We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Right across from the station, good check-in experience. Room overlooking station, but not noisy. Major problem with in-room safe - would not work. Prompt attention by staff, but even he could not fix, despite trying several "fixes". Offered change of room to one with working safe, but none with view available, so lived with non-functioning safe. Single room was adequate, but very little space between end of bed and wall made for careful (very) movement. Bed was comfortable, room and bathroom was very clean. Breakfast was good. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doxby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 527 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed 3 nights, everything absolutely perfect - multi lingual front desk staff very friendly and helpful; huge room, execelent bathroom, superb breakfast - perfect location, just across railroad station. Room perfectly clean, absolutely well kept, nice amenities - in short, an excelent choice!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubens G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located just in front of the main railway station and walking distance from the old town. The breakfast is quite decent and I loved their huge nespresso machine.
On the other hand, my biggest issue with this hotel was the really hard and unconfortable bed, as well as non adjustable room temperature. I totally agree with the last comment. My room was a sauna and I had to regularly open the window to cool it down.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the1travelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Arrived 9pm to find room +25C, told the air conditioning had been turned-off for the summer and if I wanted to cool the room then open the window...when over looking the busiest street in Lausanne! It was like sleeping in a sauna! Don't stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malesherbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Sir,
Following your comments and our phone conversation, I would like once more to underline how sorry I am for the bad experience you had during the night you’ve stayed in our Hotel! It’s true that the air-conditioning was not working as according to the weather forecast the temperature should not go over 15C.
Independently to that, our staff at the front desk should find an alternative offering you another room on an upper floor where all rooms have permanent air-conditioning and not give an answer as you mention in your comments!
Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in another occasion at our Hotel and show you our real “face” which is the one described in most of the other comments in TripAdvisor!
Yannis Gerassimidis, Gen. Manager – Continental Hotel Lausanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here 3 times over a period of 2 weeks. Very convenient location and they only charge 7CHF for parking.
Same room each time which was nice. The room, a junior suite was large with a king sized bed (two twins put together?) and a sofa that makes into a bed. Nothing remarkable but nothing wrong either. Good use a facelift, for sure! Breakfast is great and included in our room price...though if you have extra people, it's a little spendy for breakfast....I think about 23 CHF.
Staff is nice and when there was a problem with the bill, it was worked out quickly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caldwell4az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent location just opposite of the Main Railway station, excellent service, rooms, and not to forget, the breakfast.

Just a few metres to the Metro, connecting to all facilities in Lausanne, and a free bus/metro/train ticket for one day per night at the hotel, made it easy to move around in Lausanne and the nearest surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_Biri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great location directly across from train station.
Good price, I couldn't find a better price for anything like this hotel or location.
Great Wifi, very speedy.
Clean spacious room, comfortable room.
Quiet, but we didn't have a street side room, so don't know if that would be worse.
Downstairs there's a quiet little bar perfect for a night cap.
Continental breakfast included was fine, not great, but unexpectedly included with the room.

The front desk staff were extremely helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LL_in_NoVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
4.2 mi away
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
#1 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
891 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Starling Hotel Lausanne
Starling Hotel Lausanne
#1 of 4 in Saint Sulpice
273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 45 in Lausanne
436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Lausanne

Address: place de la Gare 2, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#8 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: $134 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental welcomes you in the center of the French speaking part of Switzerland and only few minutes from the beautiful Lac Leman. 116 Spacious rooms offer state of the art comfort finished off with free WIFI in the entire hotel, as well as a free bottle of mineral water upon arrival. NEW ! Free and direct access to the new space of Fitness The hotel's Cafe-restaurant "Le pain Quotidien" is a offering light dishes. Since May 2014 enjoy five brand new meeting rooms, equipped with modern projection technology and designed by an experienced hotel interior designer. Welcome to the center of French speaking Switzerland. Welcome to your 4 star Hotel Continental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Continental Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Swiss q Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing