We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week went so quick!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Muntinlupa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One week went so quick!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Location of the hotel is very ideal...across Train station, front of the bus stop and just beside Metro. Very accessible but a bit noisy. You just have to get used to it. Anyway, at night time Lausanne sleeps early. Hotel staff and service is not that impressive... or maybe it has something to do with the culture?

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bluetteberna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for your feedback in TripAdvisor. Hope to have the possibility to welcome you back in our Hotel in order to “show you our real face” concerning our service!
Please feel free to contact me and in the meanwhile please accept my best regards
Yannis Gerassimidis – Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    257
    105
    23
    5
See reviews for
46
102
91
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel is located just in front of the main train station in Lausanne, Switzerland.
It is very convenient to finish the working day, get out from the train and 2min later you're in the room.
I got a room at the 1st floor which was tiny. from the bed-end side to the wall - there were only 40cm - so it is very difficult to cross the room from side to side.
The WiFi was very slow and every morning did not work at all (I spent 3 nights at this hotel)
The bathroom was OK, clean and tidy with a great shower (not bath)
The TV functioned really bad - slowly moving channels and you have to go through a unique menu to operate it.
Breakfast was OK (not more); Impolite waiters with no willingness to assist (I came in the morning and there was no available table)
It took more then an hour to bring an iron to the room.

All in all the location is really great and room is fairly clean - so if you're on business tour and looking for convenient and a place to sleep - this is a good one.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room (maybe on top floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaniv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The price of the accommodation is only justified by the very convenient (for some) location, just across the road in front of the main railways station, and a few strides away from the city centre. My room was minuscule; clean (yes: we are in Switzerland), yet not odourless. It was located on the back of the building on the first floor with a window well below the level of the ground. Rooms on the front and/or on higher floors may be better, but the combination of size and view on a parking lot from below made mine suffocating. Continental breakfast was included in the price of the room in my case. They charged 10 extra CHF for a buffet that only consisted of poorly cooked scrambled eggs, a not very varied fresh-fruit salad, and cheap anonymous cheese. Wifi was not working the first day, and working irregularly the second day.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the building on the first floor are below the level of the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stehbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Hotel is located right next to Lausanne railway station, staff is very helpful and friendly. Rooms are well equipped including a good wifi access, and bathrooms are just renovated, although a bit smallish. Coffee machine was available at corridor. Breakfast was a real disappointment with only croissants, juices, yogurt and coffee/tea being available. On the following morning I noticed another table, where eggs, ham & bacon was served at 10 francs extra cost. Hotel with this kind of room price should serve a proper breakfast to begin with!

Room Tip: Rooms not facing railway station are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arzzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Good hotel in good location with friendly staff

it is being updated so will be better later in the year

just make sure when you go breakfast you realise there is two parts to it else you might miss the eggs, ham and cheese like we did!!!

Room Tip: ask for a high up room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaDerby12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comments in TripAdvisor following your recent stay in our Hotel.
Concerning the breakfast, it’s true that our clients can choose between 3 type of offers as we try to satisfy if possible all our guest and even those who would just like to have a coffee and a croissant without being obliged to pay too much!
Hope to have the possibility to welcome you back soon and in the meanwhile please accept my bets regards
Yannis Gerassimidis – Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

In many other cities you would expect to pay somewhere around $100-$120 (US dollars) for this type of hotel close to the main railway station. But Switzerland prices are significantly higher, and the 200CHF that I paid for one night actually represents reasonable value in this area. Nice and clean, friendly, free wifi (but it was struggling significantly with backhaul issues in the evening).

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment.

Apparently there are various breakfast options, which wasn't made clear to me. A pity- as I don't have a sweet tooth and the only options that I found were the "continental" type bread and jam / honey and sweet cereals.

One gripe. There is a kettle in the room but no instant coffee. There is a Nespresso machine out in the landing; you need to use a pod for this - the pods are in the mini-bar in the room and you have to pay for them. Even in the most basic hotel there is normally free coffee - and having to get dressed to go out to get my morning coffee... well - not an attractive thought!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the station may be a little noisy, the rooms towards the back of the hotel don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for the time spent in order to write your comments in TripAdvisor following your recent stay in our Hotel! Your remarks help us to improve our services in order to satisfy the highest possible number of our guests.
Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in another occasion and prove that your comments have been takes seriously!
With my best regards - Yannis Gerassimidis – Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Good location and adequate room for business trip that i was one. had to change rooms and was treated well by the staff when changing. location is best value so far as near the train and i could rush out for early morning meetings

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#15 of 46 in Lausanne
674 reviews
0.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Lausanne

Property: Hotel Continental Lausanne
Address: place de la Gare 2, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#8 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental welcomes you in the center of the French speaking part of Switzerland and only few minutes from the beautiful Lac Leman. 116 Spacious rooms offer state of the art comfort finished off with free WIFI in the entire hotel, as well as a free bottle of mineral water upon arrival. NEW ! Free and direct access to the new space of Fitness The hotel's Cafe-restaurant "Le pain Quotidien" is a offering light dishes. Since May 2014 enjoy five brand new meeting rooms, equipped with modern projection technology and designed by an experienced hotel interior designer. Welcome to the center of French speaking Switzerland. Welcome to your 4 star Hotel Continental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Continental Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Swiss q Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing