We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Lovely hotel with excellently designed rooms. Excellent Wi-Fi connection. Comfortable bed and great cleaners do a terrific job. Front staff are young and could be more thorough and helpful. Breakfast is a disappointment despite the great views from the dining room, unfriendly staff simple offering and not worth CHF22 per person .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    297
    56
    14
    5
See reviews for
104
179
34
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Lausanne is a stopover point of our trip from Switzerland to France. Not much expectation to the hotel for staying only 1 night during our journey. Delightfully located at a calm street with few minutes walk from the train station. Cool decoration throughout the whole premises, guest room settings are handy and cosy. After sweet slept, don't miss the breakfast in the glasshouse at the roof floor. Superb view and heavenly adorment, you can tenderly touch with the sunny sky and beautiful surroundings. Staff are pleasant and smart. A free travel card given by the front desk could bring you anywhere in Lausanne without paying. Enjoy our stay there and award with remarkable memories!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were en route by train to Lake Maggiore so we had been booked in here by our agent. It is an easy 5 minute walk from the railway station, but very quiet location. Our room was spotlessly clean, modern and with the most comfortable bed I think I have ever had in any hotel! The bed was continental double with individual mattress and duvets.
Breakfast was a very pleasant continental, with lovely fresh bread and rolls etc. The view from the top floor restaurant was over the lake and mountains and was breathtaking . Breakfast was part of our package. We were able to leave our luggage until we caught our onward train mid afternoon. Staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were very happy with our stay at the Agora Swiss Night in Lausanne Switzerland. Super convenient to both the main train station and the Metro (subway) which brings you straight up or down thru this hilly city. Two supermarkets within walking distance (Coop and Migros..the latter having really good potato salad) which made it affordable for snacks, drinks, etc. Hotel also offers a nice breakfast buffet, but we ate elsewhere. Room was very modern, quiet, very clean, and best of all, the air-conditioning worked great (it was an unusually hot week in May). The bathroom door was a little odd (sliding see through glass panel) and not quite what American travelers might be used to, but not a major problem, just different. For the price, it was the best value in Switzerland (and we had stayed at 4 other hotels within country). Booking via tripadvisor.com gave us the best price...once there, we wanted to stay one additional day but hotel would have charged approx 50 CHF more vs the rate we had booked online. So plan ahead..and save. Even if you factor in the additional 22 CHF per person for breakfast (if you so choose), it's still a very good rate. Wish I could have talked the Mrs into the Agora breakfast vs the supermarket oj and croissant she insisted on each morning. The only thing a bit disconcerting was the location of the fitness room...deep within the lower floor and at the end of a narrow hallway...didn't seem all that secure. But the equipment was top notch.

Room Tip: our room #504 was quiet and comfortable, but didn't have much of a view except of the apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Joseph

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel Agora.
Thank you for your thorough review about our hotel and your remark about our fitness facilities. The fitness room with its machines on an higher floor would disturb the guests who would be having their room under it, so that's why it was the best solution to place it on the lowest floor.
We hope to see you again soon in one of our Fassbind hotels!

Best regards
Your Fassbindhotels team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

It is not my first experience with fassbind hotels and once again, I wasn't disappointed at all. I spent the night there for work. The place is clean, the personal was nice.
I stayed in a single room. The room was a normal size for a single-room and very functional.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fannoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Overall, this is a fantastic hotel and the rooms are spotlessly clean. If you are sharing a room and are nit intimate with your roommate, you will be after this stay! The only thing separating the toilet and shower from the rest of the room is glass. While most of the glass is not see throufh, there is nearly zero privacy. The bed is situated against the other side of the glass, afterall and these are very small rooms. Good luck! If you have a room to yourself, the rooms are fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zsazsa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I have stayed one night for business reason at the Agora Swiss Night in Lausanne. The main criteria to choose this hotel was the fair price and the close location to the train station.

From the outside it looks a little bit dark the building but it has a nice interior. For a Swiss citizen a little bit too much traditional "Swiss" decor elements which gives the whole room a touch of kitsch. However the room has been quite spacious and was really clean. As I had a single room the bathroom is somehow integrated in the room and not a separate room with a door itself. You have a shower behind some glass wall and a toilet just next to it but the sink is practically next to the wardrobe at the entrance. Resembled a little bit over designed, however everything was there clean as well.
Downside on the room was, that it was clairaudient. You hear the neighbors talk in the night and in the morning you can hear the vibration alarm of someone's mobile phone. But during the night the street was really quiet and the bed comfortable.

Breakfast costs additional and is on the upper price limit for this hotel class I would say. Especially considering that you get pretty much the standard choice of a continental breakfast with Muesli, some yogurt, eggs, bacon, ham, croissants, bread, confiture, orange juice and coffee. After having seen the paper placemats the missing cutlery was not really a surprise (but I was really early on the day, just after they opened the buffet).

Although I have now mentioned a few points that do not fit that much into the rating the hotel is a good choice if it comes to the value you get for your money. And the few things, like the decoration an the room design are anyway individual. Besides the breakfast, that was just not a 4-star standard, not anything really as bad as it would justify to give an average rating. Thus I round up.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darktemptation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.6 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind

Property: Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Address: Av. Du Rond-Point 9, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with an ultra modern exterior, restaurant, bar and parking; located near public transportation; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing