot weather.
The hotel is located perfectly in the port area, with loads of restaurant to choose from.
All in all we had a great time and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lausanne.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandarinYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.0 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre & Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Property: Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Address: 11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre & Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, facing the Alps and just five minutes from the centre of Lausanne, the Angleterre & Residence, offers a world of refinement, elegance and absolute calm. Divided into six pavilions dating from the 18th, 19th and 21st centuries, this one-of-a-kind hotel features contemporary decor with clean lines within walls steeped in history. The Italian restaurant "L'Accademia" invites you to discover its friendly atmosphere and warm designer decor. The heated outdoor pool at the Angleterre & Residence stands in the midst of a lush green garden and is open in summer. Otherwise, a fitness centre is at your disposal all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angleterre & Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre And Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing