We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Bologna, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights for businnes. the location is perfect, in front of the train station and very well connected to EPFL by means of the metro. The hotel also gives you a ticket for all the public transposrt so you do not have to care of buying tickets at the machines. The staff is very nice and very efficient to solve any problem you can have with your room.
Good breackasft with many choices of bread, pastries, yogurt, eggs and cheese.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your comments in TripAdvisor, following your recent stay in our Hotel!
It helps us a lot to have such positive comments as my collaborators try afterwards to be even more efficient in their tasks!
Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and in the meanwhile please accept my best regards

Yannis Gerassimidis – Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    257
    105
    23
    5
See reviews for
46
102
91
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Excellent location, directly opposite the train station and next to the metro. Staff were friendly. The room (a double classic comfort) was clean, spacious and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was good too.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakingBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time spent and your kind feedback in TRIPADVISOR!
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at the CONTINENTAL Hotel!

Yannis Gerassimidis – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel with good service and good food. It is also just across the road from the railway station. It was very pleasant to be able to walk across to Lac Leman and then along the promenade with an ice cream (how common) after a long journey. The room itself was on the small side but nevertheless comfortable and we did not have any disturbance with external noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
It was very nice to read your comments in TRIPADVISOR concerning your stay in our Hotel! We thank you very much for your time spent and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me in order to predict a larger room for your next stay with us!
Yannis Gerassimidis – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We needed 1 night before going to the airport for our trip home after a month in Switzerland. This hotel was extremely convenient to the train station. The rooms were clean, although on small side. Shower was excellent. Toilet seat was a bit odd as it was terribly uncomfortable. Outside noise was dimmed by the closed windows. The AC unit was annoying as it blew cold air all night. The front desk was helpful. This hotel is expensive even to swiss standards.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments in TRIPADVISOR, concerning your recent stay in our Hotel! It’s very important to get such comments which help us to improve our services! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and this time to let you choose a different room which could fit better for you and in the meanwhile, please accept my best regards
Yannis Gerassimidis – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

the hotel has an excellent location in Lausanne, with a nice view of the Lac Léman. The architeture style and furniture is from the 50s. It has a good breakfast service and provides the customers with a transportation ticket to be used in the public service of Lausanne.

Room Tip: you'd rather have a room with view to the Leman lake, which is wonderful by the time of sunset/b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulo_fernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was very nice to read your positive comments concerning our Hotel and services. I take this opportunity in order to inform you that in a few months the “new face” of our Hotel will be a reality. After the complete renovation of our 116 rooms, the front desk area as well as the upper floor and meeting rooms will be updated too!
Looking forward to welcome you again soon at our Hotel.
Yannis Gerassimidis – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

good location, but at night too noisy due to people having fun near railway station... clean, furnityre is not old. easy to reach the city center and the lake shore- metro is nearby, public transport tickets are given at reception

Room Tip: too noisy outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikhail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the time spent in order to give your feedback in TRIPADISOR following your stay in our Hotel. We have taken notice of your comments and we would like to suggest - next time you visit us - one of our rooms situated on the back side of our building where even if you leave your window open, there is absolutely no noise! I have to underline that our rooms in the front are all equipped with soundproof windows and it’s very rare that our clients are disturbed from the noise except if they leave them open!

Hope to welcome you back again soon at our Hotel.

Yannis Gerassimidis – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Continental hotel is located very conveniently - next to main train station and it is main advantage (they have low cost car park - valet parking as well). Hotel itself is little bit outdated but in general cannot complaint. Standard single room is very tiny and difficult to walk around the bed so that pulls down my scoring to average. I like atmosphere in the hotel but may agree some people will not appreciate that. Staff is very supportive and nice

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maciej Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive - in general - feedback in TRIPADISOR following your stay in our Hotel. The undersigned would be happy to show you a different type of room, much larger, in which you can be accommodated next time you visit us!
Looking forward to your message to: manager@hotelcontinental.ch.

Yannis Gerassimidis – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#15 of 46 in Lausanne
674 reviews
0.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Lausanne

Property: Hotel Continental Lausanne
Address: place de la Gare 2, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#8 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental welcomes you in the center of the French speaking part of Switzerland and only few minutes from the beautiful Lac Leman. 116 Spacious rooms offer state of the art comfort finished off with free WIFI in the entire hotel, as well as a free bottle of mineral water upon arrival. NEW ! Free and direct access to the new space of Fitness The hotel's Cafe-restaurant "Le pain Quotidien" is a offering light dishes. Since May 2014 enjoy five brand new meeting rooms, equipped with modern projection technology and designed by an experienced hotel interior designer. Welcome to the center of French speaking Switzerland. Welcome to your 4 star Hotel Continental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Continental Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Swiss q Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing