We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wonderful hotel, service and location. If you want relaxation with style, this is the place to be. Rooms very spacious with all modern amenities. Swiss take pride in ensuring the very best quality. beds are extremely comfortable. Lake views are spectacular overlooking the French alps? Relaxed and everything you want at your fingertips.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    91
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
63
170
37
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Clean snooty hotel. Complimentary parking and local transport unlimited pass. Small rooms. Timed room service. Stingy on soap etc. expensive. Limited menu for room service. Unheard pool. Great location on the lake. But that's about it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soixanteneuf69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

the hotel overlooks the lake with stunning views, modern hotel well thought out, apart from a few too many steps here and there. Staff very helpful over and above the call of duty, breakfast excellent, beds and rooms well appointed. Highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a BEAUTIFUL hotel in a GREAT area with an extremely friendly and helpful staff. The room was spotless and spacious and full of amenities. The breakfast was excellent. The COMPLIMENTARY wireless internet was fast and they allowed for connection of up to 5 devices. A GREAT stop for both business and leisure travelers. I can't wait to come back again. Hopefully we will be able to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTourYetAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel lived up to its reputation as a family friendly unpretentious luxury hotel. Our lake view junior suite was set up with a real and very pretty crib (a far cry from a Pack n' Play!) for our 13-month-old and a very comfortable twin extra bed for our 3-1/2-year-old. Even with these two extra beds, the room was comfortably spacious. And the soundproofing! I am a fairly light sleeper and was impressed by how little sound we heard from guests in surrounding rooms--even overhead--and from the delivery trucks that used the little street in between the Angleterre & Residence and Beau Rivage. As a traveling family, this also meant that we could relax and not have to worry too much about our little ones disturbing guests in the adjoining rooms.

The hotel staff was quite nearly perfect: we were always warmly greeted with smiles at reception, at breakfast in the restaurant, and by the maid and bell services. The front desk staff was ready to help with all of our requests: train times, reservations, babysitters, and advice.

As several other reviewers have noted, the Angleterre & Residence is the sister property of the spectacular Beau Rivage and guests have access to the Beau Rivage facilities. That being said, when I asked for the nearest playgrounds, the front desk person did not mention the one on the grounds of the Beau Rivage, but directed me to the public one across the street and when dining at the Beau Rivage the next evening, we asked about a children's play area on the hotel grounds, we were told by the maitre d' who had called the concierge that it was only open for Sunday brunch. I was in the spa the following day and saw a beautiful playground just off the path that led from the spa/pool to the tennis courts. I found it hard to believe that it was reserved only for Sundays though it was indeed unused at the time I was there. I don't think it was a problem of communication as my husband is French and asked about it in French. A small mystery.

Speaking of the spa, a small side note here: the spa facilities are gorgeous and guests should definitely take advantage of them. However, I cannot recommend the Cinq Mondes spa for massage. There are a lot of unqualified masseurs in even the best reputed hotels of the world, and I experienced one of the more unqualified here. A total waste of time and money. I had a similar experience at the Cinq Mondes spa in Paris where we live. Either I've had very bad luck both times or Cinq Mondes hires poorly.

One downside for families traveling with very little ones: the hotel consists of a series of smaller buildings distributed on a sloping hill. Stairs must be navigated to access most any (all?) of the buildings from the hotel reception or street entrances which meant that we stored our stroller in the car, taking it out when we wanted to go for a stroll. Had we asked, they may well have kept our stroller for us at reception as indeed they did on the day we had a babysitter, but I couldn't bear to see our stroller marring the neat and tidy reception area!

Other small issues: I did see the spiders in between the windows and the shutters mentioned by one reviewer, but the maid cleaned the webs out from one day to the next. Perhaps the maids are kept too busy on spider web detail now or perhaps it was a water conservation effort, but the floor of our bathroom was not mopped one time during our 5-day stay as the residue of a small dollop of toothpaste that I'd wiped off with a dry tissue on our first night attested to. The room did look clean and there was nothing to indicate that they were not thoroughly cleaned in between guests, so perhaps I am being too niggling. Finally, the pillows! While they were down and feather pillows, they had little loft left in them. In fairness, I did not mention it or request a different pillow and I assume that if I had, a suitable solution would have been found.

Overall, we had a resoundingly positive experience and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,338 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,720 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is the where Lord Byron stayed when he was in Lausanne (at that time it was the Hôtel de l'Ancre), so I went in for a beer and a look. It's changed a lot since 1816, of course, but it's still pretty impressive, and the Lausanne ladies having lunch in the restaurant, with small white dogs under the tables, looked just as aristocratic as one imagines guests were in Byron's day. Good beer, and friendly, professional service.

Byron and Shelley used to go sailing on the lake. (Once a storm blew up and Shelley, who couldn't swim, was nearly drowned.) I wonder if they used to hire a boat from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is in a great location by the lake in Lausanne. The staff were all super, room great. Nothing bad at all. Definitely recommend it. Only a four star too. Breakfast was really good. We were on the third floor so small windows under the roof but to say we were on the main tourist drag in Lausanne, the traffic noise was almost none existant.

Room Tip: Lake view are obviously fantastic. Slept like a log.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helensheffield66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.0 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre & Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Property: Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Address: 11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Family Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre & Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, facing the Alps and just five minutes from the centre of Lausanne, the Angleterre & Residence, offers a world of refinement, elegance and absolute calm. Divided into six pavilions dating from the 18th, 19th and 21st centuries, this one-of-a-kind hotel features contemporary decor with clean lines within walls steeped in history. The Italian restaurant "L'Accademia" invites you to discover its friendly atmosphere and warm designer decor. The heated outdoor pool at the Angleterre & Residence stands in the midst of a lush green garden and is open in summer. Otherwise, a fitness centre is at your disposal all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angleterre & Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre And Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing