We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The promise? "Flabbergasting views" The reality? "Just weird"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The promise? "Flabbergasting views" The reality? "Just weird"”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It is in a convenient location by the station, it is clean and the staff are nice. But beyond that, this place is just weird - its like they gave it to a bunch of undergrad interior designers and let them have a go.
All the rooms had tiny single beds
There was no restaurant, though there is an honesty coffee station and a decent brasserie 50m away if you can get in
The breakfast room with “flabbergasting views” was chaotic – on day 2 we couldn’t even get in as all the tables were full or covered in dirty dishes from a massive coach trip influx.
The room windows that opened were covered with metal sheets with a pattern of a reindeer on – I think that was meant to stop depressed guests jumping out.
A small thing but the shower area is inside the room with no door and the sink is in the bedroom so your bedroom floor gets wet and you can easily skate from your door to the bed as you climb out of the shower and go hunting for the toiletries!
Internet connection was random.
There are just too many nice hotels with nice views for me to go back to this one.

Room Tip: if travelling solo check if you can get a double bed room - they must have them somewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theritsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    301
    56
    14
    6
See reviews for
105
180
34
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here while attending a conference in the nearby Lausanne University from 2-7 sep 2013:

The best things I like about the hotel:
- great location - conveniently located just Abt 30 sec walk from Grancy metro station, or a 1-2 min walk fr the train station
- hotel gives out free metro passes so its pretty good, get to travel around lausanne for free.
- quiet and safe neighborhood. It's on the other side of the noisier part of town, which is pretty good for someone who likes quiet and convenience.
- nice and clean rooms - room is equipped with everything one needs while travelling - hot water kettle, electric sockets for all types of plugs
- relatively friendly staff who smile at you when you enter/ leave the hotel
- there's even an "honesty bar" at the hotel lobby if you ever feel hungry in the middle of the night and need some (hot) food (there's a microwave at the bar for you to heat up food)

Some quirky things about the hotel:
- the bathrooms are, to say the least, odd. Nowadays these new-fangled boutique hotels seem to like open concept bathrooms - the sink is in the common area, and the walls of the bathroom are rather translucent and see-through. If you're travelling as a couple it's be fine, but I was travelling w a colleague and staying in a double room so we needed some trust between us (haha).
- No bathroom slippers, and we had to check with the concierge 3 times before they produced one for us. Bring your own if you are a stickler for bathroom slippers.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annelise827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Wish all the hotels were like Agora!
First of all I have to mention sleep quality - the most confortable bed ever experienced in a hotel!
We have been assigned a room on the 5th floor, no view, but just a silent passageway. The room was standard, but really comfortable and spacious enough for two people. True, the bathroom is modern and somewhat different from the organisation in standard bathrooms, but it is so fashion-forward that we have really enjoyed it.
You have a free coffee/tea set in the room and iron... useful.
Excellent staff, you'll be given a public transport ticket for the duration of your stay, they have a fitness room and sauna at lower floors and an extraordinary breakfast hall at the 9th floor from which you can have a fantastic view of Lausanne and the lake, down to the french coast - eally beautiful and unexpected. The breakfast is excellent, both for the quality and for the variety.
If you like modern hotels, and don't care for tapestries or 19th Century style furniture, you'll find this hotel a real hit - modern design perfectly combined with traditional swiss details... loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nixoletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

First of all, this hotel is located at a very strategic location- near Lausanne Gare as well as Metro Grancy. Second, the hotel staffs were very friendly. Third, the room was very clean, has a comfortable bed and pillow. Overall, I was very satisfied and will surely come back here.

Room Tip: The room numbers were written on the carpet, so don't be confuse. The toilets are half see throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThibaKrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etoy, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Completely refurbished hotel, extremely modern, vibrant colors, typical modern Swiss ethno look, very different. Young feel. Very nice staff. Good size rooms for European norms, free internet BUT...your portable phone will not work in the room. For Business people like myself this is totally unacceptable! Swisscom seems to be the problem as I was told at the reception. They were very nice about it and said hopefully it will be solved soon, but as it seems it has been the case since the hotel reopened. So if you need to phone leave the hotel and stand on the side walk....:-(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conventus4swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've booked this hotel for my parents on a road trip through Lausanne and they loved every minute of it. Their wows were about the incredible breakfast view, the amazing quality of sleep that they've got (apparently the pillows blew their minds:)), the interesting decor of the hotel and its polite stuff. They say they'll confidently recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Dont miss the breakfast, the view is incredible from up there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alinusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed on a business strip, as usual Switzerland is extremely expensive otherwise its a great hotel at a excellent location. The transport links are great in and around city and you can also walk to Lake Geneva from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muhammad_Adeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.6 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.5 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind

Property: Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Address: Av. Du Rond-Point 9, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with an ultra modern exterior, restaurant, bar and parking; located near public transportation; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing