We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelllent hotel, service and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Continental Lausanne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excelllent hotel, service and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and were very pleased with this hotel. It was better than expected. The rooms were very modern, spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpfull. The location is accross the street from the Lausanne train station and just a few steps away from the Metro. The breakfast buffett was excellent with a very wide variety of items to choose from each morning. Everything in Switzerland is expensive so the value that you receive at this hotel (comfort, location, breakfast, security) is well worth the price. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    242
    98
    21
    5
See reviews for
44
95
88
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We can only say good things about this hotel. Stayed for three nights and loved every minute. The room was very quiet which was good. Very spacious too. Close to the train station and the metro which we used everyday to get to the shops and the lake to swim. The hotel staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Breakfast was quite possibly the best we experienced over the many hotels we stayed at in europe. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJMMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed two nights in this hotel, for business purposes, and it was ok. The rooms are big enough and quite comfortable, service is really charming and willing to help, breakfast has a wide variety of things to choose. The worst thing is the price, but I assume it's in line with the cost of the life in Switzerland. In general, I would recommend this hotel if you want to be well located (there's a metro station that takes you everywhere on the city and the train station to go to Geneva or Zurich, both just one minute from the hotel).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roburetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Having read the previous reviews about this hotel, we requested a quiet room. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Room is spacious enough for 3 of us and with air-conditioning. Breakfast is good. The price is affordable. Same price as the hotel we stayed in Brig but quality is a lot better.

Room Tip: Must ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel is immediately across the screen from the train station and next to a metro stop. It is an easy walk to all parto of town or you can use the provided transport card for free public transportation. Antonio Nunes, the front desk manager, was particularly helpful in providing good information, an extra room key so that I could charge my electrical devices while I was out, and wireless Internet connection information. The breakfast includes traditional items including hot eggs and bacon. I would stay here again. There are excellent rates available through discount Internet booking sites.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

old structure but internaly is completly renewed. Very confortable, clean and elegant.
The position is very strategic: in front of the rail station and next to the door you have the metro.

The breakfast is OK. Good choice but not astonishing.

What you pay is not cheap, but price-performance ratio is accetable

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

An impression of grand ole opulence springs to mind for Lausanne Hotels and this one is the same
I had a bad start to this hotel as everything seemed to fall apart that I touched
The shower in the bathroom is pathetic it points directly over your head and means having to reduce power to get wet!
Then the plug cap in the bath fell off
The TV had nosound and the colours all were strange

It sinfuriating to get to any English channels but if you persevere you can do it
Down in the breakfast room the cereal bowl top had no hinges and came away in my hands

I had a junior suite and it was impossible to watch the TV whilst sitting on the sofa bad room design

Positives

I like the Nespresso machines and the staff are very friendly
With a slight exception of the baldy one behind reception

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masspecguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#16 of 46 in Lausanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#23 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Lausanne

Property: Hotel Continental Lausanne
Address: place de la Gare 2, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#8 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental welcomes you in the center of the French speaking part of Switzerland and only few minutes from the beautiful Lac Leman. 116 Spacious rooms offer state of the art comfort finished off with free WIFI in the entire hotel, as well as a free bottle of mineral water upon arrival. NEW ! Free and direct access to the new space of Fitness The hotel's Cafe-restaurant "Le pain Quotidien" is a offering light dishes. Since May 2014 enjoy five brand new meeting rooms, equipped with modern projection technology and designed by an experienced hotel interior designer. Welcome to the center of French speaking Switzerland. Welcome to your 4 star Hotel Continental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Continental Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Swiss q Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing