We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable With Room to Improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
98 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Comfortable With Room to Improve”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were blessed with a rather large room, by European standards, which was a pleasant surprise. The pillows were quite comfortable and the very cozy duvet was a very nice and much appreciated plus.

Situated on the lake the hotels offers a pleasant view, assuming that you have a lakeside room. The lake side location can be a pro or a con depending upon your disposition. On the plus side it’s quite quiet and peaceful and conducive to walking both along the lake promenade as well as to the town centre, which is about a good half hour walk. The hotel also offers free, daily, metro (subway) passes for all local forms of public transit (bus and subway).

The windows of the room were an unusual configuration of double glass, which provided excellent noise reduction and made for very quiet evenings and sleeps, which was a nice bonus. On the other hand the bellhops are scarce and one has to wait or be lucky to be helped with ones luggage although the front desk (female) staff member offered to help I must admit I felt uncomfortable asking her to do so with my rather heavy luggage.

The soap dish in the shower quickly filled with water and did not have holes in it for the water to drain away nor did it rotate to allow the pouring off of the excess water. As a result my bar of soap quickly became a mushy blob and was left as such by the maid, which I found surprising. In addition the water drained very slowly from the bathroom sink forcing my wife , on more than one occasion, to brush her teeth in the bathtub, which really is silly to have to resort to given the 4 star rating of this hotel.

Liquid soap was scarce and was often not replaced to the amount needed for two people who like to bath in the morning and before bed.

I find it interesting that the lobby of the hotel is located in a separate building to the main hotel. This sort of disconnect seems to have influenced the connection between the hotel and the needs of its clients. Hopefully the managers of the hotel will read this review and improve their services. In summary a decent hotel offering comfort with room for improvement. If this review has been of help to you then please be so kind as to click the appropriate link to indicate so. Thank you and happy travels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimboBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaurivagepalace, Manager at Angleterre & Residence Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear JimboBerlin,
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We took good note of your remarks concerning the bellhops, the problem with the soaps and the water. If you haven’t indicated the problem with the water during your check-out, we would be glad if you could contact us and give us the room number in order to solve this technical problem.
Concerning the lobby in another building it is important to know that our hotel consists of 5 houses in total. The reception building has one lobby, as well as the Angleterre and the Lutetia building. Therefore our guests have three different lobbies at their choice.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    90
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
153
35
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I enjoyed every bit of my stay here. The restaurants are lovely. The Beau Rivage is next door and the front desk will make reservations for you to dine there and also use the basic amenities at the spa (which you don't have to pay for). This property is on the lake and if you enjoy a good afternoon walk, this is it. Walk along the lake into the center of town and back. The concierge is lovely and very attentive except that they forgot to wake me up the morning I was leaving. I would have missed my flight had it not been for the limo driver calling me on my cell phone. I would like to think that was an oversight. As was the fact that they did not change the towels and replenish the toiletries on time. The rooms are spacious though poorly decorated. But I tend to be a little harsh when it comes to room decor because I am in the design business myself and some things seem very basic to me. Such as tones, textures and furniture arrangement where attention to detail can overcome everything. The most basic materials and furnishings can be very pleasing with proper attention to detail. That being said, the beds are comfortable, the windows are sound proof and the lighting is alright. I would go back there if for some reason the Palace and spa hotel was sold out. I love that hotel. It's not on the lake but it is fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truthserum26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This may be the cheaper option on the Ouchy lake shore when compared to the over-the-top prices next door, but it is still top notch. I booked a superior lake view room and was upgraded to a Junior Suite. It is always difficult to give an unbiased review if you get more than what you paid for, but I will try.

The suite is VERY spacious, with excellent facilities (walk-in closet, stunning bathroom, all equipment and decorations are top class). Great views on Lake Geneva, and the windows do have electronic shutters if the "light" bothers you (like some other reviewers complained - imagine that!). Very comfortable study area with good wifi connection, well equipped for business travellers.

Very helpfull staff, especially the young man at reception. Ferries just across the road. Good connection to the city with the Metro around the corner (2 min on foot). Short taxi ride to the main rail station.

My only complaint: very expensive breakfeast, totally overpriced. Try the pancake shop next door, which is much better value.

Final word of advice: beware of the free transport card that the hotel give you. I was inspected on the Metro by an army of three inspectors and not one of them knew what it was or recognised it. Fortunately I also had my Swiss Pass on me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bolander_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
218 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wonderful staff in this luxurous hotel. Comfortable bed with top quality bedding and towels. It could be very dark with remote blinds and peacefully quiet. Excellent bathroom with unique flooring and plush towels. Great umbrellas provided on a rainy day. We had a spacious room and efficient elevator access. I liked the interior designs they were very modern and interesting in all the community areas. It was an easy walk to commute up to the old town for touring and a pleasant stroll to the water front with plenty to do and see including the Olympic museum and boating tours, gardens, giant chess games and intriguing wind/weather vanes to photograph. Parking was simple and safe on the premises.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have stayed in a few hotels in Lausanne when there on regular business trips. I think this is the best. Ideal location on the lake, very pleasant room, the restaurant is very good - expensive but no more than anything in Switzerland. Staff everywhere are delightful and helpful (not always the case among the Swiss). There is a good Thai and also a pizza place around the corner which are good alternatives if you are on a budget. The walks in both directions along the lake a very attractive and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lobnya, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Enjoyed three excellent nights in this beautiful hotel,

it's located in very good place, near the lake with quick access to public transportation in Laussane - Ouchy.

Service is absolutely imazing, and the hotel is very nice with the Xmas preparations

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimpru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great hotel. Sibling of the Beau Rivage.
I stayed at a renovated room, very comfortable, with view to the lake. Very nice classical design.
You have access to the Beau Rivage which has exceptional services and food but I would say the rooms here are nicer, fresher and much more comfortable.
Breakfast is quite average though, but there is a little cafe/boulangerie next door that is not bad at all.
Exceptional service.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelSpy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#8 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre & Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Property: Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Address: 11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre & Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, facing the Alps and just five minutes from the centre of Lausanne, the Angleterre & Residence, offers a world of refinement, elegance and absolute calm. Divided into six pavilions dating from the 18th, 19th and 21st centuries, this one-of-a-kind hotel features contemporary decor with clean lines within walls steeped in history. The Italian restaurant "L'Accademia" invites you to discover its friendly atmosphere and warm designer decor. The heated outdoor pool at the Angleterre & Residence stands in the midst of a lush green garden and is open in summer. Otherwise, a fitness centre is at your disposal all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angleterre & Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre And Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing