We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Lausanne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tulip Inn Lausanne Beaulieu
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Lausanne”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Although a little out of the way you are given tram tickets so that you can get around Lausanne for free. Number 21 bus from the railway station if travelling by train as we were, can't remember the name of the stop to get off at but it is the one after Beaulieu. There is another Beaulieu-something stop before that so be careful not to get off the tram too soon. Number 2 tram gets you into the city. Good place to stay, not 5 star but no complaints from us. Breakfast OK, including scrambled egg/sausage/bacon if you don't want the usual continental meal. Very helpful staff, particularly at the front desk and decently priced for Switzerland. Smallish rooms but this is Europe so expect that. Would recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: If you aren't travelling by car just make sure you het the free tram pass. A big help in getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenccmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    43
    32
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
16
4
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I do not know how this hotel rates that high on trip advisor. It is an old somewhat run down property - 60ies style - which would urgently need an overhaul.
Rooms are sticky and feature a carpet with clear signs of usage. Breakfast has little choice. Personnel is nice and Internet free but that does not make up for the deficits in comfort - I would not recommend for business travellers looking for some standard - however may be suitable for budget travellers

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoboBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surlingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This hotel is not modern or particularly characterful but it is efficient, clean and well run. Free WiFi and a comprehensive breakfast together with comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Rear tower is the quietest and choose an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel for one night in early February. The staff were very helpful at check in.
However they excelled themselves on the day I left. I managed to leave my passport in my room. The staff discovered this and showed real tenacity to chase me down and tell me as soon as possible rather than let me find out the hard way at the airport. I am very grateful to them going the extra mile for me - or is it kilometer!
Thanks again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graffhamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Like most European hotels, the room was smallish and the beds less than luxurious, but it was fine as a place to lay your head. The room was clean, the breakfast was good, and the free bus to the train station was right around the corner. We could walk to shopping and dining in only 15 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayBeeDubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice, and think its a great place for a 3 star, especially as its a good price. Don't get me wrong, you wouldn't confuse yourself for a 4 star, but it is a lot better than some hotels which consider themselves 4 stars!

The staff are so friendly and helpful, both beforehand when making the booking, and when at the hotel. You can ask them anything and they will try to help. There is free wifi internet in the bedrooms and computers you can use downstairs. The rooms are warmly decorated, and although a bit basic they have everything needed. There is a mini bar, a tv with loads of channels (including, BBC1, BBC2, ITV1, ITV2, various French, German etc - a lot more than you'd expect for a foreign hotel!) For me, the bed isnt the most comfortable as its a slightly hard mattress (but thats a personal thing as I prefer really soft matresses).

No bathtub, but a good shower, and the bathroom has pretty much all you'd need (shower gel, shower cap, flannels) - although no moisteriser or shampoo I think.

The breakfast has loads of choice and is always busy. The rooms dont have ironing board (which to be honest I wouldnt expect in a 3 star anyway so thats fine), but the staff were very happy for me to use the hotel one in their laundry room.

Also, although they dont have room service, they will order takeaway for you (ie pizza, Chinese) and put it onto your room charge.

Overall, I think for the price its a really nice hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rarchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for just one night when attending Gymnaestrada events in Beaulieu just a few blocks away. The hotel was good with nice breakfast and comfortable rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was however no AC in the room - we had to keep windows open during the night (which means that we heard some noise from the local traffic). The design of the hotel and rooms was not the most recent one but the room seemed to be clean. The hotel can be reached by bus from the city centre (perhaps too far for a walk). In general, this was a reasonable hotel without any big (good or bad) surprises.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#9 of 46 in Lausanne
1,119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#16 of 46 in Lausanne
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#14 of 46 in Lausanne
326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#23 of 46 in Lausanne
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Lausanne Beaulieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Lausanne Beaulieu

Property: Tulip Inn Lausanne Beaulieu
Address: chemin du Cerisier 8-10, Lausanne 1004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Lausanne Beaulieu 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Five-story Hotel Garni in corner location, 100 meters from Congress & Exhibition Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tulip Inn Lausanne Beaulieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing